Skip to main content

Online Movies & Streaming Video

Guide to the Libraries' licensed collections of streaming video and other sources. The collections provide access to thousands of educational videos, documentaries and feature films on a variety of subjects.

Select List of Collections & Services

  • American Experience  
    PBS's history series "brings to life the incredible characters and epic stories that have shaped America’s past and present."
  • American Masters  
    American Masters is "committed to producing comprehensive film biographies about the broad cast of characters who comprise our cultural history."
  • Annenberg Learner  
    "Annenberg Learner's multimedia resources help teachers increase their expertise in their fields and assist them in improving their teaching methods. Many programs are also intended for students in the classroom and viewers at home. All Annenberg Learner videos exemplify excellent teaching."
  • Archive of American Television  
    Founded in 1997, the Television Academy Foundation’s Archive of American Television has conducted over 700 oral history interviews (over 3000 hours) with the legends of television. These interviews chronicle the birth and growth of American TV History as it evolves, and make the interviews available worldwide. The Archive continues to produce new interviews every year. The collection covers a variety of professions, genres, and topics in electronic media history.
  • BBC Archive  
    Themed collections of audio and video clips from the British Broadcasting Corporation archive on topics including WWII, fashion, working-class life, coal mining, the National Health Service, and more.
  • Can I Stream.it?  
    CanIStream.It is a free service created by Urban Pixels that allows you to search across the most popular streaming, rental, and purchase services to find where a movie is available. If the movie you're looking for is not available, just sign-up, set a reminder and voila we will shoot you an email when your chosen service makes the movie available. It's simple and fast.
  • C-SPAN Video Library  
    The C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses. Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, totaling over 199,000 hours, is contained in the C-SPAN Archives
  • Frontline  
    Full episodes of this PBS documentary series that covers the “scope and complexity of the human experience.”
  • Hulu  
    Hulu is an online video service that offers a selection of hit shows, clips, movies and more at Hulu.com, numerous destination sites online, and through our ad-supported subscription service, Hulu Plus. Hulu's selection of premium programming is provided by more than 410 content companies.
  • LearnersTV  
    This site provides free video and audio lectures of whole courses conducted by faculty from reputed universities around the world. This site provides thousands of downloadable Video lectures, Live Online Tests,etc in the fields of Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Computer Science, Engineering, Medicine, Management and Accounting, Dentistry, Nursing, Psychology, History, Language Training, Literature, Law, Economics, Philosophy,Astronomy, Political Science etc
  • Movie Clips  
    With over 12,000 movie clips, you can search, find, view, discuss and share scenes from your favorite movies. Clips are searchable by actor, title, genre, occasion, action, mood, character, theme, setting, prop, and even dialogue.
  • Moving Image Archive (from Internet Archive)  
    This library contains over a million digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
  • Nova  
    Full episodes of this science documentary series.
  • PBS LearningMedia  
    PBS LearningMedia™ is the go-to destination for instant access to tens of thousands of classroom-ready, digital resources including videos, games, audio clips, photos, lesson plans, and more! You can search, save, and share with ease.
  • PBSVideo  
    Main portal for PBS’ national programs.
  • Prelinger Archive  
    Free online repository of over 60,000 "ephemeral" (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films in the public domain.
  • SnagFilms  
    SnagFilms.com offers the broadest collection of great independent movies you can watch right now, on demand, for free, and share with others
  • TED (Tehcnology Entertainment Design) Talks  
    TED is a nonprofit devoted to Ideas Worth Spreading. It started out (in 1984) as a conference bringing together people from three worlds: Technology, Entertainment, Design. Since then its scope has become ever broader.
  • TV News  
    This site collects and preserves television news. The collection now contains 350,000 news programs collected over 3 years from national U.S. networks and stations in San Francisco and Washington D.C. The archive is updated with new broadcasts 24 hours after they are aired. Older materials are also being added.
  • Yahoo Video Search 
  • YouTube 
  • YouTube EDU 
  • Vimeo 
© University of Nevada Las Vegas
**