LibGuides: SWK 495: Capstone Seminar (Owens)

Check Out the Libraries Quick Search

UNLV Libraries Quick Search

Social Work-Related Databases for Scholarly Articles

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1895-
Indexes the literature of sociology and related disciplines.
Includes full text for selected journals, monographs, and conference papers and contains full text for over 325 journals dating back to 1895. Encompasses all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, and many others.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1977-
Access limited to 4 simultaneous users
Journal articles about all areas of social work from professional journals.
Update frequency: semi-annually
From the National Association of Social Workers, this database provides access to professional journal articles about social work from all areas of the profession.
AgeLine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1978-
Abstracts on social gerontology. Also includes health care, public policy, employment, and consumer issues.
Produced by the American Association of Retired Persons (AARP), this database includes citations with abstracts drawn from the literature in social gerontology -- the study of aging in social, psychological, health-related, and economic contexts. Health care, public policy, employment and consumer issues are particularly well-covered.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable articles from academic and professional journals and magazines covering every academic discipline.
Update frequency: Updated daily
This excellent one-stop resource lets you search citations and summaries by keyword and then instantly retrieve the full text of articles from journals online. The Get Text button helps you locate any article without linked full text in alternate online sources or in UNLV's print journal collection.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides an index to the world's literature on lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues, as well as full text for 55 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 100 full-text monographs/books.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1970-
Journal articles recording research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of family science, human ecology, human development, and social welfare.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide, produced by NISC, is a core resource providing the most comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. FSSW covers popular issues as well as meeting the requirements of professionals in all fields of social work, social science and family practice. Coverage spans from 1970 to the present indexing publications from a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history and social work.
Sociology: A Sage Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1987-
Full text journals covering contemporary sociology, ethnic studies, gender studies, social theory, the sociology of sport and the sociology of work.
This collection includes the full text of 28 journals, some going back 20 years, covering over 10,000 articles. This searchable database covers such subjects as contemporary sociology, ethnic studies, gender studies, social theory, the sociology of sport and the sociology of work. Each bibliographic record in the collection links to the full text article in PDF format.
RefWorks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliography manager saves your citations and formats them into APA, MLA, or other styles.
This web-based bibliography manager lets you save citations to journal articles, books, web sites and more into your personal online database. You'll be able to quickly link to online articles, organize and share your references, and automatically create formatted bibliographies in all the major citation formats, including APA, MLA, and Chicago styles. Off-campus users, see the Using RefWorks at UNLV page for special instructions.

Learn Effective Database Search Strategies

Use different search terms or keywords

Try using other words to describe your topic, it will give you better results.
Examples: veterans and PTSD, soldiers and PTSD, post-traumatic stress disorder and war, PTSD and families
add AND "social work" to your search, to narrow more to the field

Truncation or wildcard (*)

This will locate alternate endings for your search term.
Example - ger* to find gerontology, geriatrics, gerontologist
Note: Some databases use different symbols; consult the help page for the correct symbol

Try different databases

Each database contains unique material, so searching a different database may yield more relevant research.

Help page

Each database has a page with tips to help you effectively search that resource.

Popular Media Sources

Las Vegas Review Journal (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1996-
Full text of articles, not including images.

Las Vegas Sun

US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1980s-
Searchable current and recent articles from newspapers, including Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, New York Times and the Wall Street Journal.
Full text of articles from major national newspapers: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, The Christian Science Monitor, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Seattle Post-Intelligencer, USA Today. Also included are the New York Times Book Review, the New York Times Magazine, and the Las Vegas Review Journal.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Regional newspapers and broadcast television transcripts.
Newspaper Source provides full text coverage for 40 national and international newspapers including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Times (London), and The Toronto Star. Selected full text is offered from more than 330 regional newspapers including The Buffalo News, Orange County Register, Philadelphia Inquirer, San Francisco Chronicle, and St. Louis Post-Dispatch. Full text transcripts are available from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, National Public Radio, and more.

