COM 104 Crtitical Thinking in Public Argument: Library Guides

Government information can be very useful when searching a wide variety of topics. One of the easiest ways is to go to Google! After you type in your keywords, then type in site:gov (example: air pollution site:.gov) to limit your search to only government-related resources. This will include federal, state, and local resources.

• How to Write an Op-Ed Column (Harvard Kennedy School)

  Provides detailed guidelines on how to write an op-ed column.

• The Op-Ed Project:-Resources: Op-ed Writing: Tips and Tricks: "A guide to help you as you formulate your ideas."
• How to Write Op-Ed Columns

  Prepared by The Earth Institute at Columbia University, this is a guide to writing op-eds and contains a useful list of op-ed guidelines for top-circulation US newspapers.

• Writing Letters to the Editor (from the University of Kansas' Community Toolbox) -- Great site with lots of examples and checklists.

• American Enterprise Institute

  Think tank engaged in public policy research promoting freedom, opportunity and enterprise
• Brookings Institution Metropolitan Policy Program.

  See for example, their full-text report: The State of Metropolitan America.
• Congress on New Urbanism

  Provides some full-text reports on urban development.
• Lewis Mumford Center (University at Albany).

  An urban policy center. See, for example, the full-text annual Mumford lectures.
• Cato Institute

  Promoting an American public policy based on individual liberty, limited government, free markets and peaceful international relations
• Heritage Foundation

  Heritage Foundation is a conservative research think tank based in Washington D.C. Read studies and papers on free enterprise, limited government, individual freedom, etc.
• National League of Cities

  The National League of Cities (NLC) is dedicated to helping city leaders build better communities.
• Pew Research Center

  Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.
• RAND Corporation

  The RAND Corporation is a nonprofit institution that helps improve policy and decisionmaking through research and analysis.
• Urban Affairs Association (UAA)

  Lists numerous links under "Resources"
• Urban Institute

  Is concerned with economic & social issues. Provides full-text reports.
• KnowledgePlex

  A comprehensive news, tools and information resource for the affordable housing and community development field.
• U.S. Green Building Council

  The U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC) is transforming the way we design, build, maintain and operate our buildings, homes and communities.
• Milken Institute

  A nonprofit, nonpartisan think tank, the Milken Institute believes in the power of capital markets to solve urgent social and economic challenges and improve lives.