LibGuides: PUA 750: Education Policy (Martinez): Library Guides

UNLV Research Databases

UNLV Libraries Quick Search

Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1996-
Full text journal articles in education published after 1996. Limited to 20 simultaneous users.
Education Full Text indexes, abstracts and supplies the full text of articles from education-related English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the United States and elsewhere. English-language books relating to education published in 1996 or later are also indexed. Abstracts are available for items published 1994-1996. Subjects include: Adult Education, Arts, Athletics, Comparative Education, Competency-based Education, Computers in Education, Continuing Education, Educational Technology, Elementary Education, Government Funding, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Library Science, Literacy Standards, Multicultural/Ethnic Education, Parent-Teacher Relations, Prayer in Public Schools, Preschool Education, Religious Education, School Administration, Science and Mathematics, Secondary Education, Special Education, Student Counseling, Teacher Education, Teacher Evaluation, Teaching Methods, Vocational Education
ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1966-
Scholarly and popular journal articles, book chapters, and reports from the field of education.
Update frequency: monthly
Use ERIC to search abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, and reports from the field of education. Subject indexing allows you to zero in on all the articles relevant to your topic. ERIC digests offer overviews of significant scholarship on a topic.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Specialized collection of high-quality, full-text education journals.
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of high-quality, full-text education journals and educational reports.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable articles from academic and professional journals and magazines covering every academic discipline.
Update frequency: Updated daily
This excellent one-stop resource lets you search citations and summaries by keyword and then instantly retrieve the full text of articles from journals online. The Get Text button helps you locate any article without linked full text in alternate online sources or in UNLV's print journal collection.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1972-
Index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.
From the Public Affairs Information Service, this database provides access to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. It includes records from journals, books, conference proceedings, research and government reports, and directories.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable published news, legal, medical and business information.
The news section delivers the full text of international, national and regional newspapers along with wire services, broadcast transcripts, magazines, and non-English language sources. The legal section contains U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews and international legal information. This includes Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789. The medical section supplies information from news and medical journals, and provides abstracts to medical news from Medline. The business section includes business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
citations 1861-; abstracts 1980-; full text 1997-
Full text of most dissertations produced after 1997; citations and abstracts for others.
Update frequency: Updated quarterly
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses contains over 1.5 million entries, providing citations to North American and European dissertations from 1861 forward, with abstracts from 1980 forward. It also provides citations and abstracts for theses from 1988 forward. Full text of UNLV theses and dissertations available from 1996 to the present. Full text from all other institutions available from 1997 to the present.
RefWorks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliography manager saves your citations and formats them into APA, MLA, or other styles.
This web-based bibliography manager lets you save citations to journal articles, books, web sites and more into your personal online database. You'll be able to quickly link to online articles, organize and share your references, and automatically create formatted bibliographies in all the major citation formats, including APA, MLA, and Chicago styles. Off-campus users, see the Using RefWorks at UNLV page for special instructions.

Searching & Finding Nevada & Federal Legislation

Nevada Legislature
Contains current information on pending and existing Legislation for the State of Nevada
NELIS
The NELIS (Nevada Electronic Legislative Information System) program is the open & free system for accessing all bills, budgets, and committees & meeeting information
Nevada Law Library Resources
Site includes: Nevada Revised Statutes (2015), Nevada Constitution, City Charters, Selected Special and Local Acts, Court Rules, Statutes for the 29th Special Session, 58th Session, 57th Session, 56th Session, 55th Session, 13th Special Session, 54th Session, 12th Special Session, 11th Special Session, 53rd Session, and the 10th Special Session
NELIS User Manual
No Child Left Behind Act of 2001
Higher Education Opportunity Act - 2008
The Higher Education Opportunity Act (Public Law 110-315) (HEOA) was enacted on August 14, 2008, and reauthorizes the Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended (HEA).
Congress.gov
Portal to search US current & past legislation.
The Dream Act

Education-Related Government Resources

Condition of Education
This website has the key indicators of the condition of education in the United States.
Congress.gov
Portal to search US current & past legislation.
National Center for Education Statistics
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
No Child Left Behind Act of 2001
US Department of Education
Provides information about the Department's offices, programs, information and assistance services, funding opportunities, education statistics, publications, etc.
U.S. Dept. of Education: Policy Section
Provides links to government documents related to education policies.
Clark County School District
Includes curriculum, board policies, accountability reports, school sites, registration information, and district news.
Nevada Department of Education
Site contains information about the agency, for educators, for parents, in addition to data & reports.
Nevada System Of Higher Education
Organization formed to oversee all state-supported higher education in the state of Nevada. Site includes reports, Site includes policies & reports, data, information on initiatives, etc.

