Skip to main content

CIL 616 (Canady): Library Guides

Resources to support CIL 616 Teaching Writing's Instructional Sequence Project

Locating Sources

The Quick Search box at the top of the library home page searches our book collection, articles, videos, etc. This is comparable to Google or Google Scholar. It searches our databases, too, and consolidates all of it into a single results list. Be sure to use the options on the right to refine your results. 

If you are searching for scholarly, peer-reviewed articles, you can use either Quick Search or go into a database. The databases are smaller collections of materials. Quick Search has millions of items; each database will include thousands. Some are interdisciplinary; others have a particular subject focus. They will all have some features that are geared toward their expected users. To view the full list of databases, click All Library Databases on the library homepage. Or see below for recommended education databases.

Education Databases

These databases are excellent sources for scholarly and research articles in education.

PLEASE NOTE: Most journal articles in these databases are available to you full-text online. Look for the PDF or "UNLV Find Text," which will search Quick Search for you, and give you a list of databases where there is full text for that article. Those that are not available full-text can be acquired via Interlibrary Loan at no cost with a turn-around time of 2 or 3 days.

Using Quick Search

Using Quick Search for Peer-Reviewed Articles

Filtering for Peer-Reviewed Articles

Using Quick Search for Practitioner Materials

You can easily search the Teacher Development & Resources Library collection. You can search specifically for books about teaching, including best practices and lesson plans.

 

Finding Articles Using EBSCO Databases (Education Full Text, ERIC, Professional Development Collection, etc.)

Graduate Handout re: Education Research

Education Librarian

Samantha Godbey's picture
Samantha Godbey
Contact:
LLB 1174
samantha.godbey@unlv.edu
702-895-2135
© University of Nevada Las Vegas
**