COM 101 Walk-In Research Clinic Dates
Need help with your research for your upcoming speeches? Come to a COM 101 Research Clinic in the Eureka Room! Below are the dates and times:
- Thursday, 9/17/09: 10am-11am
- Monday, 9/21/09:10am-11am
- Thursday, 10/8/09: 3pm-4pm
- Friday 10/9/09: 1pm-2pm
- Wednesday, 10/28/09: 3pm-4pm
- Thursday, 10/29/09: 10am-11am
- Wednesday, 11/18/09: 9:30am-10:30am
- Thursday, 11/19/09: 3:30pm-4:30pm
Citation Help
Resources for easily creating bibliographies.
- Chicago Citation Style Guide PDF file outlining basic rules for citing sources using Chicago Style guidelines.
- APA Style Guide to Electronic Resources
Official guide from APA. This guide is a revised and updated version of section 4.16 of the fifth edition of the Publication manual of the American Psychological Association.
Access restricted to UNLV students, faculty and staff. - BibMe
Quickly finds and formats citations - no login required. - Quick bibliography guides
Wizards and web tools designed to format citations into popular styles used in academic writing. - RefWorks
Good for keeping track of lots of citations. Creates APA, MLA and many other style bibliographies. - UNLV Libraries list of style guides
Group of online style guides with models of how to create citations in major bibliographic styles.
Background: Online reference books
Here are some resources for getting background information for your speech topic.

Loading RSS Feed...
Background: Issue Overviews
Here are some great websites to give you ideas and lead you to resources for your speech topics.
- CQ Researcher This database of in-depth research reports includes overviews of hot public policy topics and pros and cons of possible solutions.
- Brookings Institution Policy Briefs
The Brookings Institution is a nonpartisan organization that does research on public policy. The site contains analysis and commentary on many issues. - Ethics Updates: Applied Ethics Resources
A wide range of resources on ethics issues -- abortion, reproductive technologies, the death penalty, animal rights, etc. - Multnomah County Library Homework Center
Directory of information sources on controversial social issues. - NationalIssues.com
Non-partisan site that presents both sides of major national issues. - Online Backgrounders
From PBS - background information for topics covered by PBS's NewsHour show. - Public Agenda Online
Public opinion and public policy. Nonpartisan issue guides and public opinion on critical public issues. - Politics Line
Recent articles from dozens of political columnists. Updated daily. - Ready Reference Opposing Viewpoints
From the library at Louisiana State University comes this excellent set of links to resources or information that provides position descriptions on current issues. - Saint Ambrose University—Hot Topics
A to Z list of resources on controversial issues and current event topics from Saint Ambrose University Library. - Social Issues
Created by the Multnomah County Library, you'll find links to web sites presenting differing views on a broad range of contemporary social issues - Urban Institute
Nonpartisan organization provides links to special reports, issues, and research publications. - Yahoo Issues & Causes
Directory of controversial issue links.
Flavor
Looking for startling statistics or quotations to add spice to your speech? Try some of these links.
- Facts on File
- World Almanac and Book of Facts
- Statistical Abstracts of the United States, 2008
- Bartleyby.com Quotation Search
- Gateway to Government Information at UNLV Libraries
- The complete guide to public speaking (ebook)
- The complete idiot's guide to public speaking (ebook)
- Janner's complete speechmaker, with expanded compendium of retellable tales (ebook)
- Boost your presentation IQ (ebook)
Evidence

Loading RSS Feed...
Subject Guide |
Susie SkarlContact Info:
Urban Affairs Librarian
UNLV Libraries
4505 Maryland Parkway
Las Vegas, NV 89154
(702) 895-2141
Send Email
Subjects:
Greenspun College of Urban Affairs
Urban Affairs Librarian
UNLV Libraries
4505 Maryland Parkway
Las Vegas, NV 89154
(702) 895-2141
Send Email
Subjects:
Greenspun College of Urban Affairs
Tools to Help You Avoid Plagiarism
UNLV Student Academic Misconduct Policy
Quick Citation Tools & Wizards
Tutorials & Hands-on Practice
- APA Exposed
- Dr. Cite Right – Central Piedmont Community College Library
- Paul Robeson Library – Rutgers University
- You Quote It, You Note It – Vaughan Memorial Library Acadia University
- Avoiding Plagiarism – Written Guide - The Owl at Purdue
- Avoiding Plagiarism – Waikato Information Skills (WISE)
- The St. Martin’s Tutorial on Avoiding Plagiarism
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait