This is the "Home: UNLV Licensed Collections" page of the "Online Movies & Streaming Video" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Online Movies & Streaming Video  

Guide to the Libraries' licensed collections of streaming video and other sources. The collections provide access to thousands of educational videos and feature films on a variety of subjects.
Last Updated: Sep 8, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.unlv.edu/onlinemovies Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home: UNLV Licensed Collections Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

The collections listed below provide access to thousands of streaming videos licensed by the Libraries for use by UNLV students, faculty and staff. In many cases, users can create clips and playlists from the titles in a collection.

You can also use the catalog to find streaming videos on various topics. In a keyword search, combine the phrase "streaming video" with a word or phrase, e.g.,

Catalog search example - "streaming video" earthquakes

Click here to see the results in the catalog for this example. Click a title in the results list to see the full record for the streaming video; click on the "View streaming video" or "View film" link to get to the video.

Instructors: See the WebCampus Toolkit for tips on linking to streaming media in your courses.

Films on Demand

Tip: Users who create their own optional accounts can make and share playlists from video segments.

  • Films on Demand
    Features thousands of full-length videos covering the humanities & social sciences, science, business & economics, health, archival films & newsreels.

Kanopy

Tip: Users can create playlists and clips from Kanopy's content without registering for an account, but accounts make it easier to manage the clips and playlists you create. (PDF guide)

  • Kanopy
    This streaming video service provides access to thousands of titles in such areas as the arts, humanities, business, sciences, media/communications, education and more. Source producers include Media Education Foundation, BBC, PBS, Kino Lorber, Documentary Educational Resources Collection, among others.

Alexander Street Press Video Collections

Tip: Users who sign-up for optional personal accounts can create, edit and share playlists and clips.

  • Music Online: Classical Music in Video
    The collection features performances of all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world.
  • Dance in Video: Volume I
    Contains five hundred hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance
  • Filmakers Library Online
    Provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
  • Music Online: Opera in Video
    Contains five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.
  • Theatre in Video
    With more than 250 definitive performances of the world‘s leading plays, together with 100+ film documentaries, this collection represents hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.

Ambrose Digital Videos

  • Ambrose Digital Videos
    Ambrose Video Publishing is a distributor of broadcast-quality documentaries and educational videos to schools, libraries and other institutions. UNLV susbcribes to four packages:

    -- Ancient History
    -- The BBC Shakespeare Plays
    -- A History of American Indian Achievement
    -- When the Water Tap Runs Dry

Docuseek2

Tip: Click on My Movies in the upper right corner of the Docuseek2 homepage to see the titles that are specifically licensed for UNLV.

  • Docuseek2
    Docuseek2 has exclusive academic streaming for films from renowned leaders in documentary film distribution including:
    -- Bullfrog Films
    -- Collective Eye
    -- Fanlight
    -- Icarus Films
    -- Kartemquin
    -- Terra Nova Films

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Brian Schuck
Contact Info
Head, New Media
Office: LLB 1227
(702) 895-2183
Send Email
 

Featured Collection: Kanopy

Kanopy provides convenient access to thousands of educational and feature films covering a variety of subjects.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip