19th Century Masterfile alternatives
19th Century Masterfile was cancelled at the end of fall 2008 due to budget cuts. This page includes links to alternate ways of searching the indexes included in that database.
Online Reference Books
The ClioNotes feature in America History & Life and Historical Abstracts has a nice timeline of historical events - it's great for getting a quick overview of names, dates, and places to come up with good keywords for searching! Follow the link in the Secondary Sources section to America History & Life (or Historical Abstracts for world history) and look in the upper left hand corner for ClioNotes.
Print indexes
Indexes in Lied Library
- Poole's index to periodical literature
Call Number: UNLV Reference AI3 .P72 1963 - Catalogue of scientific papers - Royal Society (Great Britain)
Call Number: Z7403 .R8813 - Catalogue of scientific papers, 1800-1900 : subject index - Royal Society (Great Britain)
Call Number: Z7403 .R8814 - Palmer's Index To the Times Newspaper - Times (London)
Call Number: UNLV Microforms - The "A.L.A." index : an index to general literature - William Isaac Fletcher with the cooperation of many librarians
Call Number: UNLV LASR - A.L.A. portrait index; index to portraits contained in printed books and periodicals. - Edited by William Coolidge Lane and Nina E. Browne
Call Number: UNLV Reference N7620 .A2 1906a
UNLV only 19th century books & journals

Loading RSS Feed...
19th century newspapers

Loading RSS Feed...
19th Century Government Documents
- House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
- United States Congressional Serial Set.
- Serial Set Links: U.S. Congressional Documents
- Historical Statistics of the United States
- Historical Census Browser
- LexisNexis Primary Sources in U.S. Presidential History
- Hein Online
- Avalon Project - 19th Century Documents : 1800 - 1899
- Checklist of United States Public Documents, 1789-1909
Secondary sources
Books, journal articles, and dissertations about 19th century history.

Loading RSS Feed...
Subject Guide |
Priscilla Finley
Online Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
LLB 1145
4505 Maryland Pkwy box 457008
Las Vegas, NV 89154
(702) 895-2132
Send Email
Subjects:
English literature, theatre, history, philosophy
![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
LLB 1145
4505 Maryland Pkwy box 457008
Las Vegas, NV 89154
(702) 895-2132
Send Email
Subjects:
English literature, theatre, history, philosophy
free full text 19th century resources
- Making of America (Michigan)
- Making of America (Cornell)
- Wright American Fiction (1851-1875)
- California Digital Newspaper Collection
- Georgia Historic Newspapers
- Florida Newspapers Collections
- Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection
- Chronicling America - The Library of Congress
- Google News Archive search
- Google Patent Search
- American Social History Online
Microfilm Research Collections
Description
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait