It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
FAB 467 Restaurant Management and Operations: Restaurant & Dining Room Management
Application of established standards, techniques, and practices of restaurant management and operations. Students participate in the management, sales, production, and service of meals in varied environments including fine dining, casual table service, an
At Your Service by John W. Fischer; Culinary Institute of America (CIA) StaffThe book can be used as a reference guide for a variety of foodservice personnel as well as a text for students. As competition for the customer's spending dollar has increased, contemporary restaurants must distinguish themselves by training staff to manage the needs of the customer and to offer consistent service. Service and hospitality mean different things to different foodservice operations, and this book addresses a wide range of mid- and up-scale dining establishments. Chapters cover everything from preparation for service and front-door hospitality to money handling, styles of modern table service, and the relationship between the front- and back-of-the-house. At Your Service uses real-life anecdotes to teach the basic principles of service and hospitality, and this new edition includes the most updated information on serving customers in the contemporary restaurant world.
Publication Date: 2005-09-09
Remarkable Service by Culinary Institute of America (CIA) StaffTransforming service into extraordinary guest experiences--with repeat business the reward For the past decade, Remarkable Service has been the most comprehensive guide to standard-setting restaurant service techniques and principles. This all-new edition features a completely reorganized, updated look at table service and foodservice management, from setting up a dining room and taking guests' orders to executing wine service and handling customer complaints. With straightforward advice from The Culinary Institute of America's expert table service and foodservice management faculty, Remarkable Service, Third Edition offers new "Scripts for Service Scenarios" throughout to help servers practice such real-world scenarios as recommending a dish, taking reservations, and dealing with special requests. This book also addresses the service needs of a wide range of dining establishments, from casual and outdoor dining to upscale restaurants and catering operations. Chapters cover everything from training and hiring staff, preparation for service, and front-door hospitality to money handling, styles of modern table service, and the relationship between the front and back of the house. Foreword by restaurateur Danny Meyer, whose restaurants are legendary for their world-class service Respected industry-wide as a contemporary reference guide and refresher for foodservice professionals
Publication Date: 2014-02-10
The Professional Server by Edward E. Sanders; Marcella GiannasioFor undergraduate Culinary and Hospitality courses that focus on dining room service training, and banquet, catering, and buffet service training Complete coverage of all aspects of dining room service, with real-life examples and updated information on technology in the industry. In The Professional Server, students get an introduction to the many aspects of being a professional server, and experienced servers get an excellent reference to consult for various techniques and service situations they face in their day-to-day work. This popular resource features easy-to-read, self-contained chapters, which flow in a logical sequence and allow flexibility in teaching and learning. Coverage includes areas such as professional appearance, guest communication, table settings, food, wine, and beverage service, and current technologies. Restaurant Reality stories and step-by-step photographs give students an insider's look into what makes an effective server.
Publication Date: 2017-02-09
Professional Table Service by Sylvia MeyerProfessional Table Service spells out the rules and techniques of table service: pre-opening preparation, proper use of equipment, and the correct ways of serving and communicating with customers.
Call Number: TX881 .M4813 1991 5th Floor
Publication Date: 1991-11-01
Restaurant Management by Robert Christie MillFor courses in Introduction to Food and Beverage Operations, Culinary Management, and Food and Beverage Management. Restaurant Management: Customers, Operations, and Employees, Third Edition, identifies the crucial elements involved in the operation of a restaurant, and their interrelationships that are necessary to achieve success. Structured around the three parts of the meal experience-the customers, the operation (consisting of food, beverage and the physical facility) and the employees-the book examines how to effectively manage an existing restaurant operation. This edition continues its strong coverage of marketing, promotions, and employment issues, and captures the essential elements needed to produce satisfied customers and a profitable restaurant operation.
Call Number: TX911.3.M24 M55 2007
Publication Date: 2006-07-14
The Restaurant: from Concept to Operation by John R. WalkerThe Restaurant: From Concept to Operation, 7th Edition takes the reader from the initial idea to the grand opening. It features comprehensive, applications-based coverage of all aspects of developing, opening, and running a restaurant. This includes topics such as staffing, legal and regulatory concerns, cost control and general financing, marketing and promotion, equipment and design, the menu, sanitation, and concept. A one-stop guide to the restaurant business, the Seventh Edition of Walker's, The Restaurant continues the success of previous editions, providing, in an easy-to-read way, all of the skills and information needed to master every challenge and succeed in this highly competitive and rewarding industry. Each chapter has been revised, updated, and enhanced with numerous industry examples, sidebars, charts, tables, photographs, and menus. Greater emphasis is placed on restaurant business plans, restaurant management, and restaurant operations. The themes of sustainability and sustainable restaurant management have been added throughout. The Seventh Edition includes new sections on purchasing meat, cocktails, and the early history of eating out. All of this information will help restaurant owners make the decisions necessary to build a thriving business.