LibGuides: Palestinian Awareness Week: Learn Something New

Databases That Uncover The Arts In Palestinian Life

Drama Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Play scripts and scholarly works from Faber and Faber and Bloomsbury's Methuen Drama and Arden Shakespeare imprints.
Over 1000 full text plays, from Aeschylus to the present day, including modern classics from Tom Stoppard, David Mamet, Alan Bennett, Caryl Churchill, Edward Bond, Harold Pinter, Brian Friel, John Osborne, April De Angelis, and David Hare; contemporary writers include Polly Stenham, Katori Hall, D.C. Moore, James Graham, Rebecca Lenkiewicz and Lucy Prebble.
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries provides a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions.
Includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. Also includes music recorded around the African continent by Dr. Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies. Produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings. Users may also create, view, and share your own custom playlists in a free account available for registration set up within the database.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Art digital images and related data.
A repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, social sciences and related data; the tools to actively use those images; and a restricted usage environment that seeks to balance the rights of content providers with the needs and interests of content user.

UNLV's Muslim Student Association Teach-In Week

Audiovisuals of Palestinian Life

Stories of Palestinian Life for Young People

Ronit and Jamil by Pamela L. Laskin
ISBN: 9780062458544
Publication Date: 2017-02-21
Pamela L. Laskin's beautiful and lyrical novel in verse delivers a fresh and captivating retelling of Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet that transports the star-crossed lovers to the modern-day Israel-Palestine conflict. Ronit, an Israeli girl, lives on one side of the fence. Jamil, a Palestinian boy, lives on the other side. Only miles apart but separated by generations of conflict--much more than just the concrete blockade between them. Their fathers, however, work in a distrusting but mutually beneficial business arrangement, a relationship that brings Ronit and Jamil together. And lightning strikes. The kind of lightning that transcends barrier fences, war, and hatred. The teenage lovers fall desperately into the throes of forbidden love, one that would create an irreparable rift between their families if it were discovered. But a love this big can only be kept secret for so long. Ronit and Jamil must face the fateful choice to save their lives or their loves, as it may not be possible to save both.
Being Young and Muslim by Linda Herrera; Asef Bayat
ISBN: 9780195369212
Publication Date: 2010-08-19
In recent years, there has been a proliferation of interest in youth issues and Muslim youth in particular. Young Muslims have been thrust into the global spotlight in relation to questions about security and extremism, work and migration, and rights and citizenship. Muslim youth have emerged as important cultural and political actors on a world stage.

Getting to Know Palestine by Listening and Learning

A Comprehensive Look at Palestinian Culture
Whether in ancestral towns or in refugee camps or in communities of Palestinian immigrants in countries throughout the world, Palestinians enjoy a shared heritage and culture that allows them to carry a sense of home with them wherever they are.
An Israeli and a Palestinian talk peace, dignity and safety | Ali Abu Awwad and Ami Dar
Israel and Palestine have grappled with enduring territorial disputes and complex geopolitical tensions across generations. In this profound TED Membership conversation, Palestinian peace activist Ali Abu Awwad and Israeli founder of Idealist.org Ami Dar envision a future built on mutual respect, recognition and nonviolent activism, where both identities coexist harmoniously. Listen for a testament to the resilience of the human spirit and the belief that, despite entrenched conflict, a shared commitment to dignity and justice is possible. (This interview, hosted by TED curator Cloe Shasha Brooks, was recorded on February 8, 2024.

** A note for these podcasts. The showcased topics are from the personal perspectives of those being interviewed alone**

Palestinian Artists Showcased

Explore the Rich Tapestry of Identity: Palestinian Author Showcase
Tag along to learn about the enrich Palestine’s identity, displacement, and resistance that permeate its incredible literature, offering a glimpse into the profound human experiences that have shaped this vibrant literary tradition.
10 Palestinian Artists to Follow
From up-and-coming Gen Z creatives, to prolific multi award-winning artists, here are some of the most powerful Palestinian artists to follow.
Love Poems by Poets of Palestinian Heritage
These pieces originally appeared in We Call to the Eye & the Night: Love Poems by Writers of Arab Heritage, which was edited by Hala Alyan and Zeina Hashem Beck and published by Persea Books in February 2023. These poems speak to love in its many forms, whether it be while sitting in the chair of a hair salon, or mourning the death of a beloved friend, or meditating on fatherhood.

Palestinian Food Traditions

Dabke

Traditional Palestinian Garb

Palestinian Life in Academic Literature

Conflict in the Holy Land by Robert C. DiPrizio (Editor)
ISBN: 9781440867484
Publication Date: 2020-02-07
With more than 250 cross-referenced entries covering every aspect of conflict in the Holy Land, this illuminating book will help students understand the volatile history of Palestine and Israel and its impact on the rest of the world.Palestine is considered a sacred land by Christians, Jews, and Muslims. This has contributed to the violence that has ravaged the Holy Land throughout its long history. This A-Z reference work, which defines the Holy Land as historic Palestine (the combined territories of Israel, the West Bank, and the Gaza Strip), covers such ancient conflicts as Egypt's rule over Canaan, the reign of King David, and the Jewish Revolts against the Roman Empire.
Food, National Identity and Nationalism by Atsuko Ichijo; Ronald Ranta
ISBN: 9781137483126
Publication Date: 2015-10-29
Exploring the relationship between food and nationalism, this book examines a number of case studies at various levels of political analysis to show how useful the food and nationalism axis can be in the study of politics.
The Last Earth by Ramzy Baroud
ISBN: 9780745338002
Publication Date: 2018-02-20
Ramzy Baroud here gathers accounts from countless Palestinians from all walks of life, and from throughout the decades, to tell the story of the nation and its struggle for independence and security. Challenging both academic and popular takes on Palestinian history, Baroud unearths here the deep commonalities within the story of Palestine, ones that draw the people together despite political divisions, geographical barriers and walls, factionalism, occupation, and exile.
Novel Palestine by Nora E. H. Parr
ISBN: 9780520394667
Publication Date: 2023-10-31
Palestinian writing imagines the nation, not as a nation-in-waiting but as a living, changing structure that joins people, place, and time into a distinct set of formations.
The Palestinian Diaspora by Helena Lindholm Schulz
ISBN: 1134496699
Publication Date: 2005-07-27
In this pioneering study, Helena Lindholm Schulz examines the ways in which Palestinian identity has been formed in the diaspora through constant longing for a homeland lost. In so doing, the author advances the debate on the relationship between diaspora and the creation of national identity as well as on nationalist politics tied to a particular territory. But The Palestinian Diaspora also sheds light on the possibilities opened up by a transnational existence, the possibility of new, less territorialized identities, even in a diaspora as bound to the idea of an idealized homeland as the Palestinian.
Palestinian Music and Song by Moslih Kanaaneh (Editor); Stig-Magnus Thorsén (Editor); Heather Bursheh (Editor); David A. McDonald (Editor)
ISBN: 9780253011138
Publication Date: 2013-11-07
Drawing from a long history of indigenous traditions and incorporating diverse influences of surrounding cultures, music in Palestine and among the millions of Palestinians in diaspora offers a unique window on cultural and political events of the past century. From the perspective of scholars, performers, composers, and activists, Palestinian Music and Song examines the many ways in which music has been a force of representation, nation building, and social action.