LibGuides: Psychology: Articles & Databases

Psychology Databases

Find research articles:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable articles from academic and professional journals and magazines covering every academic discipline.
Update frequency: Updated daily
This excellent one-stop resource lets you search citations and summaries by keyword and then instantly retrieve the full text of articles from journals online. The Get Text button helps you locate any article without linked full text in alternate online sources or in UNLV's print journal collection.
APA PsycINFO 1887-Current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1800-
The American Psychological Association's international psychology database indexes journal articles, books and dissertations.
Update frequency: Updated monthly
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others.
ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nearly 2,000 full text Elsevier journals covering the areas of social science, medicine, science, and technology.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a service of the US National Library of Medicine that provides free access to MEDLINE, the NLM database of indexed citations and abstracts to medical, nursing, dental, veterinary, health care, and preclinical sciences journal articles. It also includes additional selected life sciences journals not found in MEDLINE.

Find information about tests and measures:

PsycTESTs
PsycTESTS is a database that provides information about psychological tests and measures. It includes citations to articles that discuss the test and how it can be used. Some information about the test is taken from the articles and presented right in the database. In many cases, the full test (or a document with a selection of test items) is available to download as well.

Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A bibliography of commercially available tests in fields such as education, psychology and business.
The record for a test provides valuable information about the test and links to available reviews in the online Mental Measurements Yearbook.

Explore the DSM:

PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to DSM-5 and The American Journal of Psychiatry, plus other references for diagnosis, treatment, research, professional development, and lifelong learning.
The DSM-V is a standard resource for diagnosis in Psychology.

Find Articles Using UNLV Libraries Quick Search

Finding Articles Using EBSCO Databases (Academic Search Premier, PsycINFO, etc.)

More Psychology-Related Databases

Child Development and Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current and historical literature related to growth and development of children.
Child Development & Adolescent Studies provides citations to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. Book reviews, abstracts from hundreds of journals, technical reports, books, book chapters, and theses and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide are indexed. Use this resource to search all issues of Child Development Abstracts and Bibliography.
Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
citations 1861-; abstracts 1980-; full text 1997-
Full text of most dissertations produced after 1997; citations and abstracts for others.
Update frequency: Updated quarterly
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses contains over 1.5 million entries, providing citations to North American and European dissertations from 1861 forward, with abstracts from 1980 forward. It also provides citations and abstracts for theses from 1988 forward. Full text of UNLV theses and dissertations available from 1996 to the present. Full text from all other institutions available from 1997 to the present.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1966-
Scholarly and popular journal articles, book chapters, and reports from the field of education.
Update frequency: monthly
Use ERIC to search abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, and reports from the field of education. Subject indexing allows you to zero in on all the articles relevant to your topic. ERIC digests offer overviews of significant scholarship on a topic.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1970-
Journal articles recording research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of family science, human ecology, human development, and social welfare.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide, produced by NISC, is a core resource providing the most comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. FSSW covers popular issues as well as meeting the requirements of professionals in all fields of social work, social science and family practice. Coverage spans from 1970 to the present indexing publications from a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history and social work.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1974-
Publications on gender issues. International publications as well as reports, pamphlets, papers, and conference proceedings devoted to gender issues.
Update frequency: quarterly
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An archive of more than 700 important scholarly journals covering business, ecology, education, ethnic studies, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and sociology with content ending 3-5 years ago
JSTOR digitally archives more than 700 scholarly journals. Subjects include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and more.
Medline via Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1950-
Over 15 million records from medical and life sciences journals.
Searching Medline on the Web of Knowledge platform allows you to also search several other databases at the same time.
Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1938 to present

Reviews of English-language personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, educational, achievement, and intelligence tests. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Produced by the Buros Institute, this database contains information from the 9th, 10th, 11th, 12th, 13th, 14th, and 15th Mental Measurements Yearbooks. Records contain descriptive information and critical reviews of over 2,200 standardized English-language personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, educational, achievement, and intelligence tests. Subject coverage includes behavioral science, education, psychiatry, psychology, speech, language, and hearing. Paper copies back to 1938.
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to the literature of PTSD and other mental health consequences resulting from exposure to traumatic events, produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD.
Formerly known as PILOTS.
APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1987-
Full text articles from 50 peer-reviewed journals published by the American Psychological Association.
PsycARTICLES provides the full text for articles from 50 peer-reviewed journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations. The database covers general, specialized, basic, applied, and clinical psychology, and theoretical research. It contains more than 32,000 full text articles, letters to the editor and errata.
Psychology and Counseling This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of 35 psychology journals published by SAGE and participating societies.
Includes the full text of 35 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 36 years, and encompasses over 21,600 articles. It covers such subjects as Psychology, Child Development, Family Studies, Language Acquisition, and Sociology of Race and Ethnicity.
Sage eReference Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
40 online encyclopedias in the social sciences, education and history.
An online collection of more than 40 reference titles from Sage Publications. Reference titles cover a variety of subjects including history, sociology, psychology, criminal justice, political science, communications, social work, education and business.
Science Citation Index Expanded This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Science Citation Index Expanded ® provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in approximately 5,900 of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an index to peer-reviewed scientific, medical, technical, and social science literature. It also features a citation index, allowing you to find the papers that cite a specific piece of research.
Scopus also features a citation index, allowing you to find the papers that cite a specific piece of research.

Search Tips

Narrow/ Focus Your Search	Broaden/ Expand Your Search
Place quotation marks around words to search for an exact phrase, e.g., "high school" (works in many databases and Google)
And or Not connector between concepts	“Or” connector between synonyms
Field Limiters, e.g., dates, type of document	Truncation or Wildcard (e.g., child* to search for all terms beginning with child, e.g. child, children, childcare)
Use the controlled vocabulary (human assigned main topics --Thesaurus)	Free-text or keyword searching (computer mediated, no human intervention)
Proximity searching, e.g., first year n3 retention (finds results in which first year is found within 3 words of retention)

Psychology

Psychology Databases

Find Articles Using UNLV Libraries Quick Search

Finding Articles Using EBSCO Databases (Academic Search Premier, PsycINFO, etc.)

More Psychology-Related Databases

Search Tips

Narrow/ Focus Your Search

Broaden/ Expand Your Search

Locations

Contact