LibGuides: URST 305 (Neill): Data Analysis for Urban Studies

Finding Data & Statistics on Google

Searching on Google is a great place to begin for looking for statistics. In order to obtain official and reliable data, you can limit your sources to government websites by typing site:.gov after your keywords.

Examples:
crime statistics site:.gov
recycling data site:.gov

UNLV Libraries - Data & Statistics Resource Guide

UNLV Libraries - Data & Statistics Resource Guide
Includes links to databases, government & nonprofit statistical sources, data by subject, and more.

UNLV Libraries Databases Focusing on Data

Sage Data This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the extensive Data-Planet repository of standardized and structured statistical data.
Through a single platform, users can search and browse 25 billion data points in over 4.3 billion datasets sourced from over 75 authoritative government and private sources. The platform’s powerful functionality allows users to manipulate datasets, compare multiple indicators, chart trends over time and spatially represent data without requiring additional software programs. Multiple export options are provided. For more information on specific datasets and how to use Data-Planet, visit the Data-Planet LibGuide
Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statista provides statistical data from thousands of institutions and sources. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government agencies.
Statista includes data on more than 85,000 topics from 18,000 sources. About 20 percent of the total data in Statista comes from sources available free online, such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census, but the data also includes numerous exclusive sources which include industry, marketing, and trade groups. Much of the data is related to marketing, demographic, government and industry information, and is international in scope. Data can be downloaded in JPG, PowerPoint and Excel.
ICPSR This link opens in a new window
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is an organization of member institutions working together to: acquire and preserve social science data; provide open and equitable access to these data; and promote effective data management.
Users must have an account with ICPSR to download datasets.

To register, you must be affiliated with UNLV, which is a member institution of ICPSR, and you must access the site from a recognized UNLV IP address.

Register for an account from off campus (you will be prompted to login with your ACE account or activated RebelCard barcode and PIN).
SAGE Local & State Stats
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Local & State Stats has been retired. Content has been migrated to DataPlanet
SAGE Business Stats
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Business Stats has been retired. Content has been migrated to DataPlanet

Government and .Org Data Web Resources

US Census Bureau
Includes data about people, business and economy.
American FactFinder
The Census Bureau's primary vehicle for distributing recent Census data. Data from the 2000 and 2010 Census, economic censuses since 2002, and the American Community Survey are also available here.
USA.gov - Data & Statistics
Features a list of data resources from Federal government agencies. Includes such topics as, business, economics, defense, international relations, environment, energy, agriculture, family, geospatial data, health, nutrition, jobs and education, public safety, science, technology, transportation, and recreation.
Data.gov
The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.
State of the Cities Data Systems (SOCDS)
The SOCDS provides data for individual Metropolitan Areas, Central Cities, and Suburbs.
re3data.org
The REgistry of REsearch Data REpositories is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. It presents repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions. re3data.org promotes a culture of sharing, increased access and better visibility of research data.

Nevada, Clark County, Las Vegas, Henderson, North Las Vegas Data Resources

City of Las Vegas Open Data
NV State Quick Facts - US Census Bureau
NV Statistics & Censuses from NV State Library & Archives
Nevada Historical Census (hosted by University of Nevada, Reno)
This database has six different options for search interfaces, in addition to a general search bar: general information; geographic location; family & relationship; place of birth; nationality & citizenship; health; and work & economics. Each interface allows for searching by different criteria.
Nevada Economy at a Glance
UNLV: Center for Business & Economic Research
US Census Bureau-Quick Facts-North Las Vegas
US Census Bureau - Quick Facts - Henderson, NV
Southern Nevada Homeless Census
Clark County Quick Facts US Census
RAND State Statistics--Nevada
To Access RAND NV & Other States' Info, Set Up Free Trial
Clark County School District Accountability Reports
CCSD Fast Facts 2016-17
CCSD Budget Statistics
CCSD Statistical Data
The statistical data sub-section provides an analytical perspective of the District in different
areas including; county population, tax levies, enrollment, schools, graduation rates,
revenues, and expenditures.
Clark County Disease Statistics by Month
Disease Statistics, Surveillance & Reports--Southern NV Health District
Las Vegas Quick Facts - US Census

Excel Tutorials & Resources

The tutorials linked below are free to all. See also Lynda.com for online tutorials on Excel, included in the section on Data Analysis & Training.

Descriptive Statistics Online Training: Almost every detail you need for descriptive statistics in Excel, great tutorials by Princeton University. Topics include: descriptive statistics, pivot tables, one-way ANOVA
Excel For Statistical Data Analysis: A web page made by Dr. Hossein Arsham from University of Baltimore. Though it's for Excel 97, the statistical operations are very similar. Topics included: descriptive statistics, linear regression, ANOVA, etc

Urban Affairs Librarian

Susie Skarl, Urban Affairs Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

UNLV Libraries
Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Box 457014
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7014
susie.skarl@unlv.edu

702-895-2141

Subjects: Communication Studies, Couple & Family Therapy, Criminal Justice, Crisis & Emergency Management, Government Information, Journalism & Media Studies, Public Administration, Social Work, Urban Studies

Resources on Collaboration & Group Work

8 Ways to Build Collaborative Teams
Gratton, L., & Erickson, T. J. (2007). 8 Ways to Build Collaborative Teams. Harvard Business Review, 85(11), 100–109.

How to Find Specific Journal Articles with a Citation:
If you have a specific citation, such as: Gratton, L., & Erickson, T. J. (2007). 8 Ways to Build Collaborative Teams. Harvard Business Review, 85(11), 100–109.

Go to UNLV Libraries Quick Search: https://www.library.unlv.edu/ and type in the title: 8 Ways to Build Collaborative Teams

If we own it, it will lead you to the database where you will be able to access the article:

Full text available at: EBSCOhost Business Source Elite
Available from 1985.

Searching for Articles in a Specific Journal: If you would like to search for articles in a specific journal, such as the Harvard Business Review, from the library home page, click on the A to Z list of journal titles link. Once you are there, type in Harvard Business Review and it will lead you to the databases where you can access the journal.

Tips for Working in Groups
List from the University of Pittsburgh focusing on working successfully with groups.
Ten Tips for Working Effectively in Groups
Working in Groups: Strategies for Success
This resource provides helpful tips to avoid pitfalls and get the most out of group work.
How to Work & Contribute Effectively in Groups
Resource from the University of Melbourne providing tips and suggestions for successful collaborations.
Tips for College Students: Surviving Group Project Work
Tips for making the most of your group project experience.
Teamwork Skills: Being an Effective Group Member
For small groups to function effectively in a course context, students must attend to both the climate within their group and the process by which they accomplish their tasks. Critical to a healthy climate and an effective process are strong communication skills. Below you will find the basic characteristics of effective communicators, plus tips to help students with group climate and process.
Tips to Working Effectively in Group Projects
Consider the following tips to help your team work together on a group project:

URST 305 (Neill): Data Analysis for Urban Studies