LibGuides: Honors 101 Public Speaking (Blankfield): Welcome Honor Students

Tools to Help You Evaluate Information & Guide to Creating an Annotated Bibliography

Informative Speech: UNLV Libraries Quick Search & Be Sure to Search the Library Catalog

Check out the library Quick Search. Search for books, articles, and more all from one search box!

http://library.unlv.edu/

When to Use Quick Search:

you are first starting your research
to get ideas or background info you have had difficulty finding sources in other databases you need
an alternative to Google - easy searching but with more credible/reliable results

On the left sidebar, you can "Refine Your Search" a number of different ways--including by publication date

**Remember, since you are supposed to look for recent publications (such as 2012 through present), you can narrow your seach easily in the "Publication Date" box

UNLV Libraries Catalog: http://webpac.library.unlv.edu/

Try a keyword search on your topic!

Informative and Persuasive Speech Resources: Social Issues, Current Topics,

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable articles from academic and professional journals and magazines covering every academic discipline.
Update frequency: Updated daily
This excellent one-stop resource lets you search citations and summaries by keyword and then instantly retrieve the full text of articles from journals online. The Get Text button helps you locate any article without linked full text in alternate online sources or in UNLV's print journal collection.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1923-
In depth research on controversial topics ranging from social issues to environment, health, education, science, and technology issues.
Balanced information on all sides of an issue, including comments from experts in the field, numerous charts and graphs, a pro-con feature, a chronology, a lengthy bibliography for additional research, and a list of contacts are included in each report.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1980s-
Searchable current and recent articles from newspapers, including Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, New York Times and the Wall Street Journal.
Full text of articles from major national newspapers: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, The Christian Science Monitor, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Seattle Post-Intelligencer, USA Today. Also included are the New York Times Book Review, the New York Times Magazine, and the Las Vegas Review Journal.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Regional newspapers and broadcast television transcripts.
Newspaper Source provides full text coverage for 40 national and international newspapers including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Times (London), and The Toronto Star. Selected full text is offered from more than 330 regional newspapers including The Buffalo News, Orange County Register, Philadelphia Inquirer, San Francisco Chronicle, and St. Louis Post-Dispatch. Full text transcripts are available from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, National Public Radio, and more.
Las Vegas Review Journal (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1996-
Full text of articles, not including images.

Citing Your References

Refworks: Bibliography manager saves your citations and formats them into APA, MLA, or other styles. :

UNLV Libraries Citations and Bibliographies Guides: This link provides guides to help you create bibliographies & works cited pages for various style guides (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.

BibMe - Quick and convenient! Enter a title of a book or journal article and it autocompletes and formats the citation. Free - create a login to save bibliographies.
StyleWizard - The APA Wizard takes you through a step-by-step citation creation process.
NoodleTools Express - Questionnaire will help you create accurate citations in MLA or APA style. Free; a subscription option lets you create a personal account and save notecards.
KnightCite Citation Maker - Quick form to fill out - no login, no ads, from Calvin College's Hekman Library. MLA, APA, Chicago style.
Son of Citation Machine - Select type of resource then fill out a form to create MLA, APA, Chicago style citations.
SourceAid: Create Bibliography with Citation Builder - Free version requires login. MLA, APA, Chicago Manual of Style, and Council of Science Editors.
EasyBib - MLA formatting - Enter citation information into a form and it generates MLA references. Free version available with option to upgrade to a version that formats in APA for a fee. Lots of advertising on the site.
Government Documents - ASU DocsCite - DocsCite is a step-by-step web form for putting government publication citations into proper style format from Arizona State Univ. Libraries.

Finding Data & Statistics

When searching for government-related statistics or reports, you can use Google! Type in your keywords, then type site:.gov and you will locate a wide variety of federal, state, and local statistics and reports.

UNLV Libraries Data & Statistics Portal

Subject Guide

Rosan Mitola

Email Me

Using Google

Google.com

Need statistics to support your argument. An easy way to find official statistics on Google is to add site:.gov to your search. For example:
Search "teen pregancy statistics" site:.gov

Then you will be directed to official government sources, such as the Center for Disease Control (CDC)

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches scholarly journal articles. Set preferences to UNLV for full text access!
Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and reports from many academic and technical fields. It is freely available to anyone searching the Internet; however, many of the links that lead to full text resources are not. On your first visit, go to Google Scholar Preferences and use the Library Links box to set UNLV as your source for no-fee access to many full text articles. For answers to questions about Google Scholar, check out the FAQ.

Honors 101 Public Speaking (Blankfield): Welcome Honor Students