Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Women's History Month Resources: Women's History--Special Collections

March is Women's History Month, and UNLV Libraries wants to celebrate by sharing with you some of our women-focused research sources, including some unique resources only housed right here at UNLV.

Women's History Materials in Special Collections

  • The Nevada Women's Archives in UNLV Special Collections document the history of women and their contributions to southern Nevada. It contains both the personal papers of notable Las Vegas women, and the records of women's organizations in Las Vegas.
  • The Showgirls Digital Collection features digitized materials (photographs, costume designs, and programs) drawn from various collections in UNLV Special Collections that focus on the history and legacy of the showgirl, one of the most iconic symbols of Las Vegas entertainment.
  • The Oral History Collection part of the Oral History Research Center in UNLV Special Collections features hundreds of interviews with notable Las Vegas women from all walks of life from gaming and entertainment to community activists and politicians.

Film negative of cancan dancers in the Moulin Rouge opening show, May 24, 1955 from the Nevada State Museum, Jay Florian Mitchell Collection

Head of Special Collections & Archives Public Services

© University of Nevada Las Vegas