Represent: UNLV Community Selected Collection

Suggested for the collection because: "The book highlights how a lot of technology is designed for people with disabilities without their input, which can end up being more harmful than helpful. It brings in a perspective that’s too often overlooked and pushes you to think deeper about what true inclusion and accessibility look like."

Suggested for the collection because: "Clarice Lispector was a popular Ukrainian-Brazilian writer who expressed herself through fashion and art. "Agua Viva" is a short story that is good for getting people into the creative mindset"

Suggested for the collection because: "Wanted to share the delicious food I grew up eating. There are not a lot of Guatemalan restaurants in the area. This book keeps my heart close to home. "

Suggested for the collection because: " Las Vegas has multiple anime conventions we are known for hosting conventions in this city so I think it is only natural that we also have an array of manga collections in our library to accommodate for our anime-loving community. "

Suggested for the collection because: "The book includes an interview I gave with regards to being a black woman in academia at a minority-serving institution. It also includes interviews from other BIPOC design educators who teach at institutions around the globe. "

Suggested for the collection because: "It’s so cool to see familiar film moments in a new perspective, the photography is beautiful, and the blurbs talking about how impactful the project was for those involved were inspiring. "

Suggested for the collection because: "This book represents the struggles of young Gay men finding their identity and being preyed upon. As a faculty member, and author telling the story of coming out on the other side of a downward spiral, I think this book represents the diversity, history and experiences that I and many gay males can relate to."

Suggested for the collection because: "Las Vegas has a large Mexican population and many local high schools offer Ballet Folklorico as an elective. We also have a few folklorico dance companies in Las Vegas, "

Selected for the collection because: "I read this book as for my Anthropology class, and I found myself connecting with the author despite our vast differences. The author puts so much emphasis on understanding Apache living not in a wide historical scope, but in a very intimate and personal perspective. You learn about her life through old family stories and experiences; as if you were a friend. I felt not much different from her thanks to her stories, which is a skill that deserves recognition."

Suggested for the collection because: "Diana Kennedy is the most important author of Mexican cookbooks written in English. She received the Order of the Aztec Eagle which is the highest honor a foreigner can receive in Mexico. She devoted her life to preserving Mexican ingredients, plants, and recipes, and her death in 2022 was an incredible loss to the culinary world. We do not have a single one of her cookbooks in our collection, and we should."

Suggested for the collection because:" When I watched this movie for the first time, it was such an out of body experience. It really was a movie that not only kept you entertained but made you think. The worldwide enjoyment of the film is very well known by now. With its powerful representation and overall message I think it would perfectly fit UNLV's collection. Being such a diverse campus already, we ourselves can be an everything bagel."

Suggested for the collection because: "This book is hefty on existentialism and made me think about my life and the different effects I had on other people. I'm not very religious, but this book expands upon the question of "What happens when you die?". A series of lessons and fictional experiences develop in this book but could reflect our realistic well-being as a whole. I picked up this book for a random project but came out of it very astonished for some time. Even if it doesn't have the same impact as others, it does give acknowledgment to theoretical life lessons. "

Suggested for the collection because: "This is a must read book for any Latinx woman in higher education. A powerful self reflection on identity, politics, immigration, faith, and what it means to be your authentic self."

Suggested for the collection because: "I've used since 2021 for AAS (African American Survey) 101 classes (IGES); features up to date, comprehensive interdisciplinary research sources ranging from African Origins to Hip Hop & BLM movements."

Suggested for the collection because: "Although I'm white and am not Muslim, as a lesbian I identified with this story of balancing faith and family with identity. It's beautifully written, and it's gorgeously structured, unlike many memoirs. "

Suggested for the collection because: "I'm the parent of a trans adult and feel that the library lacks sufficient representation from this community. I also believe this fits well into the libraries' DEI efforts."

Suggested for the collection because: "I read a lot of manga - mostly Shonen - and Fujimoto's works have their own feel/style about it. At times, his style feels more like you're looking at panels of a film reel rather than a book, due to Fujimoto's love of film and media (inside and outside of Japan).

