Computer Science Databases
Technical Reports, Patents, and Societies
This is the "Home" page of the "Engineering / Computer Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Engineering / Computer Science   Tags: computer_science, engineering  

Guide to selected resources in engineering and computer science.
Last Updated: Jun 22, 2015 URL: http://guides.library.unlv.edu/engineering Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Engineering Tutoring Center

The Academic Success Center (ASC) in cooperation with the College of Engineering (COE) offers FREE tutoring for a variety of UNLV engineering courses throughout the school year, in TBE-A.  Click the links below for information about hours, room location, and tutoring services offered.  Remember - tutoring is for ANYONE who wishes to improve!

 

Writing Assistance and Resources

Students have access to the UNLV Writing Center  http://writingcenter.unlv.edu/ to get advice and training.  The center is not a copy-editing service, but an excellent service to help each student improve their writing for coursework and career. 

The College also provides a list of excellent resources for Engineering researchers writing papers, proposals and reports:  http://www.unlv.edu/engineering/resources .

Additional Writing Resources

  • UNLV Writing Center
    The UNLV Writing Center provides individual consultations for UNLV students. They don't copy edit your paper, but identify areas for improvement and help you find more writing assistance resources/tools. Submit your work online: http://writingcenter.unlv.edu/owl/ , or call for more information: 702-895-3908 . Take advantage of this excellent resource before you graduate!
  • Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
    It's not enough to find sources, you'll have to integrate them as well. This Purdue University website provides information on how to incorporate your literature review findings and data into papers and other projects. Especially helpful sections include: Writing with Statistics, Paraphrase Exercises, and Quoting, Paraphrasing, and Summarizing. Also provides citation and other style assistance.
  • Grammarly
    This commercial website provides some automated plagiarism and grammar checks for a portion of your work.
  • Grammar Girl
    When you become an accomplished writer, you start wondering about the nuances of word choice, punctuation, and find either frustration or humor in very common mistakes. This weblog takes the approach of humor to educate readers about the art of better writing. (I suspect that I have made at least one of those common mistakes in this description - if so, tell me!)
  • Technical Writing - Purdue OWL
    Depending upon the audience/client for your writing, different expectations and standards may apply. Technical science writing is quite different than writing for a journal or a book editor. This page of the Purdue OWL website provides several useful tips.
 

Welcome

Welcome to the Engineering and Computer Science Guide. Find out what resources the UNLV Library has available to help you with your research needs.

 

College of Engineering

Howard R. Hughes College of Engineering

The Howard R. Hughes College of Engineering is located in
 
Thomas T. Beam Engineering Complex, Buildings A and B
Box 454005
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Las Vegas, NV 89154-4005

(702) 895-3699

Workshops offered by the University Libraries

The University Libraries offer a wide variety of workshops throughout the year to assist you.  Topics range from RefWorks - a citation management tool, to Oral History Methods, to Literature Review Techniques.  Click on the link below to view and register for upcoming events.

  • Upcoming Library Workshops
    Open to all campus members, these workshops are for faculty, staff, and students who would like to learn more about library tools, services, and techniques to enhance library research methods.

Find Funding Sources

Are you searching for grants, fellowships or other sources of funding for your education or research activities?  UNLV has several resources that you may find useful.

The University Libraries have a subject guide devoted to resources to help you find and apply for external funding sources.   

http://guides.library.unlv.edu/grants 

The Office of Sponsored Programs' webpages  (http://www.unlv.edu/research/osp-locating-funding-opportunities) contain many helpful tools and reminders related to seeking external (non-UNLV) funds.

If you are seeking funding from external foundation funds, please remember to coordinate in advance with the UNLV Foundation:  http://www.unlv.edu/foundation/contact . For more information about UNLV's policy on coordination of external funding, please see the current Policy on Solicitation-Grant Coordination on this website http://www.unlv.edu/foundation/forms-resources#unlv

The Office of Sponsored Programs provides on-campus access to the GrantSearch database (http://www.aascu.org/grc/gs/)

The Libraries also provide three additional databases to seek grants and other funding opportunities

Course Library Resource Guides

Course-Specific Guides to Library Resources

EGG 101 Section CS
by Greg Carr, Sue Wainscott - Last Updated Jun 22, 2015
11 views this year
EGG 101 Section ECE
by Greg Carr, Sue Wainscott - Last Updated Jun 22, 2015
22 views this year
EGG 101 Section 1009 ME & CEE
by Greg Carr, Sue Wainscott - Last Updated Jun 22, 2015
220 views this year
ME 497/498 Senior Design Project I and II
by Patrick Griffis, Sue Wainscott - Last Updated Jun 23, 2015
Course related library resources for ME 497/498
47 views this year
CEE 250 - 1001 Sustainability in Civil and Environmental Engineering
by Greg Carr, Sue Wainscott - Last Updated Jun 22, 2015
Materials to assist you in your coursework and projects
108 views this year

Librarian

Profile Image
Sue Wainscott
Contact Info
University Libraries
Lied Library, LLB 1176
4505 Maryland Pkwy
Box 457014
University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7014
(702) 895-2262
Send Email
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip