LibGuides: SWK 715 (Farris): Human Behavior and the Social Environment I

UNLV Quick Search

Check out UNLV Library's Quick Search!

http://www.library.unlv.edu/

How Quick Search is similar to Google

Single search box
Prompts for spelling errors

How Quick Search is superior to Google

Sort, rank, and refine your results
Results that come from reliable library source
Built-in citation feature to help you cite your sources in the correct style
Allows you to save and share your results

UNLV Library Databases

As you are searching the databases for scholarly articles--try a variety of keywords and synonyms. Below are a few examples for assignment #1:

domestic abuse and effects on children
grandparents raising grandchildren and coping
alzheimer's disease and caregiver stress

**Remember to search a wide range of keywords and synonyms

EBSCO Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 30 databases indexing all subject areas with a heavy focus on business, education, film, health, psychology, sociology, and sports.
Lists more than 30 databases available through the EBSCOhost interface. The databases index all subject areas with solid coverage of business, education, film, health, psychology, sociology, and sports. For each database there is a description of the content and some link to a Title List of indexed journals. The databases contain full text articles and link to more articles. Choose a single database to search or select multiple databases and search them simultaneously
AgeLine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1978-
Abstracts on social gerontology. Also includes health care, public policy, employment, and consumer issues.
Produced by the American Association of Retired Persons (AARP), this database includes citations with abstracts drawn from the literature in social gerontology -- the study of aging in social, psychological, health-related, and economic contexts. Health care, public policy, employment and consumer issues are particularly well-covered.
Child Development and Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current and historical literature related to growth and development of children.
Child Development & Adolescent Studies provides citations to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. Book reviews, abstracts from hundreds of journals, technical reports, books, book chapters, and theses and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide are indexed. Use this resource to search all issues of Child Development Abstracts and Bibliography.
Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
citations 1861-; abstracts 1980-; full text 1997-
Full text of most dissertations produced after 1997; citations and abstracts for others.
Update frequency: Updated quarterly
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses contains over 1.5 million entries, providing citations to North American and European dissertations from 1861 forward, with abstracts from 1980 forward. It also provides citations and abstracts for theses from 1988 forward. Full text of UNLV theses and dissertations available from 1996 to the present. Full text from all other institutions available from 1997 to the present.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1970-
Journal articles recording research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of family science, human ecology, human development, and social welfare.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide, produced by NISC, is a core resource providing the most comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. FSSW covers popular issues as well as meeting the requirements of professionals in all fields of social work, social science and family practice. Coverage spans from 1970 to the present indexing publications from a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history and social work.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1950s-
Abstracts of current research in social work, human services, social policy, and community development.
Social Services Abstracts identify and summarize current research in social work, human services, social policy, and community development.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1977-
Access limited to 4 simultaneous users
Journal articles about all areas of social work from professional journals.
Update frequency: semi-annually
From the National Association of Social Workers, this database provides access to professional journal articles about social work from all areas of the profession.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1895-
Indexes the literature of sociology and related disciplines.
Includes full text for selected journals, monographs, and conference papers and contains full text for over 325 journals dating back to 1895. Encompasses all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, and many others.
Sociology: A Sage Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1987-
Full text journals covering contemporary sociology, ethnic studies, gender studies, social theory, the sociology of sport and the sociology of work.
This collection includes the full text of 28 journals, some going back 20 years, covering over 10,000 articles. This searchable database covers such subjects as contemporary sociology, ethnic studies, gender studies, social theory, the sociology of sport and the sociology of work. Each bibliographic record in the collection links to the full text article in PDF format.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable articles from academic and professional journals and magazines covering every academic discipline.
Update frequency: Updated daily
This excellent one-stop resource lets you search citations and summaries by keyword and then instantly retrieve the full text of articles from journals online. The Get Text button helps you locate any article without linked full text in alternate online sources or in UNLV's print journal collection.

Google Scholar

What is Google Scholar?
Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. Google Scholar searches a variety of undisclosed academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. The full text of many items is freely available online, although in some instances abstracts with links to pay-per-view document delivery services are displayed.

