LibGuides: Honors 100 Jerinic-Pravica: Library Guides

Teaching and Learning Librarian

Mark Lenker

Email Me

Contact:

4505 South Maryland Pkwy.
Box 457001
Las Vegas, Nevada
89154-7001
mark.lenker@unlv.edu

702-895-2248

Subjects: General Education Core (GSC)

Problems with online access?

Off-Campus Access to Library Materials
Tips for using our resources from off campus.

Discipline-specific databases for scholarly literature

ABI/Inform
Articles and reports in advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers and information on 25 million companies.
APA PsycInfo
The American Psychological Association's international psychology database indexes journal articles, books and dissertations.
Art Full Text
Art, architecture, photography, graphic design, landscape architecture, interior design, film, museology are all covered. Limited to 12 simultaneous users.

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1982-
The main index for nursing literature and allied health.
Update frequency: weekly
The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature is an index to literature in nursing and allied health. This database provides indexing, abstracting, and full text for over 1,600 current nursing and allied health journals and publications dating back to 1982, totaling over 700,000 records.

SocINDEX with Full Text
Indexes the literature of sociology and related disciplines. Encompasses all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, and many others.
SportDISCUS with Full Text
Journal articles and more about all aspects of sports, physical education and sports medicine. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.

Suggestion for finding popular sources, especially newspapers

US Newsstream
A convenient database for finding newspapers. Use the date limiter to narrow to recent information. Use the Publication Title filter to limit to prominent titles.

Search Terms

General or Specific	Terms for Art	Terms for Evolution and Adaptation
Most general	art	evolution, natural selection, Darwin
General	dance	well-being, fitness, coping, social, psychological
Specific	social dance	cognition, creativity, social inclusion/belonging (isolation/loneliness), influence/persuasion, sexual attractiveness
Most specific	ballroom dance, hip-hop, salsa	IQ, academic achievement, bullying, friendship, manipulation/propaganda, dating, romantic relationships

Note that it is possible to combine general terms for art and specific terms for adaptations, traits, or behaviors, and vice versa. For example, a search for dance AND cognition uncovers a wealth of research sources.

Also note that it can be productive to search for information on:

art terms and adaptation terms in combination: theater AND psychology
art terms and adaptation terms individually: hip-hop AND history

"Picking Your Topic is Research"

"Picking Your Topic is Research"
NCSU Library's excellent tutorial introduces the adjustments that researchers typically make when they are starting to learn more about their topic. (3 minutes, 10 seconds)

Finding Articles

Finding Books (including E-books)

Popular or Scholarly?

Compare this piece of science journalism (a popular source) with this article from a peer-reviewed journal (a scholarly source -- look at the PDF version). Just skim, don't read the whole thing closely. Note the following features of each piece:

What can you tell about the authors’ credentials?
What guarantees do you have about the quality of the information?
What level of detail does the article share? What kinds of details (generally speaking)?
What can you tell about where each article gets its information?
Which article seems more impressive? Why?

Honors 100 Jerinic-Pravica: Library Guides