It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Librarian can hold "office hours" within your online course to answer reference questions
Participate in a research discussion thread in your Canvas course
Hold a virtual or on-site library instructional sessions
Add your librarian to Canvas. Instructors can submit an online help request to add guests and non-enrolled users to their course(s):WebCampus Guide for Instructors
WebCampus Library Toolkit: Resources on a variety of ways to incorporate library services and resources into WebCampus courses.
Introduce a Social Media (Facebook, Twitter, WordPress, etc.) component into the class for students to communicate with you, each other, and the librarian on research related to a course. Example: CRJ490's Twitter: https://twitter.com/crj490libinfo
Journal articles focused on criminal justice, juvenile delinquency and justice, family & domestic violence and more.
This criminology collection includes the full text of 24 journals published by Sage and participating societies. It covers such subjects as criminal justice, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, corrections, penology, policing, forensic psychology, and family and domestic violence.
Balanced information on all sides of an issue, including comments from experts in the field, numerous charts and graphs, a pro-con feature, a chronology, a lengthy bibliography for additional research, and a list of contacts are included in each report.
Searchable articles from academic and professional journals and magazines covering every academic discipline.
Update frequency: Updated daily
This excellent one-stop resource lets you search citations and summaries by keyword and then instantly retrieve the full text of articles from journals online. The Get Text button helps you locate any article without linked full text in alternate online sources or in UNLV's print journal collection.
Data about criminal justice in the United States. More than 600 tables of statistics on topics including correctional facilities, police and sheriffs' departments, judges, nature and distribution of known offenses, attitudes
Access to statistics including population, housing, income and labor force for place, city, county and state from decennial Census. Web interface allows selection of multiple data elements to download. 1944-2000
"The UNLV University Libraries Special Collections Division engages researchers world-wide in the interdisciplinary study of our region. We promote learning, discovery, and scholarship about Las Vegas, Southern Nevada, and gaming. We collect and preserve rare and unique materials about our region's heritage, and expertly help researchers use our collections. We also serve as UNLV's University Archives."
Locate a popular magazine article, then find a scholarly article on the same criminal justice-related subject. Compare the two articles for content, style, bias, audience, etc.
Prepare an annotated bibliography of books, journal articles, and other sources on a topic. Include evaluative annotations.
Select a topic and compare how that topic is treated in two to five different sources (scholarly, popular, newspapers, government, nonprofit, think tanks, etc.)
Pick a topic and research it in criminal justice literature from the 60s and 70s. Then research the same topic in the literature of the 2000s. Compare and contrast the topic. (Example: police brutality)
Working in groups or alone, prepare a print or web-based guide to introduces others to the various information sources in a discipline or on a specific topic.
Introduce students to finding criminal justice statistics and datasets on a specific issue. This is a great way to familiarize the government resources that are available.
Rather than a traditional research paper, have the students create an infographic on their topic.