Evaluating Info & Scholarly vs. Popular Sources

Scholarly/Popular

Assignment #2: Self-Reflection/Transition

In addition to Quick Search, EBSCO databases, government resources, and Google Scholar, you may want to check out the following think tanks:

Pew Research Center
"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world."
more...less...
Look into social trends, as well as trying keywords in the search box.
Brookings.edu
RAND.org
Harvard Think Tank Search
Think Tank Search searches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. These sites are affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, non-governmental organizations, and businesses. Inclusion is based upon the relevancy of subject area to HKS coursework and scholarship, the availability of the think tank’s research in full-text on the website, and the think tank’s reputation and influence upon policy making. The list represents a mixture of partisan and non-partisan think tanks.
Annie E. Casey Foundation
Kids Count Data Center

So--let's say your transition was this: parents divorcing when you were an adolescent
You may want to try the following keywords on Quick Search & other databases:
divorce AND adolescents

divorce AND teenagers

parents AND divorce AND effects AND children (you may also want to change children to adolescents/teenagers)

Below are some examples of scholarly, popular, government, and think tank sources:

Divorce Disclosures and Adolescents' Physical and Mental Health and Parental Relationship Quality (scholarly article)
Marriage and Divorce (Pew Research Center)
Resource includes many articles, studies, surveys, etc., on marriage & divorce.
Marriage and Divorce Data & Statistics (CDC.gov)
How Parental Divorce Can Impact Adolescence Now and Later
On the PsychologyToday.com website (a popular source)--but the article is written by a psychologist (PhD).
Effects of parental divorce on teenage children's risk behaviors: Incidence and persistence (scholarly article)

Tools for Your Literature Review" Tips & Video

"Lit Review 101"

A literature review asks: What do we know - or not know - about this particular issue/ topic/ subject?

How well you answer this question depends upon:

the effectiveness of your search for information
the quality & reliability of the sources you choose
your ability to synthesize the sources you select

Visualizing "The Literature" and "The Review"
Search for literature reviews in the UNLV Libraries databases! Check out these 2 examples:

RefWorks

RefWorks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliography manager saves your citations and formats them into APA, MLA, or other styles.
This web-based bibliography manager lets you save citations to journal articles, books, web sites and more into your personal online database. You'll be able to quickly link to online articles, organize and share your references, and automatically create formatted bibliographies in all the major citation formats, including APA, MLA, and Chicago styles. Off-campus users, see the Using RefWorks at UNLV page for special instructions.

ProQuest RefWorks Extensive Guide

What is RefWorks?

RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic software package that enables you to:

Organize your research
Create a bibliography in a variety of citation styles, including APA, MLA and Chicago
Import references from many data sources
Create bibliographies in different document formats (Word, RTF, HTML, etc.)
Include citations while you write your paper

"New" RefWorks Instructions

Citation Resources

APA Overview: PPT (updated for 7th Edition), including potentially tricky examples such as book chapters and secondary citations.
APA 7th Edition Quick Reference Guide
From APA, color-coded explanation of journal, book, and book chapter references (pdf).

Other Resources:

APA Style and Grammar Guidelines
From APA: Detailed instructions and examples from the 7th edition
Tutorial: Basics of Seventh Edition APA Style
from APA
Free DOI Lookup Tool
Provides a DOI for an article citation when one is available.
Is it Plagiarism Yet? (Purdue OWL)
Explains when to give credit to another person for their intellectual work (and how to do it correctly). Look for the "Quoting, Paraphrasing, and Summarizing" section on the left for examples of each.

Finding Government Information

Government information focusing on social work-related topics is abundant. You can also use Google to find government information. After you type in your keywords, then type in site:.gov after the keywords to limit to only government information.

Example: foster care site:.gov

Example: "child maltreatment" statistics site:.gov

Below are some general federal & state agency websites to get you started:

Subject Guide

Susie Skarl, Urban Affairs Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

UNLV Libraries
Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Box 457014
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7014
susie.skarl@unlv.edu

702-895-2141

Subjects: Communication Studies, Couple & Family Therapy, Criminal Justice, Crisis & Emergency Management, Government Information, Journalism & Media Studies, Public Administration, Social Work, Urban Studies

SWK 715 (Farris): Human Behavior and the Social Environment I

Link to McGoldrick E-Book and PowerPoint