Education Policy-Related Journals & Resources

Finding Journals by Title

Do you know the title of the journal that you are looking for?

Use the UNLV print and online journal subscriptions search to discover if the University Libraries has a copy.

Tips for Searching on Google Scholar

A note about Google Scholar . . .

Although Google Scholar contains many resources, it does not contain access to all relevant resources for hospitality research. Researchers are strongly encouraged to look at the additional resources mentioned above to conduct a thorough literature review. You do not need to purchase articles via Google Scholar many are available for through the UNLV Libraries or via Interlibrary Loan.

For help connecting to UNLV Libraries' resources through Google Scholar see the following.

GoogleScholarcapture

Website | Feed

Educaton Policy Web Resources & Organizations

Center for Education Policy Analysis – Stanford
Stanford's Center for Education Policy Analysis (CEPA), an independent research center has a special focus of attention to examine policies that promote and support highly effective teachers and school leadership.
Center of Education Policy - George Washington University
Founded in 1995, the Center acts as a unique communicator with educators and the general public on the most serious issues in education; as a catalyst to improve the academic quality of public education through working with states, school districts, and others; and as a convener of people with differing points of view about public education to foster a reasoned debate on the schools.
Center for Education Policy Research - Harvard
The Center for Education Policy Research is a unique partnership among districts, states, foundations, and university-based researchers designed to leverage the overwhelming amount of newly available school-, teacher-, and student-level data to address previously intractable policy questions in education and improve educational outcomes for all students.
Center on International Education Benchmarking (CIEB)
Includes overviews of the educational systems of top-performing countries and reports on how the U.S. could benefit from drawing from their examples.
Common Standards
The National Governors Association drafted core curriculum standards for grades K-12 that have been adopted by most of the states of the US.
Education Commission of the States
Helps state leaders shape policy on educational issues in the 50 states.
National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP)
"The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) is the largest nationally representative and continuing assessment of what America's students know and can do in various subject areas. Assessments are conducted periodically in mathematics, reading, science, writing, the arts, civics, economics, geography, and U.S. history."
National Education Policy Center
The mission of the National Education Policy Center (NEPC) is to produce and disseminate high-quality, peer-reviewed research to inform education policy discussions. NEPC is guided by the belief that the democratic governance of public education is strengthened when policies are based on sound evidence.
Rethinking Schools
Throughout its history, Rethinking Schools has tried to balance classroom practice and educational theory. It is an activist publication, with articles written by and for teachers, parents, and students. Yet it also addresses key policy issues, such as vouchers and marketplace-oriented reforms, funding equity, and
National Center for Education & the Economy
Policies, tools, technical assistance and professional development focusing on effective standards-based education.

Selected Education Policy Institutes and Think Tanks

Annie E. Casey Foundation- KIDS COUNT
KIDS COUNT is a national and state-by-state project of the Casey Foundation to track the status of children in the United States.
Brookings Institution
Brookings experts have examined a number of issues including assessment and standardized testing, teacher quality, preschool and the connection between education and competitiveness.
CATO Institute
Cato's education research is founded on the principle that parents are best suited to make important decisions regarding the care and education of their children.
Center for American Progress
The Center for American Progress is a progressive think-tank dedicated to improving the lives of Americans through ideas and action.
Center on Education Policy
The Center on Education Policy is a national, independent advocate for public education and for more effective public schools.
Goldwater Institute- Center for Educational Opportunity
Arizona-based think tank. Broad areas of research include expansion of charter schools, education tax credits and vouchers, and the regulatory climate for alternative and independent schools
Hoover Institution
Produces the journal "Education Next."
RAND Institute
Non-Profit corporation. Research includes K-12 assessment and accountability, school reform, teachers and teaching, higher education, military education and training, worker training, and substance-abuse prevention in schools.

Urban Affairs Librarian

Susie Skarl, Urban Affairs Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

UNLV Libraries
Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Box 457014
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7014
susie.skarl@unlv.edu

702-895-2141

Subjects: Communication Studies, Couple & Family Therapy, Criminal Justice, Crisis & Emergency Management, Government Information, Journalism & Media Studies, Public Administration, Social Work, Urban Studies

PUA 750: Education Policy (Martinez): Library Guides