1785- Access is limited to 2-4 simultaneous users
Index to scholarly literature in the earth sciences.
Update frequency: Updated bimonthly
It includes books, maps, government publications, theses, dissertations, and conference proceedings. GeoRef's citations number nearly 3 million. Coverage of North American geology goes back to 1785; all other areas go back to 1933.
The Science Citation Index Expanded ® provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in approximately 5,900 of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines.
A comprehensive source of information about global change data from throughout the world. Data sets include coverage of the oceans, atmosphere, hydrosphere, solid earth, biosphere, and human dimensions of global change.
Documents volcanic eruptions going back 10,000 years. Access Monthly Bulletin of the Global Volcanism Network, which contains an archive of relevant maps, photos, and documents; Volcanoes of the World; and an annotated list of other websites.
Includes a list of the last 21 earthquakes worldwide, earthquake history of each state, lots of data on the largest earthquakes, plate tectonics, tsunami information, magnitude scales, links to more sites, and on and on.
The Southern California Earthquake Center (http://www.scec.org/), and The Northern California Earthquake Data Center (http://quake.geo.berkeley.edu/) all provide information and data about earthquakes in the surrounding area.
Time Magazine and Google provide a variety of global remote sensing datasets that can be viewed across a time-series. This Google EarthEngine viewer will display changes over time in landforms, human development and ice-cover.
Features a collection of links to Internet sites in geomorphology and other earth science disciplines. Website is in Polish and a translation service or application is necessary if you wish to view information in another language, such as English.
Also includes The Virtual Geomorphology (http://www.staff.amu.edu.pl/~sgp/gw/gw.htm), a hypertext textbook containing hundreds of articles and links about geomorphology and related subjects. Material is in Polish and a translation service or application is necessary if you wish to view information in another language, such as English.
Links to U.S. Government soil-related data and publications including Keys to Soil Taxonomy, the National Soil Characterization Database, official Soil Series Descriptions, and a list of published Soil Surveys.
This U.S. federal government website contains science and technical research results in many subjects of interest to the Department of Energy. This type of information was previously provided on the Department of Energy's Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) Information Bridge and the Energy Citations Database.
Data Observation Network for Earth (DataONE) provides a single search tool of Earth-related datasets that are stored in a variety of data archives. This webpage explains how to use the search tool (called ONEMercury).
Includes Nevada State Water Plan, Nevada Water Facts, a Water History of Nevada, and Nevada Hydrographic Regions. Links to other local, state, regional and national water-related agencies and organizations, information centers, and data sources.
Hydrologic and other data for use in research and hydrologic studies are available for review, as are water resource publications, information on national and international programs for water resources, and links to other USGS websites.
Primary agency for water management in the West. Link to Lower Colorado Regional Office which includes Lake Mead and Hoover Dam, or click on "Dataweb" to find information on dams and other projects throughout the country. Site is searchable.
This agency is involved in a number of ways with the nations waterways and wetlands. Site includes capability of searching Corps publications from 1995 to present and a Digital Visual Library of over 4,000 Corps images.
Searchable site provides access to the text of publications (newsletters, periodicals, reports), laws, regulations and legislation, and featured sites such as American Heritage Rivers and Local Drinking Water Information.
Discussion of and data on global warming organized in terms of Climate, Emissions, Impacts, and Actions. Site also provides access to publications (Sea Level Rise Reports, Greenhouse Gas Emission Reports, etc.) and links to other global warming sites.
Access Paleoclimate data and link to A Paleo Perspective on Global Warming (http://www.ngdc.noaa.gov/paleo/globalwarming/home.html) highlighting what paleoclimatic data are, where they come from, and what the data contributes to the global warming debate.
The National Snow and Ice Data Center (NSIDC) supports research into our world's frozen realms: the snow, ice, glaciers, frozen ground, and climate interactions that make up Earth's cryosphere. NSIDC manages and distributes scientific data, creates tools for data access, supports data users, performs scientific research, and educates the public about the cryosphere. NSIDC distributes more than 500 cryospheric data sets for researchers, from both satellite and ground observations.