It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
An archive of more than 700 important scholarly journals covering business, ecology, education, ethnic studies, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and sociology with content ending 3-5 years ago
JSTOR digitally archives more than 700 scholarly journals. Subjects include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and more.
Journal articles and books about the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Scope: U.S. and Canada only Languages: Abstracts of articles in 40 different languages
This index includes almost 400,000 bibliographic entries from over 2,000 journals published worldwide. Books, media reviews, and dissertations are also covered, and approximately 16,000 entries are added each year. The Get Text button links to online full text when available and offers access to UNLV print collections and document delivery options for books and articles not available online.
Searchable articles from academic and professional journals and magazines covering every academic discipline.
Update frequency: Updated daily
This excellent one-stop resource lets you search citations and summaries by keyword and then instantly retrieve the full text of articles from journals online. The Get Text button helps you locate any article without linked full text in alternate online sources or in UNLV's print journal collection.
Search for books or ebooks in Lied Library
Search Lied Library holdings for books, video, government documents and more.
Searches from this box are limited to physical materials in UNLV Libraries collections. Results open in new tab.
Discover books at other libraries
WorldCat lets you search the holdings of libraries across the world.
Interlibrary Loans: To request a book that you find listed there, use the UNLV Find Text button and select Request via ILLiad. When you log in with your ILLiad account, it will generate a filled-out request form.
Books requested from ILLiad are usually printed books sent by mail.
Book chapters may also be requested via ILLiad and those are sent by email as PDFs.
E-books listed in WorldCat cannot be viewed unless also owned by UNLV.
11th century -
Use WorldCat to search the holdings of academic, public and special libraries around the world.
This union catalog contains records of books and other items in libraries worldwide. Items owned by UNLV Libraries are indicated; UNLV students, faculty and staff may request books via Document Delivery Services.
This guide is an annotated bibliography of key sources in different regions and time periods. Sources published after 1992 are not included, but this can help you identify relevant collections or standard works.
(table of contents cuts off but you can use the page number dropdown to navigate the rest of the book - start with the Frontmatter link and navigate to page xix to pick up where the online table of contents ends. US History begins on page 711.)
Reports on public policy topics, social issues, the environment, health, education, science, and technology. Published from 1923-present so you can see how conversations around an issue have changed over time.
Balanced information on all sides of an issue, including comments from experts in the field, numerous charts and graphs, a pro-con feature, a chronology, a lengthy bibliography for additional research, and a list of contacts are included in each report.
Dictionaries, specialized encyclopedias, quotations, thesauri, and bilingual dictionaries.
A Companion to Western Historical Thought by Lloyd Kramer and Sarah Maza
Call Number: Lied Library Book Stacks D16.8 .B55 2002
Publication Date: 2002
This broad survey introduces readers to the major themes, figures, traditions and theories in Western historical thought, tracing its evolution from biblical times to the present. Surveys the evolution of historical thought in the Western World from biblical times to the present day. Provides students with the background to contemporary historical debates and approaches. Serves as a useful reference for researchers and teachers. Includes chapters by 24 leading historians.
Helps students at all levels meet the challenge of writing their first (or their first "real") research paper. This shows readers how to identify, find, and evaluate both primary and secondary sources for their own writing assignments.
Account of the development of historiography in Western culture. Narrates and interprets the development of historiography from its origins in Greek poetry to the present, with sections on postmodernism, deconstructionism, African-American history, women's history, microhistory, the Historikerstreit, cultural history, and more.