Skip to main content

JMS 708: Journalism and Media Studies Colloquium (Kilker): Library Guides

Journalism-related resources & individual information & resource suggestions for students

Check Out Quick Search @UNLV Libraries!

Check out UNLV Library's Quick Search!

http://www.library.unlv.edu/

How Quick Search is similar to Google

  • Single search box
  • Prompts for spelling errors

How Quick Search is superior to Google

  • Sort, rank, and refine your results
  • Results that come from reliable library source
  • Can limit by discipline(s)
  • Built-in citation feature to help you cite your sources in the correct style
  • Allows you to save and share your results

Journalism-Specific Resources

Dissertations/Theses

Newspaper Databases

Searching on Google Scholar

A note about Google Scholar . . . 

Although Google Scholar contains many resources, it does not contain access to all relevant resources for journalism/media studies research.  Researchers are strongly encouraged to look at the additional resources mentioned above to conduct a thorough literature review.  You do not need to purchase articles via Google Scholar many are available for through the UNLV Libraries or via Interlibrary Loan.

For help connecting to UNLV Libraries' resources through Google Scholar see the following.

 

 

  

RefWorks

RefWorks

Log Into "New" RefWorks

You can create a new account using your UNLV e-mail at the link above.  

Log Into "Legacy" RefWorks 

You can still use your "Legacy" RefWorks account, but it will be phased out by January 2018, so you may want to move your account to the New RefWorks. Using both old and New RefWorks within one document in Write-n-Cite can cause problems, so finish your projects before making the switch.

How To Transfer Citations From Legacy To New Account

If you had an account in the old version of RefWorks you will need to transition to the new version.  Login to your  RefWorks account from the main login page and then click the link in the far upper left corner of your account screen that reads, "Move to the newest version of RefWorks from ProQuest" to transfer all of your citations.

What is RefWorks?
RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic software package that enables you to:

  • Organize your research
  • Create a bibliography in a variety of citation styles, including APA, MLA and Chicago
  • Import references from many data sources
  • Create bibliographies in different document formats (Word, RTF, HTML, etc.)
  • Include citations while you write your paper

"New" RefWorks Instructions

Creating Database Search Alerts

EbscoHost Databases

 
Note: You must have an EbscoHost Account to create email alerts  
  1. Enter your search into the search box
  2. On the results page, click on the drop-down "Alert/Save/Share" link
  3. Select email Alert
  4. At bottom of page, click on advanced settings
  5. Create the alert name, expand search across multiple databases (if you add databases to your original search, you must recheck ALL the databases you would like to search)
  6. Select "alert" for "save search As" option
  7. Set alert parameters -- frequency, publication date, alert duration, alert display options, and email properties
  8. To cancel alerts, you must log-in to your EbscoHost account

 To set-up an RSS Feed for your search, click on the "Create RSS Feed" link on the search result page.  Copy the RSS feed address and enter the address into your RSS Reader of choice.  Once an email alert is created, a corresponding RSS feed address is created that can be copied and added to your RSS Reader.

 

Email Alerts for Specific Journals
Note: You must have an EbscoHost Account to create email alerts  
  1. Enter your search into the search box
  2. On the results page, click on the drop-down "Alert/Save/Share" link
  3. Select email Alert
  4. At bottom of page, click on advanced settings
  5. Create the alert name, expand search across multiple databases (if you add databases to your original search, you must recheck ALL the databases you would like to search)
  6. Select "alert" for "save search As" option
  7. Set alert parameters -- frequency, publication date, alert duration, alert display options, and email properties
  8. To cancel alerts, you must log-in to your EbscoHost account

 To set-up an RSS Feed for your search, click on the "Create RSS Feed" link on the search result page.  Copy the RSS feed address and enter the address into your RSS Reader of choice.  Once an email alert is created, a corresponding RSS feed address is created that can be copied and added to your RSS Reader.

Creating Alerts in ProQuest

  1. Enter your search into the search box
  2. On the results page, click on the link "Set Up Alert" (with a yellow envelope icon)
  3. Set alert paramenters -- schedule (daily, weekly, monthly, every three months), stop date, email address, subject and message.
  4. you must confirm alert by clicking on link in confirmation email
  5. To cancel alerts, use link within alert email.

To set-up an RSS Feed for your search, click on the "Create RSS Feed" link on the search result page.  Copy the RSS feed address and enter the address into your RSS Reader of choice.

To set-up an alert searching across multiple Proquest databases, select all relevant databases and then perform search.  Set up alert using above steps.

RSS Feeds for Specific Journals:

ProQuest offers RSS feeds for a specific journals entire contents.  Using ProQuest Research Library:

  1. Click on Publications at the top of the page
  2. Using the publication search or alphabetical title browse, locate the journals you are interested in following.
  3. If the journal name is followed by a "Create RSS Feed" icon, an RSS Feed is available for the journal.
  4. Click on the icon and copy the feed address into your RSS Reader of choice.

Another method for creating an alert:

  1. Click on Publications at the top of the page
  2. Using the publication search or alphabetical title browse, locate the journals you are interested in following.
  3. Click on the link for the specific journal, to access the holdings page for that journal
  4. Click on "Set Up Alert"oo
  5. Set alert parameters -- alerts for citation and/or full-text, alert duration, email address, and subject
  6. Click Save

Alerts on Google
The Google Alerts page allows you to set up RSS or email alerts for Google, Google News, Google Books and blogs.Not available for Google Scholar.

Creating Alerts in Google Scholar
 

To create an alert in Google Scholar:
  1. The first step to setting up an alert is to create a search
  2. On the results page, click on the white envelope icon that states "Create an Email Alert"
  3. Set alert parameters -- Alert name, email address, # of results
  4. Click "Create Alert"

To create "Cited By" citation alert, search for the title of the paper you wish to track.  Click on the "Create An Email Alert" icon.

There is no RSS option for Google Scholar.  

To access you list of alerts, click on the "List Alerts" option at the bottom of your alert emails.  Here you can modify or delete your Scholar Alerts.

Although you do not need a Google Account to set-up Google Scholar Alerts, you can create general Google Search Alerts with a Google Account. Access "My Account" at the top of the page in Google.  Under "My Products" is an option for managing Alerts.  You can set-up alerts that can be limited to news, blogs, realtime, video and discussions.  General Google Alerts can be delivered via RSS feed.

 

Urban Affairs Librarian

Susie Skarl, Urban Affairs Librarian's picture
Susie Skarl, Urban Affairs Librarian
Contact:
UNLV Libraries
Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Box 457014
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7014
702-895-2141
© University of Nevada Las Vegas
**