LibGuides: Research Foundations: Home

About this guide

This guide contains books and links to resources at UNLV that will help you undertake research. Topics covered include:

Research methods and design, including survey design
Quantitative and qualitative data analysis
Links to relevant information and guidelines from the
UNLV Division of Research
Grant writing tips
Guides to writing for publication, including deciding where to publish

Database of content

Sage Research Methods contains books, videos, podcasts and mapping tools that can help you learn about research methods and design all in one place. It is not tailored to any one discipline, but the foundational knowledge can be applied across disciplines.

SAGE Research Methods
Good for: Designing research projects, planning studies, learning methodological approaches, gathering data, and understanding findings.
Contains: Tools and content for research methods.

A collection of real social research case studies is incorporated to help understand abstract methodological concepts in practice. Datasets from both international and national sources accompanied by how-to guides covering numerous quantitative and qualitative research methods are included. SRM contains more than 600 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, journal articles, videos, and handbooks as well as the entire Little Green Book (quantitative) and Little Blue Book (qualitative) series. A taxonomy of over 1400 methods terms is featured along with a Methods Map which visualizes relationships among methods terms, concepts, people, and literature. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.

Research Foundations

Contact us

About this guide

Database of content

Locations

Contact