Skip to main content

First Folio! The Book that Gave Us Shakespeare: See the Folio: Hours, Parking and More

On tour from the Folger Shakespeare Library, at the UNLV University Libraries Special Collections on September 1-29, 2016.

Parking Information

Weekday visitors:

  • Visitors should park in metered spaces ($1 per hour) or purchase a one-day visitor's parking permit ($6) from the Parking and Transportation Services Office in the Claude I. Howard Public Safety Building on E. Harmon Ave. 
  • The busiest times for parking are weekdays 9:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m. 
  • Parking rules are enforced 7:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m. Monday-Thursday and 7:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. Friday. During these hours, all vehicles on campus are required to have a parking permit, except when parked at meters or in Lot S. 

Weekend visitors:

  • Visitors may park in any metered, staff, or student space for free Fridays after 1:00 p.m., all day Saturday, and all day Sunday. Do not park in reserved spots.

Parking locations:

Where is Special Collections?

First Folio! is on exhibition in the Special Collections Reading Room on the third floor of the Lied Library on the UNLV Campus between September 1 and 29. The Lied Library is located on E. Harmon Avenue, just east of Swenson Avenue.  View in Google Maps.

Special Collections will be open special hours for the exhibition:

  • Monday-Thursday, 9:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
  • Friday, 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
  • Saturday-Sunday, 11:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Tickets

Admission is free, but space is limited.  Secure your spot by reserving your tickets in advance.  Reservations are available now.  

School Field Trips

School field trips may be accommodated on a space available basis. Fridays are preferred because the campus is less crowded. Contact special.collections@unlv.edu to make arrangements. 

What is Special Collections?

As part of the only research library in Southern Nevada, the UNLV Libraries Special Collections is the premiere intellectual hub for the interdisciplinary study of our region and our most important industry, gaming. We actively collect a range of unique, rare, or specialized materials to support original research and scholarship. Open to the public, we ensure the present and future can learn from the past. Explore our Digital Collections for highlights.  

Facebook: unlvspecialcollections | Twitter:@unlvsc | Instagramunlvspeccoll

About the Tour

First Folio! The Book that Gave Us Shakespeare, on tour from the Folger Shakespeare Library, is a national traveling exhibition organized by the Folger Shakespeare Library in Washington, DC, and produced in association with the American Library Association and the Cincinnati Museum Center. First Folio! has been made possible in part by a major grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities: Exploring the human endeavor, and by the support of Google.org, Vinton and Sigrid Cerf, the British Council, Stuart and Mimi Rose, and other generous donors. 

© University of Nevada Las Vegas
**