Skip to main content

HIST 451, Capstone Research Seminar (Schauer): Library Guides

fall 2017 world history

Primary Source Collections

The full text of letters and diary entries, often from works that have been previously published as books containing collections of letters or diaries. Use the Browse indexes to find works about specific historical or life events.

Use the date range limit to narrow your search to a relevant time period. 

Search for articles published in popular magazines and journals from different times in history.

Collections of several types of primary sources curated around a topic or theme.

Digitized documents from an archive, museum or library collection - could contain records, manuscripts, or correspondence, for example.

Digitized collections of books published during different time periods.

Official government publications, including laws, treaties, and records of legislative proceedings.

Digitized photos and art images.

These links allow you to search across multiple databases at the same time.

Loading

Public collections online

Online collections of primary sources

Web sites that offer access to scanned documents from library or organizational collections.

Research guides

Experts compile lists of relevant web resources on topics, people, places and institutions.

 

Directories for locating archival collections

These sites can point you to libraries, museums, and cultural heritage organizations that collect and preserve documents about specific countries, topics, or people. Once you identify an interesting archive, see if they have online collections available on their web site. 

Research Collections on Microform

Research Collections on microfilm & fiche

Browse or visit the web page to search brief descriptions of available microform research collections.

 

Time Period: Browse collections by date

 

All collections by Title | All collections by Subject

New RefWorks

secondary sources

humanities librarian

Priscilla Finley's picture
Priscilla Finley

priscilla.finley@unlv.edu
Contact:
Lied Library LLB1187
702 895 2132

Reference Guides

Tracking citations

Calvert Award

The Calvert Award recognizes undergraduate students who demonstrate sophistication and originality in research projects. Up to five prizes will be awarded in three categories: Emerging Scholars with a $750 prize, Advanced Undergraduate and Creative Works with a $1000 prize.

© University of Nevada Las Vegas
**