LibGuides: IDS 240: Interdisciplinary Research Methods: Finding Journal Articles & Databases

Subject Guide

Contact:

brittani.sterling@unlv.edu

Subjects: Anthropology, Environmental Studies, Gender and Sexuality Studies, Interdisciplinary Studies, Political Science, Sociology

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier
Good for: Conducting academic research on all subjects.
Contains: Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.

The first place to look for journal articles is Academic Search Premier. ASP is the largest database and contains both scholarly and popular material from many disciplines.

Research Tips - you can search ASP with other Ebsco databases at the same time.

Open ASP, above the search box, there is link in blue that says "choose databases"
Click "choose databases" and see a list of all other Ebsco databases
Select other databases and hit Ok
This allows you to search ASP with Film and Television or PsyInfo or SportsDiscus
End result is the ability to find more sources for your topic without duplications

Business and Industry and Hospitality

D&B Hoovers
Good for: Researching global company information.
Contains: Current public and private company information, SWOT analyses, market report, company news, financial information, and executive profiles.

Select International Businesses from the drop-down menu or on the column on the left to begin a search.
IBISWorld Industry Reports
Good for: Accessing industry market research, company reports, and economic reports.
Contains: Industry market research, company reports, and economic reports.
ABI/INFORM Collection
Good for: Analyzing business trends and company information.
Contains: Articles and reports on advertising, marketing, economics, and more.
Dates covered: 1923-present.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete
Good for: Finding scholarly and trade articles about hotel management, food service, travel, tourism, event management, gaming, and more.
Contains: Scholarly and trade journal articles.
Dates covered: 1960-present.

Hospitality & Tourism Complete is a database covering scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Full-text coverage of over 200 publications that include the subject areas of hotel management, food service and beverage management, travel and tourism, event management, gaming, international cuisine, law, market trends, research and more.

Sports and Recreation Databases

Sports Market Analytics (SMA)

Good for: Researching the sports industry.
Contains: Market research and industry news.

SBRNet is a service focusing on the sporting goods and sports marketing industry. The site features market research and industry news covering all facets of the industry: sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, sports sponsorship and sports marketing.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Good for: Researching sports, physical education, and sports medicine.
Contains: Journal articles and more.
Dates covered: 1975-present.

An international database indexing journal articles, books, conference proceedings, research papers, and dissertations and theses in sports medicine, biomechanics, psychology, coaching, physical education and fitness, training, and other related topics.

Psychology and Sociology

APA PsycINFO 1887-Current
Good for: Researching psychological literature.
Contains: Journal articles, books, and dissertations.
Dates covered: 1800-present.
PsychiatryOnline
Good for: Information on diagnosing, treating, and researching mental health conditions.
Contains: DSM-5-TR, legacy editions of the DSM, books, journals, podcasts, and other resources from the American Psychiatric Association.

The DSM-V is a standard resource for diagnosis in Psychology.
APA PsycARTICLES
Good for: Accessing full-text articles from the 50 journals published by APA.
Contains: Articles from peer-reviewed journals.
Dates covered: 1987-present.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Good for: Researching sociology and related disciplines.
Contains: Index to literature.
Dates covered: 1895-present.

Includes selected journals, monographs, and conference papers. Encompasses all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, and many others.
Sociology: A Sage Collection
Good for: Researching contemporary sociology, ethnic studies, gender studies, social theory, the sociology of sport, and the sociology of work.
Contains: Journals.
Dates covered: 1987-present.

This searchable database covers such subjects as contemporary sociology, ethnic studies, gender studies, social theory, the sociology of sport and the sociology of work. Each bibliographic record in the collection links to the full text article in PDF format.

Education

Education Full Text
Good for: Researching education topics.
Contains: Journal articles.
Dates covered: 1996-present.
Education: A Sage Collection
Good for: Researching education topics in academic journals published by Sage.
Contains: Journal articles.

Education: A Sage Collection includes the full text of about 26 peer-reviewed journals published by Sage and participating societies. It covers such subject areas as: Adult and Continuing Education, Educational Administration, Educational Policy, Elementary and Primary Education, High School and Secondary Education, Higher Education, International Education, Leadership, Measurement and Testing, Multicultural Education and Diversity, Professional Development, Teaching and Instruction, Teaching Methods.
ERIC
Good for: Researching education.
Contains: Journal articles, book chapters, and educational reports.
Dates covered: 1966-present.

Use ERIC to search abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, and reports from the field of education. Subject indexing allows you to zero in on all the articles relevant to your topic. ERIC digests offer overviews of significant scholarship on a topic.
Professional Development Collection
Good for: Educators seeking resources related to professional development topics.
Contains: Education journals and reports.
Child Development and Adolescent Studies
Good for: Researching child development and adolescent studies.
Contains: Current and historical scholarly literature.

Databases for all other subjects - History, Biology, etc.

All Library Databases
The library has over 300 databases for different subjects

IDS 240: Interdisciplinary Research Methods: Finding Journal Articles & Databases