LibGuides: Urban Studies: Getting Started

Urban Affairs Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

UNLV Libraries
Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Box 457014
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7014
susie.skarl@unlv.edu

702-895-2141

Subjects: Communication Studies, Couple & Family Therapy, Criminal Justice, Crisis & Emergency Management, Government Information, Journalism & Media Studies, Public Administration, Social Work, Urban Studies

About this Guide

This guide is intended to help you with your library research. You will find databases, journals, ebooks, reference books, web resources, and selected datasets to help with your literature review, or provide background information on urban studies-related subject areas.

Urban Studies-Related Resources & Starting Points

Quick Search
Type keywords into a single search box to begin finding resources (including articles, books, and more).
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a search engine that provides links to full-txt articles to which UNLV Libraries subscribes or to articles made freely available by the publisher.

PAIS International
Good for: Finding information on public policy, social policy, and the social sciences.
Contains: Index to literature.
Dates covered: 1972-present.

From the Public Affairs Information Service, this database provides access to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. It includes records from journals, books, conference proceedings, research and government reports, and directories. Use it to locate journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, and web content.
Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management

This database has changed names. Please see: Agricultural & Environmental Science Database.
Building Green
Good for: Researching sustainable building practices.
Contains: Articles, reviews, product information, and news.

This resource integrates product listings from the GreenSpec products directory, project case studies from the High-Performance Buildings Database, and the Environmental Building News.
GreenFILE
Good for: Researching the impact of humans on the environment.
Contains: Coverage from government, general, and scholarly publications.

It contains over 300,000 records and over 200 cited references from the agriculture, education, law, health and technology fields.
Scopus
Good for: Researching peer-reviewed scientific, medical, technical, and social science literature.
Contains: Index to literature.
Dates covered: 1960-present.

Scopus also features a citation index, allowing you to find the papers that cite a specific piece of research.

Course Guides

URST 498: Capstone in Urban Studies

Urban Studies

Urban Affairs Librarian

About this Guide

Urban Studies-Related Resources & Starting Points

Course Guides

Locations

Contact