UNLV Libraries Special Collections and Archives supports researchers worldwide in the interdisciplinary study of Las Vegas, Nevada, Southern Nevada, and gaming. UNLV Special Collections and Archives collects and preserves a variety of unique materials from photographs, documents, oral histories, and much more. Click on the links below to find different collections.
Photographs left to right:
Photograph of a Native American man and woman seated in a cart, Las Vegas (Nev) from the Ferron-Bracken Photograph Collection. Ferron-Bracken Photo Collection, 1890-1961. PH-00001. Special Collections and Archives, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.
Photograph of Native American children gathering pine nuts in Southern Nevada from the Elbert Edwards Photograph Collection. Elbert Edwards Photograph Collection, 1852-1991. PH-00214. Special Collections and Archives, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.
Photograph of a Native American woman sitting on a bench under a tree, Las Vegas (Nev.) from the Ferron-Bracken Photo Collection. Ferron-Bracken Photograph Collection, 1890-1961. PH-00001. Special Collections and Archives, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.
The UNLV Libraries Collection on the Las Vegas Paiute Tribe- (approximately 1974-1990) contain oral history transcripts of Paiute community members from approximately 1974 to 1977 and reproductions of Bureau of Indian Affairs correspondence, legal documents, annual reports, and census information regarding the area formerly known as the Las Vegas Indian Colony located in Las Vegas, Nevada. The documents contain information about the original transfer of property ownership from Helen J. Stewart to the United States, who acted on behalf of the Paiute people in 1911, the establishment of the original site location, and annual reports which include a narrative about the community, census information, and health reports of the population living in the area. The collection contains no original documents.
Katherine A. Spilde Papers in Native American Gaming- The Katherine A. Spilde Papers on Native American Gaming include materials collected by anthropologist Katherine Spilde about Native American gaming and the greater gaming industry.
Fort Mojave Indian School Records- The Fort Mojave Indian School Records (1890-1923) consist of correspondence, finance and administrative records, pump station blueprints, and policy implementation and fact finding records. The school served the Hualapai and Mojave Indians at a site near present-day Kingman, Arizona. The information is contained in two bound volumes.
Stewart-Knack Collection on Nevada Indians- The Omer C. Stewart and Martha C. Knack Collection on the Pyramid Lake Northern Paiute People and Reservation contains materials from 1831 to 1975 collected for Stewart's and Knack's book, As Long as the River Shall Run: An Ethnohistory of Pyramid Lake Indian Reservation. Materials include legal documents, correspondence, newspaper articles, maps, and ethnohistorical data.
Kathy Quinn Papers on the Paiute Indians- The Kathy Quinn Papers on the Paiute Indians (1969-1971) consists of photograph negatives, a kinship chart, an audio tape of Paiute vocabulary, family history, a paper listing Paiute words and their meanings. Also included are the uses of various herbs and plants and a brief autobiography of Stella Smith of the Las Vegas Indian Village.
Maryellen Vallier Sadovich Papers- The Maryellen Vallier Sadovich Papers include transcripts and handwritten and photocopied documents pertaining to early Nevada history from 1852 to 1934. Documents include information about the boundaries of Nevada; mail service contracts between Utah and California; documents from the Department of the Interior, Office ofIndian Affairs concerning reservations in Southern Nevada; a copy of Gibb's Phonetic alphabet of Southern Nevada Native American languages; maps of tributaries in Southern Nevada; notes about the National Archives photographic holdings of Nevada; and documents from mining reports.