LibGuides: Film 450 (Eden) spring 2022: Las Vegas attire, 1950s-1970s

Nevada photo collections

UNLV Special Collections & Archives Portal
New search portal allows searching of digitized special collections materials as well as finding aids for physical collections.
Nevada State Museum, Las Vegas Online Collections
Online collections include Helen Stewart papers, Benny Binion papers, Volunteer Fire Department archives, and thousands of photos.
Digital Public Library of America
Searches through online photos from libraries, museums and archives across the US.
PastPerfect
Search digital objects from museum and cultural heritage collections.

Databases

Catalogs

Trade Catalogues and the American Home This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1850-1950
Primary sources like catalogs, price lists, and brochures reflecting the history of consumer advertising and marketing and life and leisure in America. Includes department store catalogs, cosmetic advertisements, real estate brochures and much more.

Department store catalogs from Internet Archive
WishbookWeb
Fan site with scanned holiday catalogs from 1933-1988

Magazines

Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1892-
Images and text from Vogue Magazine
Women's Wear Daily Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1910-
Comprehensive archive of Women’s Wear Daily (WWD), the leading fashion-industry trade paper.
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1887-2005
American women's magazines including Better Homes and Gardens, Chatelaine, Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, Parents Magazine, Seventeen, Cosmopolitan and Essence.
Harper's Bazaar Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1867-
Harper's Bazaar magazine shows changes in American fashion, culture and society.
Historical Periodicals from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1740-1940 with some more recent
Search all ProQuest historical periodical collections simultaneously.

American Periodicals‎ (1740 - 1940)
British Periodicals‎ (1681 - 1939)
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive‎ (1880 - 2000)
The Harper's Bazaar Archive‎ (1867 - current)
Periodicals Archive Online‎
The Vogue Archive‎
Women's Magazine Archive‎ (1846 - 2005)
The Women's Wear Daily Archive‎

Life magazine, 1936-1972
Be sure to check "search all issues"

Newspapers

Las Vegas Review Journal Archive (1929-1996) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
3/30/1929-present
Nevada daily newspaper. 1929-1996 is page images only; 1997- is article text only, no images.
Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times, 1881-1997 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1881-1997
Historical California newspaper.
Historical U.S. Newspapers from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1841-2000 with some more recent
Search all ProQuest U.S. historical newspaper collections simultaneously.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender‎ (1909 - 1975)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune‎ (1849 - 1993)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Christian Science Monitor‎ (1908 - 2003)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times‎ (1881 - 1993)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times‎ (1851 - 2013)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Tribune‎ (1841 - 1922)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post‎ (1877 - 2000)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: U.S. West, including Reno Gazette-Journal (1876-2008), San Francisco Examiner (1889-2007), and Spokane Statesman-Review (1894-2009)

Web search ideas

Web Video

YouTube is a gold mine for searching home video footage. You might try searching for a year and a broad term like "las vegas". Aim for primary sources like footage from newsreels or films - but remember that sources created for entertaining audiences can't always be taken at face value.

Associated Press Newsreels
Try searching "Las Vegas" and a year or the name of a specific hotel
British Movietone digital archive
1895 to 1986. Try "Las Vegas"
British Pathe
Kino Library

Online Photo Sources

American Memory. U.S. Library of Congress
Offers more than 7 million "sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience" drawn from more than 100 collections.
Costume Institute (Metropolitan Museum of Art)
Over 35,000 images of historical and contemporary fashion and costume.
Life Photo Archive
Millions of news and editorial photographs and other images dating from 1750 to the present. Includes many iconic images, but most were never published.
Smithsonian Photography Initiative
Online database of photographs dating from the 1850s to the present. Subjects cover the arts and literature, culture and society, nature and science, industry and technology, history and geography. Includes both professional photos and amateur snapshots.
NYPL Digital Photo Collections
Includes several fashion design collections as well as many historical photos from the NY Public Library.
Time Life pictures
Search and view photos published in Time Life publications