Skip to main content

MLA International Bibliography: Library Guides

Q & A about changes to MLAIB access

Q & A about changes to MLA access at UNLV

Will I still be able to search the MLA International Bibliography?

Yes!  You will be able to search MLAIB via EBSCO's MLA International Bibliography with Full Text.

Does EBSCO's MLA International Bibliography with Full Text include the full text of every item?

No. EBSCO's version includes the full text of 1000 journals, including the most recent 3 years of "the top 100 journals" and complete backfiles of "over 45 journals". The MLAIB has indexed over 13,000 journals since 1926. Full text is not supplied for books, book chapters, and many journals. However,  will connect you to journals available through JSTOR and other publishers and aggregators in UNLV's online collections. 

When I use the search box on the library home page (Quick Search), will I still see citations to book chapters and journal articles indexed by MLA ?

No, MLA bibliographical records will no longer be available in Quick Search results because of their exclusive agreement with EBSCO.

Quick Search will find:

  • journal articles in journals that UNLV subscribes to
  • books in UNLV's print and ebook collections
  • dissertations available online

Quick Search will no longer show:

  • citations to essays published as book chapters
  • citations to articles published in journals that are not part of UNLV's subscriptions
  • citations to books UNLV does not own

So what's the difference again?

Searching the Quick Search box on the home page will retrieve mostly items that you have immediate access to, like articles in subscribed journals, ebooks, and records of print books in Lied Library. Quick Search offers mainly keyword searching and gives you options to filter your results by publication date, format or language.

The EBSCO interface will search citations of all items indexed by MLA, including essays published as chapters in books, books not owned by UNLV, and journals that UNLV does not subscribe to. In addition to keyword searching, the MLA Bibliography interface lets you refine your search by facets like genre, period, or literary theme; you can also search just within the criticism about a particular author or work. 

The button in the EBSCO interface connects to the interlibrary loan system so you can request free delivery of book chapters (as PDFs), non-subscribed journal articles (as PDFs), ebooks or print books. 

I have been searching MLAIB through the Criticism search option in Literature Online (LION). Will that be affected?

We anticipate that MLA citations will be removed sometime between 9/1/18 and 1/1/19.  The All Criticism search will continue to search the 430 full text journals in LION as well as citations from the Annual Bibliography of English Languages and Literatures from MHRA, which overlaps substantially with the MLAIB.

Will the Gale Literary Sources collection be affected?

UNLV's configuration of Gale Literary Sources has never included the MLAIB, so it will not be affected. Gale Literary Sources selects journal articles and essays to reprint in series like Contemporary Literary Criticism and also provides reference material like the Dictionary of Literary Biography.

Will the MLA Directory of Periodicals remain available?

Yes, the Directory of Periodicals will be available on the EBSCO interface for anyone needing information about editorial boards, turnaround time, acceptance rates, and other details about literary criticism periodicals and book series. 

Where can I learn more about searching the MLAIB effectively?

The MLA provides a help page that includes search advice, tutorial videos and an online course in using the MLAIB on the EBSCO platform. Also, your friendly librarian will be happy to help - see her contact information on the right! 

How to use EBSCO MLAIB

MLA letter

Comparison of previous platforms

Other literature resources at UNLV

humanities librarian

Priscilla Finley, humanities librarian's picture
Priscilla Finley, humanities librarian

priscilla.finley@unlv.edu
Contact:
Lied Library LLB1187
(702) 570-1338
© University of Nevada Las Vegas
**