MFT 150: Personal Growth

Though you might be tempted to use Google to search for information you can use, there are better resources out there that will lead you to quality information (and leave out the chaff that often makes up half of the links in a Google results list).  Try these resources:

• Academic Search Premier: A library database/index to periodical literature (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals).  It will provide you with links to articles that are appropriate for this project.
• The library Quick Search tool: Search for books, articles, video documentaries, and government documents.

Tips for searching library databases or indexes:

• To get fewer and more pinpointed search results, add multiple concepts to your search.  For example, if you want to look for techniques to relieve test anxiety, you might search for test AND anxiety AND college students AND managing.
• If you want to find an exact phrase, surround it in quotes  "just like this".
• Use the word AND between each concept you search for, or Academic Search Premier will read your words as a phrase.
• Use an asterisk (*) to truncate words.  Searching for psych* will get you results containing the words psychology, psychological, psychologist, etc.
• Use the Subject box on the left of the results screen to narrow down your search.
• Click the Get Text or UNLV Find Text box or the full text link to get full text access to articles you find.

In-Text Citations

To cite sources in-text, use the last name of the author that provided the information you cited and the year of the publication.  This information should appear in parentheses after the information or quote that you're citing. 

Example:

The development of cooking helped Homo erectus derive more nutrients from food, allowing them to grow larger brains and eventually evolve into Homo sapiens (Brahic, 2010).

 Exact quotations should include the page number as well.

Example:

According to Brahic (2010), "The key stumbling block for the theory that our early ancestors cooked their food is that as yet there is no convincing evidence that hominins could control fire more than a million years ago" (p. 12).

Bibliography Citations

Your bibliography (sometimes referred to as a "Works Cited" list) should consist of all the sources you cited throughout your poster.  Journal articles you cite should follow this format:

Author'sLastName, Author'sFirstandMiddleInitials. (PublicationYear). Title of article. Journal in which article appears, Volume#(Issue#), FirstPage-LastPage. doi:http://dx.doi.org/xx.xx/yyyy.

Example:

Brahic, C. (2010). I cook, therefore I am...human. New Scientist, 207(2769): 12.    (this is a one page article, that does not have a doi number)

For more examples of in-text and bibliography citations, consult this help guide.