From researching to remixing, library users need your guidance on a wide range of copyright topics. The way to move beyond "yes, you can" or "no, you can't" is to become a copyright coach. In this collection librarian and attorney Smith teams up with information literacy expert Ellis to offer a framework for coaching copyright, empowering users to take a practical approach to specific situations. Complete with in-depth case studies, this collection provides valuable information rooted in pragmatic techniques, including in-depth discussion of the five questions that will help you clarify any copyright situation; storytelling techniques to enliven copyright presentations, plus ways to use music or YouTube to hook students into copyright topics; three coaching scenarios that tie into ACRL's Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education and bring real-world applications to your library instruction; how-to guidance on leading mock negotiations over real journal publishing agreements; a 90-minute lesson plan on author rights for writers in a student journal; tips for teaching instructional designers how to apply copyright and fair use principles to course management systems; and an LIS copyright course assessment model. This resource will help you become a copyright coach by showing you how to discern the most important issues in a situation, determine which questions you need to ask, and give a response that is targeted to the specific need.
Included in Choice's Top 75 Titles and Resources for Community College Libraries Faculty, students, and colleagues come to you with copyright questions, both simple and complex. And they all want reliable answers--as fast as you can get them. With this guide, designed for ready access, you'll be prepared to deliver. Lawyer, copyright librarian, and iSchool instructor Benson presents succinct explanations ideal for both on-the-fly reference and staff training. Copyright specialists will appreciate excerpts from the law itself alongside tools and resources for digging deeper. Practical discussions of key legal concepts, illustrated using 52 scenarios, will lead you to fast, accurate answers on a range of topics, such as barriers to using the TEACH Act provisions in content for online teaching; showing a full-length movie in a university class; public domain and the 1998 Sonny Bono Copyright Term Extension Act; your legal options when receiving a DMCA take-down notice; court interpretations of fair use in three key recent cases; Creative Commons licenses, complete with a quick reference chart; library rights to license photographs in a digital collection; using letters under copyright in a special collections display case; a grad student's right to use in a thesis writing published in their professor's journal article; applying the implied license option to post historical student dissertations in institutional repositories; the Marrakesh Treaty provision supporting transfer of accessible works internationally; and limiting factors for interlibrary loan.
Over the course of several decades, copyright protection has been expanded and extended through legislative changes occasioned by national and international developments. The content and technology industries affected by copyright and its exceptions, and in some cases balancing the two, have become increasingly important as sources of economic growth, relatively high-paying jobs, and exports. Since the expansion of digital technology in the mid-1990s, they have undergone a technological revolution that has disrupted long-established modes of creating, distributing, and using works ranging from literature and news to film and music to scientific publications and computer software. In the United States and internationally, these disruptive changes have given rise to a strident debate over copyright's proper scope and terms and means of its enforcement--a debate between those who believe the digital revolution is progressively undermining the copyright protection essential to encourage the funding, creation, and distribution of new works and those who believe that enhancements to copyright are inhibiting technological innovation and free expression. Copyright in the Digital Era: Building Evidence for Policy examines a range of questions regarding copyright policy by using a variety of methods, such as case studies, international and sectoral comparisons, and experiments and surveys. This report is especially critical in light of digital age developments that may, for example, change the incentive calculus for various actors in the copyright system, impact the costs of voluntary copyright transactions, pose new enforcement challenges, and change the optimal balance between copyright protection and exceptions.
Copyright law never sleeps, making it imperative to keep abreast of the latest developments. Declared "an exemplary text that seals the standards for such books" (Managing Information), this newly revised and updated edition by respected copyright authority Crews offers timely insights and succinct guidance for LIS students, librarians, and educators alike. Readers will learn basic copyright definitions and key exceptions for education and library services; find information quickly with "key points" sidebars, legislative citations, and cross-references; get up to speed on fresh developments, such as how the recently signed Marrakesh Treaty expands access for people with disabilities and why the latest ruling in the Georgia State University case makes developing a fair use policy so important; understand the concept of fair use, with fresh interpretations of its many gray areas that will aid decision making; learn the current state of affairs regarding mass digitization, Creative Commons, classroom use and distance education, the Digital Millennium Copyright Act, and other important topics; receive guidance on setting up on a copyright service at a library, college, or university; and find many helpful checklists for navigating copyright in various situations. This straightforward, easy-to-use guide provides the tools librarians and educators need to take control of their rights and responsibilities as copyright owners and users.
This product offers a compact yet comprehensive and up-to-date overview of U.S. copyright law in an uncluttered and readable format. Coverage ranges from the fundamental concepts of originality, authorship, and infringement to the highly technical rules governing digital phonorecord deliveries and digital public performance rights in sound recordings, the safe harbor provisions that limit the liability of Internet service providers, and the anti-circumvention and copyright management information provisions of the Digital Millennium Copyright Act. The evolving doctrines of fair use and contributory liability are also given thorough attention.
Learn what you need to know to avoid and manage copyright infringement claims that arise from the publication of your book, article, or media project. In this book, intellectual property attorney Stephen E. Gillen covers the unique rights clearance and permission issues related to writing scholarly works. You'll also get practical pointers and guidelines, and more than a dozen templates you can use to request permissions and secure releases. Put 40 years of rights clearance and permissions experience on your bookshelf.
Written on the occasion of copyright's 300th anniversary, John Tehranian's Infringement Nation presents an engaging and accessible analysis of the history and evolution of copyright law and its profound impact on the lives of ordinary individuals in the twenty-first century. Organized aroundthe trope of the individual in five different copyright-related contexts - as an infringer, transformer, pure user, creator and reformer - the book charts the changing contours of our copyright regime and assesses its vitality in the digital age. In the process, Tehranian questions some of our mostbasic assumptions about copyright law by highlighting the unseemly amount of infringement liability an average person rings up in a single day, the counterintuitive role of the fair use doctrine in radically expanding the copyright monopoly, the important expressive interests at play in even theunauthorized use of copyright works, the surprisingly low level of protection that American copyright law grants many creators, and the broader political import of copyright law on the exertion of social regulation and control.Drawing upon both theory and the author's own experiences representing clients in various high-profile copyright infringement suits, Tehranian supports his arguments with a rich array of diverse examples crossing various subject matters - from the unusual origins of Nirvana's "Smells Like TeenSpirit," the question of numeracy among Amazonian hunter-gatherers, the history of stand-offs at papal nunciatures, and the tradition of judicial plagiarism to contemplations on Slash's criminal record, Barbie's retrousse nose, the poisonous tomato, flag burning, music as a form of torture, thesmell of rotting film, William Shakespeare as a man of the people, Charles Dickens as a lobbyist, Ashley Wilkes's sexual orientation, Captain Kirk's reincarnation, and Holden Caulfield's maturation. In the end, Infringement Nation makes a sophisticated yet lucid case for reform of existing doctrineand the development of a copyright 2.0.
Copyright lies at the very heart of the music business. It determines how music is marketed, artists are rewarded, and all the uses to which their work is put. And copyright claims and counter-claims are the source of recurring conflict: Who wrote what and when? Who owns these sounds? What are you allowed to do with them? Disputes about copying and theft are becoming ever noisier with digital technology and the new possibilities of sampling and downloading and large-scale piracy. This book has been written to explain the copyright system to non-legal specialists and to show why copyright issues are so fascinating and so important.