Google News
Google News aggregates headlines from more than 4,500 English-language news sources worldwide, groups similar stories together and displays them according to each reader's personalized interests.

Social Work-Related Professional Organizations

Non-governmental Research Organizations & Think Tanks

Annie E. Casey Foundation
The Annie E. Casey Foundation is one of the largest
private foundations in the nation, dedicated to strengthening families and serving disadvantaged children. The foundation maintains the Kids Count Data Center which is an excellent source of demographic, education, economic well-being, health and safety data on children in the United States
Foundation Center--IssueLab
A catalog of annotated links to over 11,000 free and open access documents, covering 40 subject areas representing the most pressing social, economic and environmental world problems. This resource is sponsored by the Foundation Center.
The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation
The Kaiser Foundation web site offers a wealth of information on health care policy and reform with factsheets, statistics, tutorials, polls, maps and reports. This information is easily accessible and available for free.
National Association of Social Workers
The National Association of Social Workers (NASW) is the largest membership organization of professional social workers in the world, with 132,000 members. Site includes professional development resources, publications, etc.
National Council of La Raza (NCLR) - Publications
Research reports, issue briefs, white papers and other publications from the largest national Hispanic civil rights and advocacy organization in the U.S.
National Center for Children in Poverty
Located at Columbia University's Joseph L. Mailman School of Public Health, the NCCP uses program and policy analyses and demographic research to identify and promote strategies that reduce young child poverty and that improve the lives of poor young children.
Poverty Solutions, University of Michigan
Poverty Solutions leverages the assets of the university to provide insights on preventing and alleviating poverty.
Pew Charitable Trusts Resource Library
The Pew Charitable Trusts seek to 1.) Improve Public Policy; 2.) Inform the Public; 3.) Stimulate Civic Life. Major funding initiatives include research on Hispanics in America, Children and Youth, Education, Health, and State Policy and Performance
Rand Corporation
This well-known think tank provides free online research reports, commentary and reprints on topics covering population & aging, child policy, health & healthcare, and substance abuse.
Social Work Policy Institute
The Social Work Policy Institute examines issues that relate to the work of social workers, including how to serve people who have multiple or complex needs and how public agencies and other structures deliver health and human services.
Urban Institute
The Urban Institute investigates and analyzes U.S. social and economic policy. The web site provides free research reports and data on important domestic issues such as immigration, families, children and youth, housing, education and employment.

Finding Nevada/Clark County-Related Government Statistics & Reports

Finding Government Sources

When searching for government-related statistics or reports, you can use Google! Type in your keywords, then type site:.gov and you will locate a wide variety of federal, state, and local statistics and reports.

APA Style Resources

Solutions/Interventions Resources

National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices (NREPP)
SAMHSA’s National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices (NREPP) promotes the adoption of scientifically established behavioral health interventions.
Social Work Policy Institute's Evidence-Based Practice Resources
Provides links to partnerships & evidence-based practice resources within the social work profession.

Annotated Bibliography Guide

UNLV Guide to Creating Annotated Bibliographies

Social Work Careers

Social Work Career Resources

MSW/Grad School Resources

Graduate school - Statement --University of California at Berkeley - Career Center
Write a graduate school essay that will knock their socks off --Peterson's, Inc.
Samples from OWL-Writing Lab- Includes essay samples & tips from admissions directors.
Online Writing Lab - Purdue University

Graduate School Admissions: Writing an Effective Personal Statement, New Social Worker Magazine

Subject Guide

Susie Skarl, Urban Affairs Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

UNLV Libraries
Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Box 457014
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7014
susie.skarl@unlv.edu

702-895-2141

Subjects: Communication Studies, Couple & Family Therapy, Criminal Justice, Crisis & Emergency Management, Government Information, Journalism & Media Studies, Public Administration, Social Work, Urban Studies

SWK 495: Capstone Seminar (Owens)