'Look Back' is about two young girls - Fujino and Kyomoto - who draw comics for the school newspaper forming a relationship, developing their own art skills, and becoming successful manga artists (mangaka). After a falling out, the two go their separate ways until tragedy strikes."

Selected for the collection because: "The author is a prominent Journalist and I found this read fascinating from his journalistic point of view on people left behind in our society. But also a good read on family dynamics, what's it's like to growing up in a family with no mother and a father who is a veteran and the struggles that he had. "

Suggested for the collection because: "This is a classic Japanese film that nearly ever child in Japan has watched. It is a great representation of a family in postwar Japan and Japanese culture overall. "

Suggested for the collection because: "This is the only book in English about haijichi tattoos, the traditional hand tattoos of Okinawan or Ryukyuan women. The tattoos were banned by the Japanese government in an attempt to erase Okinawan culture, but young Okinawans are starting to bring the tradition back. There are many Okinawan Americans living in Hawaii (like the author of this book), and there are of course many people from Hawaii in Las Vegas. The largest library of the 9th island should have this beautiful picture book in its collection"

Suggested for the collection because: " I was unable to find any books set in Nicaragua or written by Nicaraguan authors that were published in the 2020s in our collection. Since we have a large Hispanic population in Las Vegas, it would be wonderful to include more contemporary fiction that represents various Latin American countries! "

Suggested for the collection because: "This book (both the English and Spanish version) was like a hug that I didn't know I needed and the kind of acceptance and empowerment I wish my family had given me."

Suggested for the collection because: "As a mixed race person, I would love to see more books that represent me in the collection. This a favorite of mine and I would love for more students to be exposed to it. "

Selected for the collection because: "Kali Fajardo-Anstine’s debut collection highlights the lives of Latinas of Indigenous descent in the American West. Through rich storytelling, it explores themes of motherhood, friendship, and cultural connection, offering a unique glimpse into the resilience of Hispanic women navigating both land and identity."

Suggested for the collection because: "Patricia Grace is one of few Maori female authors and UNLV libraries only has 18 total books by Maori authors. "Potiki" is a classic about Maori culture and fight for survival in New Zealand"

Suggested for the collection because: "The first time I read this memoir, it had such a profound impact on me, and I hear the same thing from others who have read it. It shows the resiliency of adults who have lived through difficult childhoods, finding humor in dark places, and learning to accept yourself as a unique individual. When I read this as a young gay man, I remember it being one of the first characters I could identify with, even though my own life wasn't nearly as traumatic as the author's. "

Suggested for the collection because: "Kali Fajardo-Anstine’s debut collection highlights the lives of Latinas of Indigenous descent in the American West. Through rich storytelling, it explores themes of motherhood, friendship, and cultural connection, offering a unique glimpse into the resilience of Hispanic women navigating both land and identity."

Suggested for the collection because: "This is a superb Middle Eastern fantasy written by Middle Eastern Americans."

Suggested for the collection because: "This is the compelling story of local Black women who built one of the most successful anti-poverty programs in the country. After fighting the State of Nevada and Clark County with marches on the Strip, eat-ins at well known resorts, and kidnapping the head of the local welfare office, they morphed the movement into Operation Life. From the mid-1970s to 1992, Ruby Duncan, Mary Wesley, Emma Stampley, Essie Henderson, and many others started the WIC program, a senior housing complex, the first library in the Las Vegas Black community, and a medical clinic for children. Their sheroism stands as a critical lesson about what can be achieved when we work together using any means necessary."

Suggested for the collection because: "Sandra Cisneros is a very important author for both women and Latina representation."

Suggested for the collection because: "It's a fun and well written book to empower and teach children to be themselves and embrace their curiosity and energy. "

Suggested for the collection because: "Gabrielle Union is a strong, badass, gorgeous woman...then you read this book and realize she is also hilarious, vulnerable, and even stronger than you thought. It's funny, entertaining, empowering, uplifting, and a little heartbreaking. "