JMS 708: JMS 708 FALL 2013 Topics

UNLV LIbrary Quick Search: Search for books, ebooks, journal articles, newspaper articles, etc. Great place to begin an interdisciplinary search.

Library Catalog: Books/ebooks/media resources

For Broadcast Television Transcripts: Newspaper Source, LexisNexisAcademic (Go to "By Source Type" dropdown menu & scroll down to Broadcast Transcripts, Vanderbilt Television News Archive

Don't forget to check out the Dissertations & Theses database to see if scholars have focused on a topic related to or similar to yours.

Try searching on Google Scholar! Since many of your topics are interdisciplinary, Google Scholar is an excellent place to search. In order to see if UNLV Libraries owns the resources, click on Settings & search for University of Nevada, Las Vegas in the  Library Links box. Remember to check out: Cited by & Related articles links.

Are you focusing on a government-related topic? If you are, you can limit your Google search to .gov. After typing in your keywords, add site:.gov to the search.

WorldCat: One of the world's largest citation databases. You can search dissertations, conference proceedings, papers, etc. 

Search Alerts in Databases: Make the databases work for you! Set up a "Search Alert" on your topics! You will get regular updates on topics that you choose.

·  Topic: Media Coverage and Framing of Anthropogenic Climate Change: An Analysis of the Las Vegas Review-Journal and the Las Vegas Sun.

Sources:

 ** Ahchong, K., & Dodds, R. (2012). Anthropogenic climate change coverage in two Canadian newspapers, the Toronto Star and the Globe and Mail, from   1988 to 2007. Environmental Science & Policy, 15(1), 48-59.
**Antilla, L. (2005). Climate of scepticism: US newspaper coverage of the science of climate change. Global Environmental Change, 15(4), 338-352.
·**Boykoff, M. T., & Boykoff, J. M. (2004). Balance as bias: Global warming and the US prestige press. Global Environmental Change, 14(2), 125-136.

Subject Searches in Library Catalog:

Sources:

·         Abe, P., & Jordan, N. A. (2013). Integrating social media into the classroom curriculum. About Campus, 18(1), 16-20. doi:10.1002/abc.21107

·         Barczyk, C. C., & Duncan, D. G. (2013). Facebook in higher education courses: An analysis of students’ attitudes, community of practice, and classroom community.International Business and Management, 6(1), 1-11.

·         Bex Lewis, & David Rush. (2013). Experience of developing twitter-based communities of practice in higher education. Research in Learning Technology, 21, 1-13.

·         Bouwma-Gearhart, J. L., & Bess, J. L. (2012). The transformative potential of blogs for research in higher education. The Journal of Higher Education, 83(2), 249-275. doi:10.1353/jhe.2012.0008

Subject Search: Library Catalog--Education -- Effect of technological innovations on

·         Brown, J. D. (2002). Mass media influences on sexuality. The Journal of Sex Research, 39(1, Promoting Sexual Health and Responsible Sexual Behavior), 42-45.

·         Johnston, D. H. (2003). Sexual content in film and television. Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications, 169.

·         Malamuth, N. M. (1996). Sexually explicit media, gender differences, and evolutionary theory. Journal of Communication, 46(3), 8-31.

·         Engeseth, S. (2009). The fall of pr and the rise of advertising. Stockholm: Stefan Engeseth Publishing.

·         Garner, N. K. (2016). Are you in? inc, pr’s alter ego. n/a: The Garner Brand.

·         Yan, J. (2011) Social media in branding: Fulfilling a need. Journal of Brand Management, (18), 688-696.

·         Lather, J., & Moyer-Guse, E. (2011). How do we react when our favorite characters are taken away? An examination of a temporary parasocial breakup.Mass Communication and Society, 14(2), 196-215.

·         Cohen, J. (2004). Parasocial break-up from favorite television characters: The role of attachment styles and relationship intensity. Journal of Social and Personal Relationships, 21(2), 187-202.

·         Schramm, H., & Hartmann, T. (2008). The PSI-Process Scales. A new measure to assess the intensity and breadth of parasocial processes.Communications, 33(4), 385-401.

·         Müller, V. C., (2008). Would you mind being watched by machines? Privacy concerns in datamining. Journal AI & Society, 23(4), 529­544.

·         Squicciarini, A. C., Shehab, M., & Wede, J., (2010). Privacy policies for shared content in social network sites. The VLDB Journal, 19(6), 777­796.

·         Williams, F., (2006). Internet privacy policies: A composite index for measuring compliance to the fair information principles. Federal Trade Commission Report. Retrieved from http://www.ftc.gov/os/comments/behavioraladvertising/071010feliciawilliams.pdf

·         Frith, K., Shaw, P., & Cheng, H. (2005). The construction of beauty: A cross-cultural analysis of women’s magazine advertising. The Journal of Communication, 55(1), 56-70.

·         Granatino, R. (2013). Body image, confidence, and media influence: A study of middle school adolescents. The Journal of Applied Business Research, 29(1), 45-50.

·         Strickland, J. (2013). Beautiful lies: You are more than *what men think * what you see in the mirror *what magazines tell you. Eugene : Harvest House Publishers.

Subject Search in Library Catalog: Body image in women -- Social aspects -- United States

Link+ (Link Plus)

What is LINK+?

LINK+ is a book request service that uses a shared library catalog to allow UNLV students, staff and faculty to search for and borrow over 8 million books and documents from over 40 libraries throughout California and Nevada.
How does it work?

If you don't find the book you are looking for in the Library Catalog, click on the button to automatically search for your book in the LINK+ catalog.

If the book is available, click on "Request this item" while viewing the full record.

Choose Univ of Nevada Las Vegas as your institution.

Enter your name in the top box and your Libraries barcode in the second box.

Choose your preferred pickup location in the second drop-down box. Click "Submit".

You will be notified by email when the item arrives in 2-4 days.

Interlibrary Loan

The Document Delivery Services (DDS) department is here to help UNLV students, staff, and faculty access information that is not available from the UNLV Libraries. We are able to obtain most books, articles, conference papers, government publications, and dissertations through our network of lending libraries.

In order to register for and use our ILLiad Document Delivery system, you must have an active library account with no fines on it.

DDS Requests can be made 24 hours a day using the ILLiad Document Delivery system. Please check the Library Catalog (for book and journal titles) and the UNLV Print and Online Journal Subscriptions (for journal titles) before making requests for materials we do not own.

Use the links below to access our services:

Log on to your ILLiad account (place orders, update your info)

Create your new ILLiad account

What is Google Scholar?
Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. Google Scholar searches a variety of undisclosed academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. The full text of many items is freely available online, although in some instances abstracts with links to pay-per-view document delivery services are displayed.

While we encourage you to try Google Scholar, keep in mind that this software is 'in Beta.' Beta status indicates that Google Scholar is still in development, and you may therefore encounter some inconsistencies or peculiarities.

Remember to check into Cited by links & Related Articles links!

·         Cecil-Karb, R., Grogan-Kaylor, A. (2009). Childhood body mass index in community context: Neighborhood safety, television viewing, and growth trajectories of BMI. Health and social work, 34(3), 169-177.

·         Durant, D. H., Baranowski, T. (1994). The relationship among television watching, physical activity, and body composition of young children. Pediatrics, 94(4), 449.

·         Zimmerman, F. J. & Bell, J. F. (2010). Associations of television content type and obesity in children. Am J Public Health. 334–340. doi: 10.2105/AJPH.2008.155119

·         Delgado, James P. (2009). Nuclear Dawn: The Atomic Bomb from the Manhattan Project to the Cold War. New York: Oxford-Ospray Publishers.

·         Stone, Robert. (1988). “Radio Bikini.” (Documentary video). Retrieved from http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4c14uudVDG8

·         Weisgall, Jonathan. (1994). Operation Crossroads: The Atomic Tests at Bikini Atoll. Annapolis: Naval Institute Press.

·         Cossar, Harper. “Televised Gold and the Creation of Narrative.” Film and History 35.1 (2005): 52-59. Web.

·         Gallwey, W. Timothy. The Inner Game of Golf. New York: Random House, 1981. Print.

·         Hood, Matthew. “The Tiger Woods Scandal: A Cautionary Tale for Event Studies.” Managerial Finance 38.5 (2012): 543-58. Print.

·         Owen, David. The Chosen One: Tiger Woods and the Dilemma of Greatness. New York: Simon & Schuster, 2001. Print.

·         Arabatzis, G., & Myronidis, D. (2011). Contribution of SHP stations to the development of an area and their social acceptance. Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews, 15(8), 3909-3917. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.rser.2011.07.026

·         Kang, C. (2009), Communication technologies: diffusion of online news and credibility among young web users in the information age" UNLV Theses/Dissertations/Professional Papers/Capstones. Paper 154.

·         Virtual Rebel. (2013). Clean Energy Capital of the World. By Jason Thompson. Retrieved September 18, 2013 from http://virtual-rebel.com/2013/09/01/clean-energy-capital-of-the-world/