Good for: Finding newspaper articles about news and events in California, particularly the entertainment industry.
Contains: Newspaper articles.
Dates covered: 1881-2016.
Good for: Accounts of life, culture and historical events reported in newspapers from every U.S. state.
Contains: Historical newspapers.
Dates covered: 1690-1923.
Good for: Searching for articles in the San Francisco Chronicle newspaper.
Contains: Newspaper articles.
Dates covered: Page images for 1865-1984; article text only for 1985-present.
Good for: Finding newspaper articles in Reno Gazette-Journal (1876-2008), San Francisco Examiner (1889-2007), and Spokane Statesman-Review (1894-2009); also includes selected 20th century newspapers from St. George, UT, and Tulare County and Salinas, CA.
Contains: Newspaper pages.
Dates covered: 1876-2010.
Good for: News and commentary by and for Hispanic American communities in Arizona, California, New Mexico, Texas and New York.
Contains: Newspapers.
Dates covered: 1808-1980.
Good for: Finding national periodicals, local community news and student publications from an Indigenous perspective.
Contains: Newspaper pages.
Dates covered: 1828-2016.
Good for: Searching American magazines and journals published mostly before 1900.
Contains: Magazines and journals.
Dates covered: 1740-1940.
Good for: Searching articles published in popular 19th century magazines, newspapers, and journals in the United States.
Contains: Periodicals.
Dates covered: 1684-1912.
All states:
Western states:
Residents with a Las Vegas - Clark County Library District card can access the following online newspaper archives.
Las Vegas Review-Journal historical collection - 1929-1996 (Newsbank)
Las Vegas Review Journal, 1996-present - (Newsbank)
Las Vegas Sun, 1962-1977 available in NewspaperArchive.com
Good for: Researching historical news in Las Vegas.
Contains: Page images of the Las Vegas Review-Journal.
Dates covered: 1929-1996.
Want to try fancy Boolean search operators to search the newspaper collections more precisely?
| AND, OR, NOT |
AND narrows searches by returning only content that includes both key terms. Any number of words can be joined by the AND operator. OR will show results for either or both keywords. NOT narrows a search by eliminating specific aspects of a search. Use NOT to: Include one term, and not the other, such as palms NOT tree. Eliminate irrelevant articles, such as Mexico NOT "New Mexico." |
| (parentheses) | (cat AND dog) OR mouse will find articles that contain cat and dog OR those that contain the word mouse, regardless of whether they contain cat and dog. (cat) AND (dog or mouse) will find articles that contain the words cat and dog OR cat and mouse. |
| "exact phrase" | Use quotation marks to search an exact phrase - "Cashman Field" finds Cashman Field, not James Cashman or Cashman Elementary. |
| *, ? | Wildcards: danc* will find dancers, dancing, dance; wom?n will find items containing woman or women. Wildcards cannot be used within quotations or with proximity operators. |
| NEARx | x=number of words. Showroom NEAR5 Frontier finds sentences mentioning both a showroom and the Frontier Hotel (or Last Frontier, or Nissan Frontier). |
| ADJx | ADJ finds terms adjacent. Lee ADJ2 Oswald will return results for both Lee Oswald and Lee Harvey Oswald. Note that x equals the number of words between the two terms. |
Las Vegas Age
Las Vegas Sun
Las Vegas Review Journal
Good for: Researching historical news in Las Vegas.
Contains: Page images of the Las Vegas Review-Journal.
Dates covered: 1929-1996.
Good for: Searching the text of articles published in the Las Vegas Review-Journal.
Contains: Article text (no images).
Dates covered: 1996-present.
Las Vegas Sentinel-Voice
Valley Times
UNLV Student Newspaper
Online Access to Las Vegas Newspapers - summary by date
Indexing for Las Vegas Newspapers
