LibGuides: JOUR 305: Media Ethics

Subject Guide

Email Me

Contact:

UNLV Libraries
Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Box 457014
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7014
susie.skarl@unlv.edu

702-895-2141

Subjects: Communication Studies, Couple & Family Therapy, Criminal Justice, Crisis & Emergency Management, Government Information, Journalism & Media Studies, Public Administration, Social Work, Urban Studies

Professional Associations/Organizations

Journalism & Media Ethics Code Resources

Ethical Journalism Initiative
A collection of reports and new stories on ethical topics from the International Federation of Journalists: "the world’s largest organisation of journalists, working across all sectors and representing more than 600,000 news staff in unions and associations of journalists from 120 countries."
Ethics--Poynter Institute
Ethics Resources (Center for Journalism Ethics, University of Wisconsin)
This page contains a collection of ethics guidelines from various news organizations worldwide. These include specific news outlets, parent news companies, and trade associations working in different media.
Mobile Marketing Association Code of Ethics
NYU Journalism Handbook for Students - Ethics, Law, and Good Practice
An online handbook of journalism ethics with opportunities for readers to comment.
PRSA--Ethics
Society of Professional Journalists--Ethics

Media Watchdog Groups--Web Resources

Center for Media & Democracy
Nonprofit, public interest organization dedicated to investigative reporting on the public relations industry.
FAIR: Fairness & Accuracy in Reporting
A national organization monitoring the media for bias and censorship since 1986.
Media Matters
This nonprofit, progressive research and information center monitors, analyzes, and corrects conservative misinformation in the U.S. media.
Project Censored
Highlighting the role of a free press in a free society, Project Censored monitors news coverage and reports on stories that have been censored or "overlooked."
No Place to Hide
In support of the Center for Investigative Reporting. No Place to Hide links to investigations into surveillance and data collection on the part of the U.S. government since 9/11.
Media Research Center
Factcheck.org
"A nonpartisan, nonprofit 'consumer advocate' for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. We monitor the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases." A project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania.

Local Sources (Las Vegas, Clark County, etc.)

Las Vegas Review Journal (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1996-
Full text of articles, not including images.

Broadcast Transcripts

Access Broadcast Transcripts
Transcripts from local news in major media markets
Lexis Nexis (broadcast transcripts only)

Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Regional newspapers and broadcast television transcripts.
Newspaper Source provides full text coverage for 40 national and international newspapers including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Times (London), and The Toronto Star. Selected full text is offered from more than 330 regional newspapers including The Buffalo News, Orange County Register, Philadelphia Inquirer, San Francisco Chronicle, and St. Louis Post-Dispatch. Full text transcripts are available from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, National Public Radio, and more.

Media Coverage Analysis

Articles, Books and More

This is the main search box on the library home page.

QuickSearch searches through most of the online journals and books available through the UNLV Libraries. It searches many of the newspaper subscriptions, but not all of them - see the links below to newspaper databases.

Databases--Newspapers, Magazine Articles & Scholarly Journal Resources

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable published news, legal, medical and business information.
The news section delivers the full text of international, national and regional newspapers along with wire services, broadcast transcripts, magazines, and non-English language sources. The legal section contains U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews and international legal information. This includes Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789. The medical section supplies information from news and medical journals, and provides abstracts to medical news from Medline. The business section includes business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.

Access NewsBank
World and US news, business news, and news magazines.

US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1980s-
Searchable current and recent articles from newspapers, including Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, New York Times and the Wall Street Journal.
Full text of articles from major national newspapers: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, The Christian Science Monitor, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Seattle Post-Intelligencer, USA Today. Also included are the New York Times Book Review, the New York Times Magazine, and the Las Vegas Review Journal.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Regional newspapers and broadcast television transcripts.
Newspaper Source provides full text coverage for 40 national and international newspapers including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Times (London), and The Toronto Star. Selected full text is offered from more than 330 regional newspapers including The Buffalo News, Orange County Register, Philadelphia Inquirer, San Francisco Chronicle, and St. Louis Post-Dispatch. Full text transcripts are available from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, National Public Radio, and more.
Las Vegas Review Journal (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1996-
Full text of articles, not including images.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1900-
Journal articles in the fields of communication and mass media studies .
Update frequency: weekly
Communication & Mass Media Complete contains journal articles in the fields of communication and mass media studies. It merges CommSearch (formerly produced by the NCA, National Communication Association) and the Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Communication & Mass Media Complete provides current issues and backfiles of in the fields of communication and mass media.
Communication and Media Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1950-
Full text of 16 communications journals published by Sage.
This communication collection includes the full text of journals published by Sage and participating societies. It covers such subjects as journalism, public opinion, political communication, mass communication, interpersonal communication, cultural studies, intercultural communication, television & film studies, media studies, business communication, organizational & management communication, written communication, rhetoric, and literacy studies.

JOUR 305: Media Ethics