Academic Search Premier
full text
1975-present.
Searchable articles from academic and professional journals and magazines covering every academic discipline. [more+]
BuildingGreen Suite
full text
Articles, reviews, product information and news on sustainable building. [more+]
Dissertations and Theses
citations 1861-;
abstracts 1980-;
full text 1997-.
Full text of most dissertations produced after 1997; citations and abstracts for others. [more+]
Encyclopedia of Global Change
full text
current edition.
Encyclopedia articles on physical, climatic, and man-made phenomena that change life on Earth. [more+]
Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management
1967-.
Index to literature from scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, books, and government publications. [more+]
Gallup Brain
full text
1935-.
Database of public opinions. Also contains in-depth public opinion and management data analyses. [more+]
GreenFILE
Coverage about the impact of humans on the environment from government,
general and scholarly publications can be found in this resource. [more+]
Greenwire, Environment and Energy Daily, and Land Letter
full text
1996-.
Environmental current events information [more+]
National Technical Information Service
1964-.
Access is limited to 2-4 simultaneous users.
Citations and summaries of U.S. Government-sponsored research, development, and engineering reports. [more+]
PAIS International
1972-.
Index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. [more+]
PolicyFile
Index (including some full-text reports) to public policy in the areas
of economics, politics, the environment, and social issues. [more+]
RefWorks
Bibliography manager saves your citations and formats them into APA, MLA, or other styles. [more+]
Scopus
1960-.
Scopus is an index to peer-reviewed scientific, medical, technical, and social science literature. [more+]
General Environmental-Related Government Databases
Science.gov (http://www.science.gov/)
Science.gov contains reliable information resources selected by U.S.
government science agencies as their best science information. Two
major types of information are included: Selected authoritative science
websites and databases of technical reports, journal articles,
conference proceedings, and other published materials.
U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) (http://www.doe.gov/)
Searchable gateway to DOE publications, news, offices, and information.
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (http://www.epa.gov/)
Gateway to EPA resources. Site is searchable, and offers full-text
access to a large number of agency publications, including the EPA
Journal (click on Information Sources).
U.S. Department of Interior (http://www.doi.gov)
Searchable site focusing on Department of Interior programs and
offices, including collaborative conservation efforts, mineral
resources and statistics, National Parks, wildlife refuges, and public
lands.
NASA: National Aeronautics & Space Administration (http://www.nasa.gov)
Searchable site features news and events; links for kids, students,
educators, and the media; and links to popular topics such as the Space
Shuttle, the solar system, and stars and galaxies.
National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) (http://www.noaa.gov/)
The NOAA web siteprovides extensive resources and research focusing on
weather, oceans, satellites, fisheries, and climate.
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (http://www.niehs.nih.gov/)
A division of the National Institute of Health. Site is searchable and
includes answers to health related questions, fact sheets, and
pamphlets. Also connects to the homepages of specific NIEH programs
such as the National Toxicology Program and the Environmental Genome Project.
National Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) (http://www.nrcs.usda.gov/)
This U.S. Department of Agriculture site links to a variety of
databases, fact sheets, and NRCS publications. Includes information on
soils, water quality, buffers, wetlands, and grazing lands.
State of the Land (http://www.nrcs.usda.gov/technical/land/)
This site provides data and analysis on land use, soil erosion, water
quality, wetlands, and other issues regarding the conservation and use
of natural resources.
Science/Environmental Studies Statistical Sites
AirData (http://www.epa.gov/air/data/index.html)
Website provides air pollution data for the entire U.S.
Bureau of Land Management: Public Land Statistics (http://www.blm.gov/nhp/browse.htm)
Site provides links to Public Land Statistics from 1996-present.
Office of Surface Mining Statistics (http://www.osmre.gov/statisti.htm)
Site provides statistics on abandoned mining lands and regulation of active coalmines.
U.S. Coal Production (http://www.osmre.gov/coalprodindex.htm)
Annual coal production statistics from 1978-present.
Commodity Minerals (http://minerals.er.usgs.gov/minerals/pubs/commodity/)
Statistics and information on the worldwide supply, demand, and flow of
minerals and materials essential to the U.S. economy, protection of the
environment, and national security.
International Minerals (http://minerals.er.usgs.gov/minerals/pubs/country/)
Site contains annual reviews designed to provide timely statistical data on mineral commodities in various countries.
State Minerals & Statistics Information (http://minerals.er.usgs.gov/minerals/pubs/state/)
State chapters from the Minerals Yearbook (Volume II. -- Area Reports:
Domestic) are designed to provide statistical data and information for
mineral commodities on a state-by-state basis.
Water Resources Data (http://water.usgs.gov/data.html)
Searchable site provides links to data from the National Water
Information System Website (NWISWeb) and WaterWatch (current water
resources conditions), as well as information on water usage, acid
rain, and several other water-related topics.
Science/Environmental Studies Research Databases
DOE Information Bridge (http://www.osti.gov/bridge/)
Department of Energy (DOE) and Government Printing Office (GPO)
collaboration that provides access to full-text DOE research and
development reports in physics, chemistry, biology, environmental
cleanup, energy technologies, and more.
GrayLIT Network (http://www.osti.gov/graylit/)
The GrayLIT Network was developed by the Department of Energy's Office
of Scientific & Technical Information (OSTI) in collaboration with
DOD/DTIC, NASA, and EPA. GrayLIT Network is a portal for technical
reports generated through federally funded research and development
projects.
Environmental Information Management Systems (EIMS) (http://www.epa.gov/eims/eims.html)
A searchable EPA site that provides descriptive information (metadata)
for data sets, databases, documents, models, projects, and spatial
data. Some resources can be downloaded directly from EIMS.
U. S. Geological Survey (http://www.usgs.gov/)
Searchable site with information on the earth sciences and the
environment. Contains resources on natural contaminants, ecosystems and
management, energy and environment, global change, and policy and
guidance. Also includes educational resources for cartography,
geography, and related disciplines.
GEOS Open-File Reports (http://agram.wr.usgs.gov/GEOS/open_file_reports.html)
Open-File Reports of earthquake and aftershock data collected by the
United States Geological Survey (USGS) General Earthquake Observation
System (GEOS) project in Menlo Park, California.
Licensing Support Network (LSN) (http://www.lsnnet.gov/)
The
Licensing Support Network (LSN) contains documents relating to the
Yucca Mountain licensing proceeding conducted by the U.S. Nuclear
Regulatory Commission. The LSN is the single place where the parties
and potential parties to the licensing hearing can search and access
fulltext materials relating to Yucca Mountain repository licensing
information.
National Center for Environmental Health (http://www.cdc.gov/nceh/default.htm)
A division of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, this site
includes full-text fact sheets and brochures, and the Morbidity and
Mortality Weekly Report Series.
National Climatic Data Center (NCDC) (http://lwf.ncdc.noaa.gov/oa/ncdc.html)
"NCDC is the world's largest active archive of weather data." Site is
searchable by city, keyword, or station name. Users can also browse by
data type (including Satellite, Radar, and Climate). Site also offers
an extensive guide to climate resources and statistics.
U. S. Fish and Wildlife Service (http://www.fws.gov/)
Searchable site with information on environmental contaminants,
invasive species, endangered species, the National Wetland Inventory,
and more.
Visit the UNLV Libraries Gateway to Government Information for more resources!
What is Google Scholar?
Google Scholar
searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses,
books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of
research. Google Scholar searches a variety of undisclosed academic
publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and
universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
The full text of many items is freely available online, although in
some instances abstracts with links to pay-per-view document delivery
services are displayed.
While we encourage you to try Google Scholar, keep in mind that this software is 'in Beta.' Beta status indicates that Google Scholar is still in development, and you may therefore encounter some inconsistencies or peculiarities
For details on how to search on Google Scholar, visit the UNLV Libraries Google Scholar FAQ page!
Try some keyword searching in the library catalog. Here are some examples:
ebrary
full text
dates of coverage vary.
Digital copies of more than 30,000 complete books, reports and other resources covering all academic subject areas.
NetLibrary
full text
dates of coverage vary.
Digital copies of more than 3,000 complete books, reports and other resources covering all academic subject areas.
For the full list of electronic resources, visit the Electronic Resources page.
Document Delivery/Interlibrary Loan
The Document Delivery Services (DDS) department is here to help UNLV students, staff, and faculty access information that is not available from the UNLV Libraries. We are able to obtain most books, articles, conference papers, government publications, and dissertations through our network of lending libraries.
In order to register for and use our ILLiad Document Delivery system, you must have an active library account with no fines on it.
DDS Requests can be made 24 hours a day using the ILLiad Document Delivery system. Please check the Library Catalog (for book and journal titles) and the UNLV Print and Online Journal Subscriptions (for journal titles) before making requests for materials we do not own.
Use the links below to access our services:
Log on to your ILLiad account (place orders, update your info)
Create your new ILLiad account