LibGuides: Health Care Administration and Policy : Finding Articles & Databases

About this Page

This page contains a list of Healthcare Administration journals, as well as a list of databases and links to recent publications from faculty in the Healthcare Administration program. If you're looking for a databases don't forget about the Recommended Resources box on the Getting Started page.

Healthcare Administration & Related Databases

This list of resources contains journal articles and other research materials about public health topics. For more Public Health & related databases, see Recommended Resources.

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1923-
Articles and reports in advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers and information on 25 million companies.
Update frequency: Updated weekly
Scope: International
Languages: English
Primarily a database for retrieving journal articles but allows for searching by company in the advanced search section. The ABI/INFORM Complete database offers searchable full text of more than 6,800 of the leading business and management journals in North America and the world. Coverage is international and includes advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Also compiles information on 25 million companies!
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and business periodicals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business along with company profiles and SWOT analyses.
The database also includes company profiles of the world’s 10,000 largest companies providing SWOT analysis for many companies.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1982-
The main index for nursing literature and allied health.
Update frequency: weekly
The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature is an index to literature in nursing and allied health. This database provides indexing, abstracting, and full text for over 1,600 current nursing and allied health journals and publications dating back to 1982, totaling over 700,000 records.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of evidence based medicine databases.
Update frequency: Updated quarterly
Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment Database, and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
citations 1861-; abstracts 1980-; full text 1997-
Full text of most dissertations produced after 1997; citations and abstracts for others.
Update frequency: Updated quarterly
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses contains over 1.5 million entries, providing citations to North American and European dissertations from 1861 forward, with abstracts from 1980 forward. It also provides citations and abstracts for theses from 1988 forward. Full text of UNLV theses and dissertations available from 1996 to the present. Full text from all other institutions available from 1997 to the present.
Dissertations and Theses: UNLV This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of most UNLV dissertations produced after 1997; citations and abstracts for others.
Embase This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Embase is an index to scholarly articles in medicine, biomedical sciences, and allied health subjects.
Embase content is indexed using a specialized thesaurus, Emtree, that includes biomedical, chemical, and drug terms. There is a special focus on drugs and devices.
Health and medical dictionaries in Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Health and medical dictionaries.
Includes Collins Dictionary of Medicine, Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & Abbreviations, Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary, Mosby's Dental Dictionary, Mosby's Dictionary of Complementary and Alternative Medicine, Mosby's Medical, Nursing and Allied Health Dictionary, Saunders Comprehensive Veterinary Dictionary, Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary and more.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, this comprehensive bibliographic database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.
It also provides information about behavioral measurement instruments, including those from industrial organizational behavior and education. HaPI includes citations to freestanding instruments as well as instruments that have only appeared in journal or technical reports, published and unpublished.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1985-present
Articles on consumer health information.
Also includes a number of health-related pamphlets and health reference books.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1985-present
An index to about 850 journals in health sciences.
Nursing and allied health coverage is especially strong. Also includes Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.
Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Information on the influence of individual periodicals to publishing within specific scholarly disciplines (impact factors).
JCR gives information year-by-year on the impact factors of journals as well as the half-life (for how many years an article is cited after publication) of journals.
Journals@Ovid This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Lippincott, Williams and Wilkins (LWW) full text nursing journals with deep backfiles.
Journals@Ovid consists of two sets of nursing titles. One set has about 40 titles on nursing and health professions with content from 1997 to present. The Lippincott, Williams and Wilkins Legacy Archive Collection has 240 nursing titles with coverage ending after 1999.
LWW Health Library Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Published by Lippincott, these collections includes authoritative texts for Medical Education, Clerkship, Emergency Medicine, Internal Medicine, Surgery, OBGYN, Oncology, Orthopedic Surgery and Psychiatry that are commonly used during undergraduate and medical education related programs, as well as cases, clinical skills, multimedia resources, and teaching and learning tools.
LWW Total Access Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
All LWW journals available on OvidSP , including core journals and specialized resources in such areas as nursing and bioscience.
Medline via OCLC FirstSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1965-
Index of medical literature, including over 15,800,000 records from medical, dental, and nursing journals.
Medline via OVID This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 23 million article citations and author abstracts from more than 5,600 biomedicine and life sciences journals.
Medline via Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1950-
Over 15 million records from medical and life sciences journals.
Searching Medline on the Web of Knowledge platform allows you to also search several other databases at the same time.
Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1938 to present

Reviews of English-language personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, educational, achievement, and intelligence tests. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Produced by the Buros Institute, this database contains information from the 9th, 10th, 11th, 12th, 13th, 14th, and 15th Mental Measurements Yearbooks. Records contain descriptive information and critical reviews of over 2,200 standardized English-language personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, educational, achievement, and intelligence tests. Subject coverage includes behavioral science, education, psychiatry, psychology, speech, language, and hearing. Paper copies back to 1938.
Merck Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for chemicals and their properties, including biologicals as well as both human and veterinary drugs.
Search by keyword, chemical formula, physical property and chemical structure. The Merck Index Online contains information from over 11,500 monographs and reference data.
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to the literature of PTSD and other mental health consequences resulting from exposure to traumatic events, produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD.
Formerly known as PILOTS.
APA PsycINFO 1887-Current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1800-
The American Psychological Association's international psychology database indexes journal articles, books and dissertations.
Update frequency: Updated monthly
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods has tools and content to help design research projects, plan a study, learn methodological approaches, gather data, and understand findings.
A full-text collection of real social research case studies is incorporated to help understand abstract methodological concepts in practice. Datasets from both international and national sources accompanied by how-to guides covering numerous quantitative and qualitative research methods are included. SRM contains more than 600 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, journal articles, videos, and handbooks as well as the entire Little Green Book (quantitative) and Little Blue Book (qualitative) series. A taxonomy of over 1400 methods terms is featured along with a Methods Map which visualizes relationships among methods terms, concepts, people, and literature. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.
Science Citation Index Expanded This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Science Citation Index Expanded ® provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in approximately 5,900 of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines.
ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nearly 2,000 full text Elsevier journals covering the areas of social science, medicine, science, and technology with deep backfiles for more than 1600 journals.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1960-
Scopus is an index to peer-reviewed scientific, medical, technical, and social science literature.
Scopus also features a citation index, allowing you to find the papers that cite a specific piece of research.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1990-
Web of Science is a platform for Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Index, Journal Citation Reports, Biological Abstracts, MEDLINE, and Inspec.
Help?