LibGuides: Anthropology: Finding Books

About this Page

On this page, you can:

look at call number ranges for subject areas within anthropology
learn how to find archaeological monographs, or
view a list of selected reference books.

Call Number Ranges

At UNLV Libraries, items are cataloged and shelved using Library of Congress classification. Here are the call number ranges for subject areas in Anthropology. Use these call numbers to locate books in specific subject areas.

CC	1-960	Archaeology
E	51-74	Pre-Columbian America
E	75-100	Indians of North AMerica
GN	1-890	Anthropology
GR	1-950	Folklore
GT	1-9999	Manners & Customs (General)
HT	1501-1595	Races

Finding "monographs" of archaeological digs or excavations.

A monograph is a detailed written study of a single, very specialized subject. An archaeological monograph is a study of an archaeological excavation site. To locate monographs of archaeological excavations, use the Search the catalog box at the top of this page. Using the drop down menu, select "subject" and enter the search excavations archaeology, then click "search". You will be taken to a list of items cataloged under the subject excavations archaeology and then broken down alphabetically by regions, etc. Note at the top of the page that you can limit your search in various ways, including by time period.

Not all items will be descriptions of a unique archaeological site. You may come across archaeological surveys, personal narratives, and other general works on archaeological digs in a particular area.

Please note that you can search the catalog in a variety of ways using the tabs at the top of the search tool, e.g. subject, keywords, etc.

Examples of useful subject terms for monographs (books) of archaeological site reports for assignments are as follows:

excavations (archaeology) Arizona
excavations (archaeology) Oregon
excavations (archaeology) Nevada
excavations (archaeology) Utah
excavations (archaeology) Mexico
Note: For other locations add a geographic area of your choice after the phrase Excavations (archaeology) e.g., Great Basin, Yucatan,

You can also search for specific sites:

The name or type of archaeological site can be searched via Catalog Search by Keyword or Subject. Try both for a comprehensive search.

Danger cave
Lovelock Cave
Rockshelter

Limiting your results by time period, e.g., before 1959.

The easiest way to limit your results by time period is to look at the catalog description of the monograph. The date of publication will be indicated.

Research Guides and Reference Books

Anthropological Resources: A Guide to Archival, Library and Museum Collections
Call Number: GN14 A77 1999
Introduction to Library Research in Anthropology
Call Number: Z5111 W44 1998
Forensic Archaeology, 4-Vol. Set by Linda Fibiger (Editor); Douglas H. Ubelaker (Editor)
Call Number: CC79.F67 F67 2016 v.1 - 4
ISBN: 9781138014244
Publication Date: 2015-12-07
Recent years have witnessed a surge of interest in the application of archaeological knowledge and methodology to medico-legal issues. Forensic Archaeology has rapidly emerged as a vital speciality. This new four-volume collection from Routledge, assembled and introduced by a transatlantic editorial team, brings together foundational and cutting-edge major works to enable users to make sense of a vast--and rapidly growing--corpus of scholarship. The gathered materials have been carefully selected to highlight the key issues and debates in the development and contemporary practice of Forensic Archaeology. It is certain to be welcomed as a vital one-stop research tool.

Encyclopedia of Immigration and Migration in the American West This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia entries about American Indians and immigrant groups in the U.S.

21st Century Anthropology by H. James Birx (Editor)
ISBN: 1412957389
Publication Date: 2010-06-10
Via 100 entries or 'mini-chapters,' the SAGE 21st Century Reference Series volumes on Anthropology will highlight the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates any student obtaining a degree in the field of anthropology ought to have mastered for effectiveness in the 21st century. The purpose is to provide undergraduate students with an authoritative reference source that will serve their research needs with more detailed information than encyclopedia entries but not so much jargon, detail or density as a journal article or a research handbook chapter.
Companion Encyclopedia of Anthropology by Tim Ingold
ISBN: 0415021375
Publication Date: 1993-12-08
This companion provides a comprehensive survey of contemporary thinking in biological, social and cultural anthropology. In bringing these three fields together, it establishes their interconnections, and lays the foundations for an integrated perspective on the conditions of human life appropriate to the challenges of the future. In 35 chapters, a selection of the world's leading authorities present their own visions in their different fields and chart out new directions of inquiry.
Handbook of Palaeodemography by Isabelle Seguy; Luc Buchet; Daniel Courgeau (Contribution by); Henri Caussinus (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9783319015538
Publication Date: 2014-01-20
This book examines methods for linking osteo-archaeological data with historical and environmental sources to shed light on the living conditions of past populations. Covering all time periods from prehistory to the 20th century, it aims to construct models that capture plausible demographic dynamics from highly fragmentary evidence. Starting from the known in order to explore the unknown, this book presents a historical view of methods used in the past and present as well as proposes original ones. The paleodemographic methods presented in this handbook have been tested on anthropological and archaeological data and can easily be applied. This manual represents a fruitful collaboration between historical demographers and anthropological archaeologists who, with the help of mathematicians and statisticians, detail research that opens an important historical dimension to the discipline. Written in a readily understandable manner, it serves as an ideal resource for those wishing to interpret ancient bones in demographic terms.
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology by Carol R. Ember (Editor); Melvin Ember (Editor)
ISBN: 0306477548
Publication Date: 2003-12-31
Medical practitioners and the ordinary citizen are becoming more aware that we need to understand cultural variation in medical belief and practice. The more we know how health and disease are managed in different cultures, the more we can recognize what is "culture bound" in our own medical belief and practice. The Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology is unique because it is the first reference work to describe the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures and to provide an overview of important topics in medical anthropology. No other single reference work comes close to marching the depth and breadth of information on the varying cultural background of health and illness around the world. More than 100 experts - anthropologists and other social scientists - have contributed their firsthand experience of medical cultures from around the world.
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences by James D. Wright (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780080970875
Publication Date: 2015-02-17
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes. Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields Discusses history, current trends and future directions Topics are cross-referenced with related topics and each article highlights further reading

Anthropology

About this Page

Call Number Ranges

Finding "monographs" of archaeological digs or excavations.

Research Guides and Reference Books

Locations

Contact