This guide recommends resources available through the University Libraries and is designed to help students find appropriate material for research projects. Follow the tabs immediately below for more information.
There are a variety of ways to request items that the University Libraries do not currently own, or that are currently unavailable. Visit this page to see them (http://guides.library.unlv.edu/interlibraryloan/) . Often you will receive a pdf copy sent to your UNLV email account. This service is free to UNLV faculty, staff, and students! You may need to register your Rebel Card barcode with the libraries first.
Use this form only if you are unable to obtain a RebelCard and wish to create an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) account to request materials from other libraries.
Using Google Scholar
If you want to use Google Scholar as one of your search tools, the document below describes how to update the Google Scholar settings to tie it to the subscriptions you have access to through UNLV and other libraries.
This database indexes research and news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. It indexes periodicals, academic journals, and other content, including the Department of State's Background Notes on Countries of the World, Country Watch Reviews of selected countries, the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, selected congressional testimony, and descriptions of aircraft, motorized equipment, and armament. Note: To search multiple EBSCO databases, click the Select Databases tab.
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database collects periodicals, academic journals, and other content, including the Department of State's Background Notes on Countries of the World, Country Watch Reviews of selected countries, the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, selected congressional testimony, and descriptions of aircraft, motorized equipment, and armament.
The following databases index information related to Military History and Studies and related subjects:
Searchable articles from academic and professional journals and magazines covering every academic discipline.
Update frequency: Updated daily
This excellent one-stop resource lets you search citations and summaries by keyword and then instantly retrieve the full text of articles from journals online. The Get Text button helps you locate any article without linked full text in alternate online sources or in UNLV's print journal collection.
Journal articles and books about the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Scope: U.S. and Canada only Languages: Abstracts of articles in 40 different languages
This index includes almost 400,000 bibliographic entries from over 2,000 journals published worldwide. Books, media reviews, and dissertations are also covered, and approximately 16,000 entries are added each year. The Get Text button links to online full text when available and offers access to UNLV print collections and document delivery options for books and articles not available online.
Images, brief biographies, and links to magazine articles and websites about notable people.
Biography Resource Center provides biographical information on more than 185,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Contains approximately 250,000 biographies and complete articles from nearly 250 periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death years and places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation, or gender, or combine criteria.
In depth research on controversial topics ranging from social issues to environment, health, education, science, and technology issues.
Balanced information on all sides of an issue, including comments from experts in the field, numerous charts and graphs, a pro-con feature, a chronology, a lengthy bibliography for additional research, and a list of contacts are included in each report.
Basic facts about history, culture and lifestyles in 187 countries.
Cultural reports for 187 countries and territories each including 25 categories such as land and climate, history, personal appearance, greetings, gestures, family, diet, holidays, economy, education, health, and events and trends.
Alternate name: Culturegrams World Edition
citations 1861-; abstracts 1980-; full text 1997-
Full text of most dissertations produced after 1997; citations and abstracts for others.
Update frequency: Updated quarterly
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses contains over 1.5 million entries, providing citations to North American and European dissertations from 1861 forward, with abstracts from 1980 forward. It also provides citations and abstracts for theses from 1988 forward. Full text of UNLV theses and dissertations available from 1996 to the present. Full text from all other institutions available from 1997 to the present.
Journal articles and books about world history from 1450 forward (Does not include the United States and Canada). Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Historical Abstracts identifies journal articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada (See: America: History and Life). Articles from over 2,000 journals are indexed and annotated, and the database includes over half a million entries in all. A select 3,000 books are also listed.
The International Terrorism: Attributes of Terrorist Events (ITERATE) project quantifies data on the characteristics of transnational terrorist groups, their activities that carry international impact and the environment in which they operate.
An archive of more than 700 important scholarly journals covering business, ecology, education, ethnic studies, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and sociology with content ending 3-5 years ago
JSTOR digitally archives more than 700 scholarly journals. Subjects include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and more.
Searchable published news, legal, medical and business information.
The news section delivers the full text of international, national and regional newspapers along with wire services, broadcast transcripts, magazines, and non-English language sources. The legal section contains U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews and international legal information. This includes Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789. The medical section supplies information from news and medical journals, and provides abstracts to medical news from Medline. The business section includes business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
Index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.
From the Public Affairs Information Service, this database provides access to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. It includes records from journals, books, conference proceedings, research and government reports, and directories.
The following journals are related to Military Studies and related subjects: