Skip to main content

Online Reputation Management and Social Media

Resources for creating an online presence as a UNLV Faculty member and student..

Author Impact

Author impact. This impact is the assessment of the scholarly output an individual researcher in terms of author citation networks. The author impact measures the research impact of the cumulative scholarly work of an individual researcher. Author level metrics, as a statistical metric, derives from article level metrics.  Although there are a number of author indexes, two are important for researchers. 

H-Index. A primary author level metric designed to measure research quality over time. The h-index is a statistic designed to account both the scholarly productivity and the research impact of the author. The h-author index for an individual author is calculated by scholarly output (total number of publications ranked in descending order) over the total number of citations attributed to each publication in the list. This provides a snapshot of an individual researchers’ performance.

The h-index, as a performance indicator, is attributed with having advantages and disadvantages.The advantages include: it is a simple composite indicator, which can be applied to the research performance of individual scholars; It combines citation impact with publication activity measures; and it directly correlates with other indicators of significance.

The disadvantages include: it puts new scholars at a disadvantage since publication output and observed citation rates require long term observations and remain relatively low for newly minted scholars; not useful for assessing different fields or discipline nor for the assessment of individual departments. 

G-Index. Since the h-Index does not account for highly cited publications, the g-Index is designed as a complementary author index. The g-Index is a statistical measure that accounts for highly cited scholarly works. It is calculated, given a set of articles, ranked in decreasing order of the number of citations that they received, the G-Index is the unique largest number such that the top g articles received together at least g2  citations

Sources:

American University Library

University of Oklahoma Libraries

University of Waterloo Library

Top Resources for Author Metrics

Top Resources for Metrics. The top databases that provide resources for calculating the h-Index include:

Web of Science. To find an author’s h-Index: Firsr perform an Author search in Web of Science. You will generate a list of titles published by the author. To locate the author's h-Index, go to upper right hand corner of records retrieved. Find the Create Citation Report and click on it. This will take you to the Citation Report. The second box to the left is the h-Index for the individual author. 

Scopus. Author search generally the best method to pull up citations. Search by Last Name, First Initial, and institution. Choose the appropriate author listed then click on Citation Overview, where the h-Index is listed in a box to the right. 

Google Scholar. It calculates the H-Index and its variant, the i10-Index for Authors. I10-Index is the number of articles with at least 10 citations. 

Metrics Toolkit. Helps you Navigate the Research Metrics Landscape. It is a web resource for researchers and evaluators by providing guidance for demonstrating and evaluating research impact. It includes a section on the h-Index

Finding Your h-index in Web of Science

Instructions to view h-index in Web of Science

 

  1. Navigate to University library website: www.library.unlv.edu
  2. On the right hand side of the screen under Research, select All Library Databases
  3. Next, click the letter “W” scroll down the list of databases and select Web of Science
  4. You will need to login with your ACE account
  5. Once in Web of Science add your name to the first search box in this order:
    last name, first initial (ex. Candela, L)

    Change the drop down menu to the right to Author
     
  6. Click the +Add Row to add an a row
  7. From the drop down menu select Organization-Enhanced in the search box type: University of Nevada, Las Vegas
  8. Make sure you adjust the dates for publications you wish to retrieve (ex. 2000-2019)
  9. Click the blue Search button to run your search
  10. You will retrieve a list of your publications
  11. To view your h-index  look for Create Citation Report on the right hand side of the screen
  12. Click Create Citation Report
  13. Your h-index will display in the second box at the top of the screen see screen shot example below.

 

 

 

Instructions courtesy of Xan Goodman, Nursing, Allied Health, and Public Health Librarian

Finding Your h-index in Google Scholar

Instructions to view h-index in Google Scholar

1. Navigate to Google Scholar: scholar.google.com
2. Enter name of author 
3. If a profile exists for the author it will appear at the top of the search results, click the name of the author and their profile page will open
4. View the h-index for the person on the right side of the screen.


       

 

Instructions courtesy of Xan Goodman, Nursing, Allied Health, and Public Health Librarian

Finding Your h-index in Scopus

Instructions to view h-index using Scopus CiteScore Metrics

1. Navigate to University Libraries website: www.library.unlv.edu
2. On the right side of the screen under Research, select All Library Databases
3. Next, click the letter "S", scroll down the list of databases and select Scopus
4. You will need to login with your ACE account
5. Once in Scopus, select Authors, then enter your name Last Name first in the appropriate fields
6. Click the blue Search button to view h-index
7. Select Citation Overview to see the number of citations over a period of years


 

Instructions courtesy of Xan Goodman, Nursing, Allied Health, and Public Health Librarian

© University of Nevada Las Vegas