Basic Research GuidesBibliographiesBiographical SourcesDictionaries, etc.Indexes & abstracts
African-American StudiesArchaeologyEthnic StudiesGeneral Anthropolgy SitesLinguistics / FolklorePhysical / Biological AnthropologyProfessional OrganizationsSocial / Cultural Anthropology
This is the "Home" page of the "Anthropology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Anthropology  

Last Updated: Aug 6, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.unlv.edu/anthropology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search the Catalog

Search by:


Advanced Search | Find e-books
Borrow materials from other libraries

 

Find Anthropology Articles

Click on one of the links below to access a database:

  • Anthropology Plus
    International index of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries
  • Anthrosource
    Searchable archives of all American Anthropological Association (AAA) journals
  • Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts
    Abstracts of conservation books, articles, proceedings and more
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Coverage begins in 1990.
  • Family & Society Studies Worldwide
    Journal articles recording research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of family science, human ecology, human development, and social welfare
  • Linguistic & Language Behavior Abstracts
    Index of articles in linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics
  • Social Sciences Citation Index
    Index to journal literature in over 50 social science disciplines
 

Welcome to the Anthropology LibGuide

Montezuma Castle National Monument, Arizona

Photo courtesy Jason Vaughan, Director, Libraries Technologies, University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Overview of LibGuide Contents

    The Anthropology LibGuide supports student and faculty research in the Department of Anthropology and its constituent academic programs; Archaeology, Biological Anthropology, Cultural Anthropology, Linguistic Anthropology and Ethnic Studies.

    The tabs across the top of the page provide access to the five major components of this LibGuide; Home, Articles & Databases, Books & E-books, Selected Internet Resources and Help.

    If you have suggestions regarding the content of the Anthropology LibGuide, please use the Comments/Suggestions box to the right.

 

Citing Sources in Anthropology

Unsure of how to cite sources in your papers?  Follow the steps below to create plagiarism-free research papers.

1. Find out which citation style is required

If you're a student, ask your professor which style you should use.  If you're preparing a manuscript for publication, visit the journal's web site and find the submissions guidelines.  Below are links to help guides for popular citation styles in anthropology.

2. While writing, cite sources within the text

Some citation styles use footnotes, which lead readers to full citations at the bottom of each page.  Others use in-text citations, which often consist of the author's name and the year of publication or page numbers within parentheses.  For example, in-text citations may look like (Stewart & Wang, 1993) or (Kochinski 247-248), depending on the style your are using.  Make sure you cite each piece of information from another source that you quote directly or paraphrase.  You should also cite any graphics you've borrowed.  If you don't know whether the information you use is worth citing, consult your style guide or ask a professor or librarian.

3. Keep track of the sources you've used, and create your bibliography/works cited list

As you're citing sources in the text of your paper, add the source to your list of works cited, which is sometimes called a bibliography or a reference list.  Each citation style prescribes its own way of citing sources, and sometimes this can be confusing, especially for web resources.  If you don't know how to cite a source, contact a librarian for help.

4. Proofread your paper...

...and ask yourself the following questions:

  • Is each quote or paraphrase cited?
  • Could someone else use my bibliography to find the sources I used?
  • Do all my in-text citations correspond to full citations in my bibliography?
  • Are all the charts, graphs, and images cited?

The answer to each question should be yes.  If not, may need to contact a librarian for help.  For help with writing (grammar, structure, word choice, etc.), contact the UNLV Writing Center.

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Priscilla Finley
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Logo - Google TalkLogo - Skype
Contact Info
LLB 1187, 4505 Maryland Pkwy box 457039
Las Vegas, NV 89154
(702) 895-2132
Send Email
 

Comments / Suggstions

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip