What is Google Scholar?
Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. Google Scholar searches a variety of undisclosed academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. The full text of many items is freely available online, although in some instances abstracts with links to pay-per-view document delivery services are displayed.
The Graduate Student Commons in located in Lied Library, Room 2141.
Visit the GPSA website for news, updates, and a schedule of events & seminars for fall semester!
)
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowU.S. Department of Justice (http://www.usdoj.gov/)
Searchable gateway to the Department of Justice, including publications, legal documents, strategic plans, and annual reports.
Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms, U.S. Dept. of the Treasury (http://www.atf.gov/)
Searchable website providing news and information, publications, regulations, links for kids, most wanted criminals, and more.
U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) (http://www.usdoj.gov/dea/)
Gateway to information on drug trafficking and abuse, law enforcement, drug policy, and DEA resources.
Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI) (http://www.fbi.gov)
Links to full-text resources on terrorism, most wanted terrorist and fugitive lists, and kids and youth resources.
Office of National Drug Control Policy, Executive Office of the President (http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs)
The White House Office of National Drug Control Policy (ONDCP), a component of the Executive Office of the President, was established by the Anti-Drug Abuse Act of 1988. The ONDCP web site provides links to an extensive publications list, drug facts, and treatment programs, as well as information about state, local, and international drug use statistics and prevention efforts.
U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) (http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/)
The BJS website containing data on crime and victims, law enforcement, prosecution, criminal offenders, and corrections. Additionally, the Publications menu features full-text publications about drugs, gun violence, capital punishment, and more. Nevada's crime statistics may be found here.
Crime & Justice Data Online (http://bjsdata.ojp.usdoj.gov/dataonline/)
Website contains data concerning the following: Crime trends from the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports, homicide trends and characteristics by state and local agencies, law enforcement management, and administrative statistics
Uniform Crime Reports (http://www.fbi.gov/ucr/ucr.htm)
According to its website, "UCR is a city, county, and state law enforcement program which provides a nationwide view of crime based on the submission of statistics by law enforcement agencies throughout the country." Some of the statistical categories include homicide, robbery, burglary, and aggravated assault.
Crime and Victims Statistics: http://bjs.ojp.usdoj.gov/index.cfm?ty=tp&tid=9 Criminal victimization statistic reports. Reports include victim characteristics such as female victims, elderly victims, teenage victims. Crime characteristics types of crime, victim/offender relationship, weapon use, place of occurrence, cost of crime.
CrimeMapping.com: http://www.crimemapping.com/
National site that provides public access to crime information for various jurisdictions (including Las Vegas).
Try some keyword searching in the library catalog. Here are some examples:
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowInterlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan is here to help UNLV students, staff, and faculty access information that is not available from the UNLV Libraries. We are able to obtain most books, articles, conference papers, government publications, and dissertations through our network of lending libraries.
In order to register for and use our ILLiad Document Delivery system, you must have an active library account with no fines on it.
DDS Requests can be made 24 hours a day using the ILLiad Document Delivery system. Please check the Library Catalog (for book and journal titles) and the UNLV Print and Online Journal Subscriptions (for journal titles) before making requests for materials we do not own.
Use the links below to access our services:
Log on to your ILLiad account (place orders, update your info)
Create your new ILLiad account