LibGuides: HIST 463.1001, 19th century European history (Tusan): Secondary sources

Encyclopedias

Credo General Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Dictionaries, specialized encyclopedias, quotations, thesauri, and bilingual dictionaries.

Topic overviews

Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research reviews and historiographical essays published in the Oxford Handbooks series. Use these to get an overview of how historians have approached a topic.

WorldCat

WorldCat lets you identify books held by other libraries that you may be able to borrow from interlibrary loan.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
11th century -
Use WorldCat to search the holdings of academic, public and special libraries around the world.
This union catalog contains records of books and other items in libraries worldwide. Items owned by UNLV Libraries are indicated; UNLV students, faculty and staff may request books via Document Delivery Services.

WorldCat.org
Free online version of WorldCat; includes fewer items than the library subscription version but has nicer interface.

Secondary Sources: Books and Articles

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable articles from academic and professional journals and magazines covering every academic discipline.
Update frequency: Updated daily
This excellent one-stop resource lets you search citations and summaries by keyword and then instantly retrieve the full text of articles from journals online. The Get Text button helps you locate any article without linked full text in alternate online sources or in UNLV's print journal collection.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1954-
Journal articles and books about world history from 1450 forward (Does not include the United States and Canada). Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Historical Abstracts identifies journal articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada (See: America: History and Life). Articles from over 2,000 journals are indexed and annotated, and the database includes over half a million entries in all. A select 3,000 books are also listed.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An archive of more than 700 important scholarly journals covering business, ecology, education, ethnic studies, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and sociology with content ending 3-5 years ago
JSTOR digitally archives more than 700 scholarly journals. Subjects include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and more.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1995-
Scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Update frequency: monthly

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography by H. C. G. Matthew (Editor); Brian Harrison (Editor)
Call Number: Lied Library Reference DA28 .O95 2004
ISBN: 019861411X
Publication Date: 2004
The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is a collection of 50,000 specially written biographies of men and women who have shaped all aspects of the British past, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000, from the ancient (explorer Pytheas of the 4th Century BC) to the modern (Princess Diana). For this new edition, all 36,000 lives from the first edition have been completely rewritten or revised-with over 13,500 new biographies added representing all historical periods and including 3,000 new entries on women.

Reference Guides

The American Historical Association's guide to historical literature (1995)
This guide is an annotated bibliography of key sources in different regions and time periods. Sources published after 1992 are not included, but this can help you identify relevant collections or standard works.
AHA guide 1961 edition
(table of contents cuts off but you can use the page number dropdown to navigate the rest of the book - start with the Frontmatter link and navigate to page xix to pick up where the online table of contents ends. US History begins on page 711.)
A guide to historical literature (1931)
First bibliography from American Historical Association
History Compass
Review articles to get an overview of current scholarship on historical topics.
H-Net online reviews
Reviews of books and web projects in history and other humanities disciplines

HIST 463.1001, 19th century European history (Tusan): Secondary sources

Encyclopedias

Topic overviews

WorldCat

Secondary Sources: Books and Articles

Reference Guides

Locations

Contact