Skip to main content
questions, ask us

Communication Studies

Resource guide focusing on communication studies-related databases, books, Internet resources, and more.

Welcome!

Welcome to the Communication Studies Grad Student Library Research Guide!

 

Please Register your Rebel Card at this link to check-out materials from the UNLV Libraries.

To begin, view the UNLV Libraries tutorials at this by clicking here.

Need more help?   Contact your librarian, Susie Skarl at susie.skarl@unlv.edu

To Get You Started on the Road to Research & the Inquiry Process

Communication Studies-Related Databases

Using RefWorks

 

What Is RefWorks?

What is RefWorks?

RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic software package that enables you to:

  • Organize your research
  • Create a bibliography in a variety of citation styles, including APA, MLA and Chicago
  • Import references from many data sources
  • Create bibliographies in different document formats (Word, RTF, HTML, etc.)
  • Include citations while you write your paper

"New" RefWorks Instructions

UNLV Libraries Video Tutorials

Click HERE to check out the wide variety of UNLV Libraries video tutorials!

UNLV Libraries Online Videos & Streaming Media

UNLV Libraries Online Videos & Streaming Media Home Page  :  The UNLV Libraries provide access to thousands of streaming videos for UNLV use. You can search the catalog to find them, or visit the video collection websites directly. Many of the collection sites allow you to register a personal account for creating and managing clips, playlists, and other customized views of the content.

Video--Literature Reviews: An Overview for Graduate Students.

Tips for Searching Google Scholar

A note about Google Scholar . . . 

Although Google Scholar contains many resources, it does not contain access to all relevant resources for hospitality research.  Researchers are strongly encouraged to look at the additional resources mentioned above to conduct a thorough literature review.  You do not need to purchase articles via Google Scholar many are available for through the UNLV Libraries or via Interlibrary Loan.

For help connecting to UNLV Libraries' resources through Google Scholar see the following.

 

 

  

Time-Saving Library Services

 

Use Time-saving Library Services

UNLV Interlibrary Loan: Use this account to get articles, books, and other resources from our interlibrary loan system that are not available through UNLV Libraries for free by clicking HERE to set up an account. 

RefWorks: Software that will allow you to store, organize and format your research citations via the Internet automatically.

Google Scholar is a subset of Google that is designed to search for academic and scholarly articles and books online.

Follow UNLV Libraries on Twitter & Like Us on Facebook: For library news, research assistance, schedules, resource updates, and more, follow us on Twitter: @unlvlibraries  & Like Us on Facebook.

Suggest a Purchase for the UNLV Libraries: Do you have a suggestion for an item that we should add to the library collections?  Click here to make your request.

Research Consultations: If you would like to schedule a time that is convenient for your schedule to discuss your research, please contact me at susie.skarl@unlv.edu or 702-895-2141.

Citation Analysis Tools

se the following resources to track citations, including by author, number of articles cited, number of articles published, etc.
© University of Nevada Las Vegas