Skip to main content

Online Reputation Management and Social Media

Resources for creating an online presence as a UNLV Faculty member and student..

Faculty profile pages

Your faculty profile can be found linked from your department's Faculty and Staff Directory and have URLs that look like unlv.edu/people/firstname-lastname. This will frequently be the first website people find if they search for your name and UNLV, so it's important to ensure it's accurate!

Information that can be included on a profile

  • Photograph
  • Name
  • Position
  • Department
  • Office
  • Contact Information
  • Biography
  • Recent Courses Taught
  • Current Research Projects
  • Related Links

Related Links can include links to personal websites, ORCID profiles, and so forth.

Publications can be linked to if they are PDFs.

To update the information in your profile, please get in touch with your department.

Faculty Web Sites

The Office of Information Technology (OIT) provides a website service to all faculty and staff "who wish to publish information about how the individual faculty member is meeting the teaching, research, and service missions of the university".

Two types of website are available.

  • Ready Made Website
    • Uses WordPress' blogging and content management system
      • You can choose either a basic static (infrequent update) design or a blog designed for frequent posts and updates.
  • Do It Yourself Website (Advanced Users)
    • Web server space will be provided to you, and you will need to provide everything else.

To obtain a website please fill out the New User Application or contact the IT Help Desk at (702) 895-0777. An OIT staff member will contact you with regard to your request within 3 business days.

You can look at personal sites created by your colleagues to see what they look like (though many of the links on that page do not work).

Experts Directory

Are you interested in being contacted by the media? Than the Experts Directory is where you want to have your information listed! The Experts Directory is run by University Marketing & Communications and connects community organizations and journalists with the engaging speakers and subject experts among UNLV faculty and staff.

To be listed in the Experts Directory go to this page and fill out the form. You can include the following information

  • How you would like to be listed (Community Speaker and/or Media Expert)
  • Display name
  • Types of interviews you are interested in (print or broadcast)
  • Name
  • Titles
  • Fields of Expertise
  • Biography
  • Education
  • Languages Spoken (languages other than English in which you are comfortable being interviewed)
  • Contact information
  • Links and Social Media (related links like department/faculty websites and social media profiles)
  • Photos will be reused from your profile page

Check out this website to see places where your colleagues have been interviewed.

Research Match

UNLV's Research Match is designed to let people identify UNLV faculty research expertise using keywords. It is intended to facilitate collaboration, to attract businesses that are interested in partnering with university researchers, and to support the advancement and promotion of research. Division of Research and Economic Development

Create or update your Research Match data! First search for your name, if you already have a profile choose it to update. If you don't, check the "New Entry" box and then fill out the form. Make sure to include this information:

  • Name
  • Title
  • College
  • Unit
  • Office
  • Contact info
  • Website
  • Research Interests

UNLV Employee Directory

The UNLV Employee Directory provides limited information for Academic Faculty, Administrative Faculty, Classified Staff, Executive Faculty, Graduate Assistants, Post-doctoral Scholars, and Medical Residents.

Information in the Directory is extracted from the Human Resources Management System on a daily basis at the end of business each day.

Information includes:

  • Name
  • Title
  • Employee Type
  • Office Location
  • Office Phone
  • Department Office Location
  • Mail Stop
  • Preferred Email
  • Whether a person is a notary

To correct or change "Department" contact Human Resources at (702) 895-3504. You will be informed of the written documentation required from your department office.
 
To correct or change "Title" send an email to titlechg@unlv.edu, and include the correct title. Please allow 3-5 business days for the change to reflect in the employee locator.
 
To correct or change "Office Location", "Work Phone", or "Mail Stop" contact your department's authorized ARCHIBUS Web Central user. If you are unsure who the authorized Archibus user is in your department, please check with your department's administrative assistant or contact the Office of Space Management at (702)895-0484.

UNLV Connect

UNLV Connect is a social network aimed at UNLV graduates, however you can register as a faculty member.

You can create an account with Facebook, Linkedin, or your email address.

You can synce data with your Linkedin account if you have them connected

You can follow poeple, request mentorship, or send messages.

Post job opportunities (or look for work)

Find out about events

About 2000 members.

Professional title, summary of professsional experience, willing to help, information about your degree from UNLV (if you have one), education from other places, work, location, contact info, and some other stuff.

© University of Nevada Las Vegas