LibGuides: PUA 241: Survey of Public Administration

Subject Guide

Email Me

Contact:

UNLV Libraries
Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Box 457014
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7014
susie.skarl@unlv.edu

702-895-2141

Subjects: Communication Studies, Couple & Family Therapy, Criminal Justice, Crisis & Emergency Management, Government Information, Journalism & Media Studies, Public Administration, Social Work, Urban Studies

Finding Data & Statistics

UNLV Libraries - Gateway to Government Information This link opens in a new window
Information on how to find publications that are produced by government agencies covering a wide variety of topics
Government information resources include Congressional laws and hearings, nutrition, crime, diseases, endangered species, immigration, and much more. The U.S. federal government is also the world's greatest collector and publisher of statistics.

Legislative Information

Proquest Congressional
U.S. legislative information, including access to many full-text Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, committee information, and more
Thomas (from the Library of Congress)
Provides bill searching and other information about the legislative process, members of Congress, Congressional Record, and U.S. Code.
Las Vegas Municipal Code

Think Tanks

Some Leading Think Tanks

Think tanks are wonderful sources for current policy thought. Most have full-text publications available on their sites written by issue experts. Here are a few that you may want to check out:

Brookings Institution
The "Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC. ...its ...mission is to conduct high-quality, independent research and, based on that research, to provide innovative, practical recommendations. ... consistently ranked as the most influential, most quoted and most trusted think tank."
Heritage Foundation
Conservative public policy group "committed to building an America where freedom, opportunity, prosperity and civil society flourish."
National Center for Policy Analysis
Very conservative policy group whose mission is "to develop and promote private, free-market alternatives to government regulation and control, solving problems by relying on the strength of the competitive, entrepreneurial private sector."
Center for American Progress
This liberal public policy research group aims to "combine bold policy ideas with a modern communications platform to help shape the national debate, expose the hollowness of conservative governing philosophy, and challenge the media to cover the issues that truly matter."
Institute for Policy Research
Full text content includes many working papers and policy briefs on topics such as health care policy, government, feminist policy, communications and media---a much acclaimed scholarly group at Northwestern Univ.

Policy Reports from Think Tanks and Research Organizations

PolicyArchive
Indiana Univ./Purdue's comprehensive digital library of public policy research, containing over 27,000 documents from major think tanks, eg. Rand, Cato Institute, etc. Has a subject index and an internal search engine. Exceptional!
Policy Library
A large database of free, online full-text studies from leading research organizations. Many public policy and international relations papers archived here.

Check Out UNLV Libraries Quick Search Page!

Check out the NEW library Quick Search. Search for books, articles, and more all from one search box!

http://library.unlv.edu/

Quick Search/Library Catalog Tutorial

Don't Forget to Check Out the Book Catalog!

Handbook of public policy evaluation
Call Number: H97 .H359 2002
Cases in public policy analysis
Call Number: H97 .G84 2011

In the library catalog, try keyword searches to begin your research. Here are a few search examples & materials:

Keyword searches:

policy analysis
public administration and evaluation
poverty and policy
environment and policy analysis

UNLV Library Databases

CQ Researcher
In depth research on controversial topics ranging from social issues to environment, health, education, science, and technology issues.

Below are some great databases to help you get started:

Academic Search Premier
This excellent one-stop resource lets you search articles from academic and professional journals and magazines covering every academic discipline.
more...less...
Dates covered: 1975 - present
Las Vegas Review Journal (1996-Present)
Proquest Newspapers
Newspaper Source
Full List of UNLV Newspaper Databases & Resources
Business Source Premier
Scholarly journals and business periodicals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business along with country reports, company profiles, industry profiles and SWOT analyses.
ABI/INFORM
Articles in advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers and information on 60,000+ companies.
JSTOR
An archive of more than 700 important scholarly journals covering business, ecology, education, ethnic studies, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and sociology with content ending 3-5 years ago.

PUA 241: Survey of Public Administration