About
This guide supports the work of participants in the Libraries Faculty Institute for Research-Based Learning.
Cookbooks
Library terminology
- Library terminology definitionsDefinitions of common library jargon from ACRL.
- Library terms in Spanish
Using databases
Your liaison librarian can help your students learn to choose the right database or library resource and how to start with a concept and develop effective keywords. Groups of 35 or fewer can schedule a classroom visit, or librarians can visit larger classes to work with students on your particular assignment.
How to reject items
How to reject items from a list of search results - evaluating sources from the citation/abstract - make better choices of which items to pursue
- Evaluating Information tutorial from Cardiff UniversityOnline tutorial with activities about why to reject search results based on an info need - takes 15 minutes to complete.
- Internet DetectiveOnline training module for college students about evaluating web sites - look at the "Detective Work" section, which encourages students to
* Take a case-by-case approach
* Ask questions (who, what, where) and look for clues
* Weigh up the evidence to make a judgement - Evaluating Search Results worksheetThis page starts with a look at search results from an academic database and shows ways to choose the most relevant. From Glendale College.
- Distinguishing Scholarly and Popular SourcesHandout from UNLV Libraries helping students identify scholarly sources.
- Evaluating InformationHandout from UNLV Libraries with guidelines for evaluating Web sites and library resources.
From topic to question
From topic to question - forming a research question, forming a researchable question
- Narrowing a research questionSection of a tutorial from the Univ. of Washington focusing on question analysis.
- Question analysis worksheet (PDF)Worksheet with columns to add specificity to a general topic - asks students to identify where, when and who and other facets and then frame the topic as a question.
- concept mapping - video
- Select a topic brainstorm/worksheet (PDF)Worksheet for US History students to refine a topic to a research question that could be adapted as a homework assignment.
Library Assignments from EDU 280
Librarians collaborated with education faculty to create these two assignments for Education 280 Valuing Cultural Diversity in which students write a 6-7 page paper investigating alternative perspectives on why something is occurring with particular attention to cultural perspectives other than their own. Students must use six sources for this paper, two of which must be from the perspective of the cultural group being analysed. The concept map helps students move from a topic to a research question, and the source table structures the process of evaluating and using or rejecting sources. The rubric was used to grade the assignment.
Reading scholarly articles
- Reading an Academic Article by Dr. Becky RosenbergSingle page of questions to help students identify the claim of an article and then assess the validity of the argument.
- Critical Reading Towards Critical WritingPractical guide with advice on reading to discover ways of thinking instead of merely reading to collect information. The last section will be helpful for students who need help integrating sources into their own writing.
- How to Read College TextsSection from online college writing text on reading academic texts, skimming, and note-taking.
- How to read research critically - an introductionOnline tutorial covers reading published research in the sciences and social sciences critically, including asking questions as you read.
- "How to Read Scientific Research Articles: A Hands-On Classroom Exercise" Description of an in-class activity to engage students in critical reading and discussion of scientific research articles.
How to paraphrase
- How to paraphrase Purdue OWL
- When to quote and when to paraphraseExtensive handout from University of Houston, Victoria with guidelines on quoting, paraphrasing, summarizing and citing sources.
- Incorporating Sources section of Writing Your PaperExcellent section on quoting, paraphrasing, and incorporating sources.
Realistic strategies for scaling
Moving from 30 to 130 students
- Designing Effective Group Activities: Lessons for Classroom Teaching and Faculty Development (PDF)Adapted from: Michaelsen, L. K., Fink, L. D., & Knight, A. Designing Effective Group Activities: Lessons for Classroom Teaching and Faculty Development. In To Improve the Academy: Resources for Faculty, Instructional and Organizational Development, 1997. DeZure, D. (Ed.). Stillwater, OK: New Forums
- Grouping in the Dark: What College Students Learn from Group ProjectsThe Journal of Higher Education, Vol. 71, No. 1 (Jan. - Feb., 2000), pp. 60-83
- Peer Assessment Between Students in Colleges and UniversitiesTopping REVIEW OF EDUCATIONAL RESEARCH.1998; 68: 249-276
You Suggest One
Customizable help docs
Getting Engaged
How to engage literature/articles in the context of the discipline - see connections across articles
- The Literature Review: A Few Tips On Conducting ItDetailed guidelines for writing a literature review, targeted to health sciences students.
- Writing a lit review for psychology (PDF)Handout from University of Washington for psych students.
- Why do a literature review?Description of lit review process as it fits into a thesis, but has a good bullet list to model different ways of engaging with scholarship.
- Reviews of LiteratureSection of writing handbook from U Wisconsin describing simple steps for a review of literature - generic enough to be used in lower level classes for annotated bibliography type assignments.
Close the loop
Close the loop - how to get students to actually use the LIBRARY for research, not just the open internet.
- UNLV Libraries LibGuidesSubject specific web pages assembled by UNLV librarians to point students to valuable books, databases, and web sources of information. Ask your liaison about making a custom guide for your course!
- UNLV Libraries Services for Teaching FacultyPut items on reserve, plan a library visit, request a library purchase and more links for faculty
- UNLV Libraries WebCampus ToolkitWebCampus Toolkit to assist liaisons with connecting with students using WebCampus
- REINVENTING UNDERGRADUATE EDUCATION: A Blueprint for America's Research UniversitiesBoyer Commission on Educating Undergraduates in the Research University
Learning Outcome Information
Learning outcomes and information literacy standards:

Submit
Loading...
