Skip to main content

Dissertation/Thesis Resources -- Library Support for Writing Dissertations and Theses: Library Resources and Services

This guide collects resources for UNLV students writing graduate theses and dissertations. Resources in this guide support culminating graduate projects in a range of disciplines. For discipline-specific help, contact your subject librarian.

Graduate Workshops by UNLV Libraries

Our Graduate Workshops series addresses important skills for advanced researchers in a range of disciplines.

 

Partner workshops

The Graduate College's Student Success Institute hosts an extensive series of workshops on a range of topics.  Their Grad Rebel Writing Boot Camp provides a great opportunity to make progress quickly.

The Writing Center has an extensive set of workshops designed for graduate students working on long documents.

Preventing link rot

Ensure long-term stability of your document's hyperlinks with:

Software on Campus

Official forms and guidelines

The Graduate College's page with official format and submission guidelines.

Finding theses and dissertations

Looking at successful theses and dissertations can help you determine an appropriate scope for your project.

A good place to start is Proquest's Dissertations and Theses database.  It provides full text for most dissertations and theses after 1997, with citations and/or abstracts available for dissertations going back to 1861.

Your subject specialist librarian can also help you track down dissertations and theses in your discipline.

Citing sources and creating bibliographies

Check out this guide for the basics of citation in the most commonly used styles (MLA, APA, and Chicago).

Your subject specialist librarian is an invaluable source of help for tricky citations (unusual formats, citation elements missing, understanding DOI's, etc.).

We also have online guides for popular citation managers:

Obtaining books or articles from other libraries

Expand the scope of your research by requesting books and articles from other libraries.  Borrowing Services provides Interlibrary Loan and other services to give you access to materials from other libraries, typically free of charge.

Binding theses and dissertations

UNLV’s Rebel Copy and Send, located on campus in the Student Union, will work with graduates who would like a bound, printed copy of their thesis or dissertation.  Turnaround time is approximately one week.  They will accept in-person orders only.  Visit their website for hours and contact information.  Other options are:

Copyright

The UNLV Graduate College provides information for authors on copyright and embargoes in the Thesis and Dissertation Format and Submission Guidelines at https://www.unlv.edu/graduatecollege/thesis.

Section 7 of the Guidelines covers:

  • Copyright information
  • Embargo options for theses and dissertations
  • Formatting the copyright page of your thesis or dissertation

In short, your work is copyrighted by you automatically. However you have decisions to make regarding registration of that copyright, and whether or not you wish to delay the release of your work to the public.

Digital Scholarship @ UNLV

UNLV provides open access to recent theses, dissertations, and some capstone projects and professional papers. Recent additions to the collection can be found below, and the entire online collection can be viewed in Digital Scholarship@UNLV, the institutional repository.

Loading ...

Consultations

Subject specialist librarians provide support for students doing advanced research.  They are eager to work with you by phone, via email, or in person.

To schedule an appointment for a consultation, use this page to find a convenient time to talk.

 

Questions about this guide

Mark Lenker's picture
Mark Lenker
Contact:
4505 South Maryland Pkwy.
Box 457001
Las Vegas, Nevada
89154-7001
mark.lenker@unlv.edu
702-895-2248
© University of Nevada Las Vegas
**