LibGuides: HON 410 sec. 1008, Reading and Writing Historical Fiction. (McMahon): Secondary sources

Best Bets

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and books about the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Scope: U.S. and Canada only
Languages: Abstracts of articles in 40 different languages
This index includes almost 400,000 bibliographic entries from over 2,000 journals published worldwide. Books, media reviews, and dissertations are also covered, and approximately 16,000 entries are added each year. The Get Text button links to online full text when available and offers access to UNLV print collections and document delivery options for books and articles not available online.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1954-
Journal articles and books about world history from 1450 forward (Does not include the United States and Canada). Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Historical Abstracts identifies journal articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada (See: America: History and Life). Articles from over 2,000 journals are indexed and annotated, and the database includes over half a million entries in all. A select 3,000 books are also listed.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An archive of more than 700 important scholarly journals covering business, ecology, education, ethnic studies, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and sociology with content ending 3-5 years ago
JSTOR digitally archives more than 700 scholarly journals. Subjects include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and more.

All Library Databases
Select History in the left box to filter the list to just databases relevant to historians.
A-Z list of journals
Find out if UNLV subscribes to a specific journal or search within the contents of any single journal.

Handbooks and bibliographies

Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research reviews and historiographical essays published in the Oxford Handbooks series. Use these to get an overview of how historians have approached a topic.
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly topic overviews and annotated bibliographies with expert literature reviews from a wide range of disciplines.
Video tutorial for Oxford Bibliographies

Background reading

U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window 1760- Primary documents, encyclopedia entries, and journal articles about U.S. history.
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of primary documents, secondary reference sources, and journal articles covering all areas of U.S. history from pre-colonial times to the present day. It combines more than 1,000 primary documents with coverage found in more than a dozen reference sources, including Scribner's Dictionary of American History and the Dictionary of American Biography.
World History: Ancient & Medieval Eras This link opens in a new window Translated primary sources and reference entries about the ancient and medieval worlds.
- This link opens in a new window
Available to eligible Nevada public, school, and academic libraries thanks to the Institute for Museum & Library Services through the Library Services and Technology Act.
World History: The Modern Era This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Available to eligible Nevada public, school, and academic libraries thanks to the Institute for Museum & Library Services through the Library Services and Technology Act.
United States Geography This link opens in a new window Primary and secondary sources like images, maps, audio and video recordings, and profiles of communities and groups.
- This link opens in a new window
Available to eligible Nevada public, school, and academic libraries thanks to the Institute for Museum & Library Services through the Library Services and Technology Act.
World Geography: Understanding a Changing World This link opens in a new window Maps and profiles of each nation's geographical features, recent and early history, culture, politics, and economy; also includes images of significant buildings and ruins; flags; noteworthy speeches; recipes; facts and figures; glossary terms; and national constitutions.
- This link opens in a new window
Available to eligible Nevada public, school, and academic libraries thanks to the Institute for Museum & Library Services through the Library Services and Technology Act.

HON 410 sec. 1008, Reading and Writing Historical Fiction. (McMahon): Secondary sources

Finding Books, Articles and More from UNLV Libraries

Best Bets

Handbooks and bibliographies

Background reading

Locations

Contact