Associations/Institutions/Organizations
- The Academy of Machinima Arts and Sciences
Machinima (muh-sheen-eh-mah) is filmmaking within a real-time, 3D virtual environment, often using 3D video-game technologies. - American Federation of Television & Radio Artists
This website is for the American Federation of Television and Radio Artists which is a national labor union. It represents performers, journalists and other artists working in the entertainment and news industry. - American Film Institute
AFI is a national institute providing leadership in screen education and the recognition and celebration of excellence in the art of film, television and digital media. - Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC)
The Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication is a non-profit, educational association of journalism and mass communication faculty, administrators, students and media professionals. - Associations Unlimited Database
- Associations/Organizations section of the Plunkett Entertainment Industry Research Center
- BMI
BMI is a performing right organization. BMI handles license fees for its composers, songwriters, and music publishers. BMI also handles royalties for its members. - British Film Institute
The British Film Institute features an archive of film and television; most of the archive features British material, but also has international material. The website also features sponsorship, publishing, jobs, film festivals, and more. - Center for Media and Public Affairs
Since its inception in 1985, the Center for Media and Public Affairs has studied entertainment media--from cinema to television programming. - Motion Picture Association of America
The official website for the Motion Picture Association of American. Locate statistics and other information about the motion picture industry. - Motion Picture Editors Guild
The Motion Picture Editors Guild (MPEG) is a national labor organization currently representing over 6,000 freelance and staff post-production professionals. - Nevada Film Office
Provides resources for filmmakers that plan to shoot films in Nevada. - Producers Guild of America
This website features information on how to join the Producers Guild of America, a professional organization. The website also features information about awards, events, membership, credits, and an online store. - Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA)
- Songwriters Guild of America
This website features information about membership, services, events, a writers lounge, links, and store. The Songwriters Guild of America wants to bring education to songwriters about the industry. - USITT - United States Institute for Theatre Technology, Inc.
- The Visual Effects Society
The Visual Effects Society represents visual effects practitioners. The Visual Effects Society wants to educate its members through screenings, international events, and programs. - Writers Guild
This website features: membership information, news and events, writer’s resources, writing tools, and more. The Writers Guild is a Union.
Associations & Organizations
- The Academy of Machinima Arts and Sciences
Machinima (muh-sheen-eh-mah) is filmmaking within a real-time, 3D virtual environment, often using 3D video-game technologies. - American Federation of Television & Radio Artists
This website is for the American Federation of Television and Radio Artists which is a national labor union. It represents performers, journalists and other artists working in the entertainment and news industry. - American Film Institute
AFI is a national institute providing leadership in screen education and the recognition and celebration of excellence in the art of film, television and digital media. - Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC)
The Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication is a non-profit, educational association of journalism and mass communication faculty, administrators, students and media professionals. - Associations Unlimited Database

- Associations/Organizations section of the Plunkett Entertainment Industry Research Center

- BMI
BMI is a performing right organization. BMI handles license fees for its composers, songwriters, and music publishers. BMI also handles royalties for its members. - British Film Institute
The British Film Institute features an archive of film and television; most of the archive features British material, but also has international material. The website also features sponsorship, publishing, jobs, film festivals, and more. - Center for Media and Public Affairs
Since its inception in 1985, the Center for Media and Public Affairs has studied entertainment media--from cinema to television programming. - Motion Picture Association of America
The official website for the Motion Picture Association of American. Locate statistics and other information about the motion picture industry. - Motion Picture Editors Guild
The Motion Picture Editors Guild (MPEG) is a national labor organization currently representing over 6,000 freelance and staff post-production professionals. - Nevada Film Office
Provides resources for filmmakers that plan to shoot films in Nevada. - Producers Guild of America
This website features information on how to join the Producers Guild of America, a professional organization. The website also features information about awards, events, membership, credits, and an online store. - Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA)

- Songwriters Guild of America
This website features information about membership, services, events, a writers lounge, links, and store. The Songwriters Guild of America wants to bring education to songwriters about the industry. - USITT - United States Institute for Theatre Technology, Inc.

- The Visual Effects Society
The Visual Effects Society represents visual effects practitioners. The Visual Effects Society wants to educate its members through screenings, international events, and programs. - Writers Guild
This website features: membership information, news and events, writer’s resources, writing tools, and more. The Writers Guild is a Union.
Entertainment Studies Programs
- UCLA Extension: Entertainment Studies & Performing Arts

- Fullerton University: Entertainment Studies Concentration: B.A. in Communications

- Missouri State University—Entertainment Management Program

- UCLA Anderson’s Entertainment Management Program

- University of South Carolina, Department of Sport and Entertainment Management

- Point Park University--Sport, Arts and Entertainment Management

- University of Montana, School of Business Administration Entertainment Management Program

- DigiPen Institute of Technology (Redmond, WA)

- Digital Special Effects and Animatronics, University of Wales College, Newport (UK)

- Entertainment Technology, Carnegie Mellon University (Pittsburgh)

- Guildhall, Southern Methodist University (Plano, TX)

- Idaho National Laboratory: Service and Entertainment Robots

- KI for Entertainment Engineering

- Multimedia and Creative Technologies and Integrated Media Systems, University of Southern California (Los Angeles)

- Music and Entertainment Industries Studies, University of Colorado, Denver

- Music Engineering Technology, University of Miami (Coral Gables, FL)

- New York City College of Technology (City Tech), Department of Entertainment Technology

- REMAP:
Center for Research in Engineering, Media and Performance: a joint
effort of the UCLA School of Theater, Film and Television and the Henry
Samueli School of Engineering and Applied Science

- UNLV College of Fine Arts, Department of Theatre, Design/Technology Concentration

- UNLV Howard R. Hughes College of Engineering

Entertainment Companies Associated with UNLV
Other Entertainment Companies
Entertainment-Related Publishers
Allworth.com:Publishes business and self-help books for artists, designers, photographers, writers, and film and performing artists, as well as books about business, law, and personal finance for the general public.
Broadwayonline.com:Broadway Worldwide (parent of Broadway Television Network) is the first-to-market leader in the high definition, surround sound production and worldwide distribution of Broadway musicals captured live-in-performance for digital cinema, DVD, video on demand (VOD), pay per view (PPV), pay TV, wired and wireless television.
Focalpress.com: Focal Press has been a leading publisher of Media Technology books for 70 years and provides resources for professionals and students in many areas including: film and digital video production, photography, digital imaging, graphics, animation and new media, broadcast and media distribution technologies, music recording and production, mass communications, and theatre technology.
Interactiveeducationalvideo.com: Technical theatre classroom software company.
Plsnbookshelf.com: The Pro Lights & Staging News and the FRONT of HOUSE Bookshelf site. This site includes current resources available on the ever changing world of entertainment technology. Dramabookshop.com
Sondheimreview.com: The quarterly magazine dedicated to the work of the musical theatre and Broadway's foremost composer and lyricist, Stephen Sondheim.
Theatreartsvideo.com: Theatre Arts Video Library site contains theatre training materials for purchase.
University of Chicago Press: Wide range of publications available from University of Chicago Pres.
PressUMich.edu: Wide range of publications available from University of Michigan Press.
WatsonGuptill.com: Publishers of books on fine art, arts & crafts, music, and design.
Subject Guide |
Susie SkarlUrban Affairs Librarian
UNLV Libraries
4505 Maryland Parkway
Las Vegas, NV 89154
(702) 895-2141
Send Email
Subjects:
Greenspun College of Urban Affairs
Entertainment Data & Statistics
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait